We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, and live music”
Review of Coco Cubano

Coco Cubano
Ranked #103 of 152 Restaurants in Prahran
Cuisines: Cuban
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
491 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Very friendly, and live music”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Went there with a scoopon, tried to book the week before but they were fully booked, but they said they would honour the scoopon even if it had expired, which they did. There on a busy Friday night, got there well before the time we booked but they accomidated us all the same. Very friendly staff, who were happy to exchange jokes and chat with us as they passed by. Food was excellent, Had chicken tappas which had a tang to it I couldn't quite place, and the salmon my wife had was good as well - good sized portion. The sweet was divine, even if hot melted chocolate on icecrean and mashmallows was a calorie overdose. Live music by a duo was not overly loud, so able to talk. Liked the place and have already told some friends about it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul_n_Cris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austrlua
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Very disappointed. Bought a groupon, rang to book - sorry booked out, asked for next day then dinner, breakfast or lunch on the Saturday. Sorry we are booked out. Asked if we took the chance and walked past if there was a free table could we eat. Was put onto someone else & after going through the same spiel was told 11.00. Done. Got there, 20+ free seats. The whole time we were there 90% of the place was free. So much for being booked out. Think they just didn't want to honor the groupon.
Food was quite nice , service less than average after the initial greet. Not tempted to go back at all

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I've been there a couple of times and I've never been disappointed. The location and decor is refreshing and the food is amazing. The steaks, grilled chicken and waffles are a must-try! The mocktails were great - a nice alternative to soft drinks and juices for those who don't drink. The staff were friendly and attentive and the owner is funny and unbelievably nice - checking on us to make sure we were enjoying our meals was a nice touch. Would definitely recommend this restaurant. Perfect for any occasion!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Muna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Again in a second”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Top venue with wonderful food. The dining environment was pristine, the tastes were first class and the wait-staff were friendly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
951 reviews
662 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Cool Cubano”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A very hip and cool place with plenty of drink and food choices. The snacks are yummy but the service can be slow at times so oders what you want in one go. Try some of the cocktails, you wont be disappointed. And prices very good value considering the location.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coco Cubano also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Prahran, Stonnington
 
Prahran, Stonnington
Prahran, Stonnington
 

Been to Coco Cubano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing