We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad”
Review of Lords Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lords Lodge
Reviewed February 7, 2009

The hostel is operated by a very helpful guy called Pat who will answer all questions and look to help you when he can. The hostel has a very homely feel to it as a lot of the tenants are longer term residents. This probably has led the hostel to have a 'lived in look' as it could do they with a renovation. That said its a short stroll to the beach at St Kildas in one direction and a short stroll in the other direction to the MCG. Overall the hostel has plus points but a few negatives are apparent so i would not recommend staying here if you are used to clean modern hostels.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newry82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2008

I made a reservation on the internet for staying at Lords Lodge, Melbourne in January - 09. They requested by e-mail my credit card details and told me that they were going to charge us a "deposition" of one nights stay.
In due of sad family reasons we had last week to to cancel our reservation.
Their homepage says that cancellation > 48 hours is with no charge. But they refuse to refund the "deposition" for the first night and says that the deposition is non-refundable.
Neither their homepage or their e-mail informs about this. Mastercard Sweden says that this is an unserious way of handling a cancellation made one month a head.
Spend your many on a more serious guesthouse!

Stayed: December 2008
1  Thank Dr_Swede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2008

Lords Lodge - I am 40+ so this was my initial backpapker experience, and can not be compared with the Crowne Plaza at Coogee, or FIji. However I was pleasantly suprised. The room was a 4 bunk dorm and dusty, not dirty. The shared bathrooms were clean and water was hot. However the best part was the people. People of all ages from all over the world. We are looking at returning next year

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank stumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled solo
Thank NanaNono2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled solo
Thank Alexia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prahran hotels
0.4 mi away
Art Series - The Cullen
0.2 mi away
Quest Windsor
Quest Windsor
#2 of 2 in Prahran
378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hiigh Apartments
Hiigh Apartments
#2 of 6 in Prahran
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
L'Emporia Apartments
L'Emporia Apartments
#1 of 6 in Prahran
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prahran Village Guest House
0.3 mi away
AKOM Prahran
AKOM Prahran
#3 of 6 in Prahran
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lords Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lords Lodge

Address: 204 Punt Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Prahran
Price Range: $23 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lords Lodge is a 135 year old historical mansion with charm and character. It is a small, cosy hostel with a friendly and relaxed atmosphere offering good quality, clean, budget accommodation for all ages. At Lords Lodge we offer you: Brand new bathrooms (as of September 2011), free, unlimited wireless internet, Free Sangria and events every week. Lots of help in finding work in Melbourne. Lords Lodge is owned and operated by YOUNG Melbournians who love travelers. We have the most friendly and knowledgeable staff in Melbourne!! We are located in Melbourne's most fashionable area and just a 10 minute walk from St. Kilda and 15 minutes by tram to the city centre. Chapel St and Commerical Rd are only minutes away offering the best of Melbourne shopping, happening pubs and clubs, banks, post office, 24hr supermarkets, swimming pool and gyms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Lords Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lords Lodge Greater Melbourne/Prahran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing