We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Love Love this Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Series - The Cullen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Excellent location in the heart of Prahran. Very modern studio with everything you need, most comfortable bed we've ever slept in. Fantastic art, great staff and service. We can't wait to go back and to try the other Cullen Art Series Hotels too. Cathy & Adrian, Newcastle NSW

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathandAde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2010

Cathy & Adrian - we love that you love the Hotel!

Look forward to having you back with us soon…

Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,100 - 1,106 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2010

After I read all of the amazing reviews here, I was worried that the Cullen would disappoint. Well, I should not have feared. The Managers/Concierge was so helpful. The iPod you can rent from the front desk for their ipod holders is filled with completely likeable and original music, the beds are soooo comfortable. The bathrooms weren't a problem for my partner and I because we have been together for years, but when some friends came by for a drink there was a lot of laughter. We were upgraded to a balcony room upon arrival (thank you!) and got a great deal using Wotif. The kitchens were so perfect, with one of anything you would need. A great neighbourhood....didn't even have the chance to try the highly recommended restaurants below. We borrowed the bicycles and rode along the river at night - gorgeous...sigh...we had a hard time leaving. Thank you Cullen for an awesome experience. I hope to enjoy your hotel again one day.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msjfromcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2010

Thanks to the author for their review!

It sounds like you had a very relaxing and enjoyable weekend, and I’m very pleased that we could be a part of it.

We hope to see you again too.

Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

The Cullen is a great hotel. Just about everything is perfect! The decor is warm and inviting, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom great. The kitchen facilities are excellent, and with its proximity to the Prahran Markets, there's no reason not to take full advantage of them.
The only thing I can possible complain about is that without another discount, I can't afford to stay here again :(

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2010

Thanks to the author for their review!

Fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Make sure to give a call next time you would like to stay to ensure we can give you the best possible deals!

Thanks again.

Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

This is a very cool hotel. The decor is very modern and Adam Cullen's colourful artworks dot the hotel common areas and rooms. My studio room squeezed a lot into a small space - functional bathroom and kitchenette with cooktop and oven, sofa, large screen tv and a small table/workspace with two chairs. The room was beautifully decorated. Broadband/wifi is free for half an hour - you are able to keep logging back-in - if this is too much trouble there is a payment option. My room service was very good and quick and there are two good restaurants on the ground floor. Staff were very helpful. Beds are super-comfortable. The hotel is a short walk to Chapel Street as well as the Prahran shops. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloudycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2010

Thanks to the author for their review!

Our interior designer had worked hard to ensure that our rooms were not only comfortable but also functional at the same time – and I am pleased that you enjoyed it!
We are really lucky to be in a great area of Melbourne, where guests can experience something a little different.

We look forward to your return visit.

Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Loved The Cullen, we had a great time its been a long time since we had a holiday , enjoyed everything the Cullen had to offer. Great beds, staff, restaurants, Prahran shops at the door. Hop on the tram and see the sights of Melbourne without being right in the hustle and bustle of the city.

Had a laugh at Adam Cullen's art, maybe a bit much for those who prefer chinz and prints, we had reservations prior to our stay "maybe us Boomers were to uncool for The Cullen" not so staff are fabulous. Worse thing about our stay was having to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ballaratian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2010

Thanks to the author for their review!

It’s always nice to know the worst thing about the Hotel is leaving…
We are very pleased that you loved the Hotel, and thrilled that you had fun and a bit of a laugh with Adam’s works.

Look forward to having you with us next time.

Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

I stayed here for a girl's weekend in Melbourne and didn't even want to leave the hotel. Adam Cullen's artwork was of course incredible & loved being surrounded by it all weekend. The room was very comfortable, the staff are lovely, welcoming & helpful, perfect location in Prahran, & the restaurant/bar downstairs is great. The only downside was that they had run out of their cute red bicycles so we didn't get to hire & try them out. Everything else was perfect. I will most definitely be coming back here, as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aylabns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2010

Thanks to the author for their review!

Thanks very much for staying with us and your kind review. Great to hear it was a fantastic girl’s weekend away!
Sorry about the bikes, they are pretty popular – next time we will have to reserve them for you.

We look forward to having you back with us real soon.

Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

My partner and I loved our stay at The Cullen. The rooms were modern and stylish and we loved the fact that there is so much art all around the hotel. Good facilities and even better location to all the shopping, restaurants and bars on Chapel Street. Definitely stay there again.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank rpw_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2010

Thanks to the author for their review.

We really are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, there is a lot of art in the Hotel to absorb – 7 originals, 450 prints and even 2 cows!

Your right, our location is great with Chapel Street on our doorstop, the famous Prahran Markets across the road and only a 7 minute tram ride to the city!

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Art Series - The Blackman
#17 of 161 in Melbourne
2,237 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
791 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 161 in Melbourne
1,603 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range: $130 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing