We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Art Series - The Cullen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel and room. Clever infrastructure and good options if you like to do your own meal.

The bathroom could be more private. Paid wifi is unacceptable nowadays. Location isn't the best, but transportation is easy.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Tiago T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Hi Tiago,

Thanks for your review.

Im glad you enjoyed your stay overall.

I hope that we get to welcome you back soon

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 1,166 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

As in many boutique hotels, design is not always associated with comfort. Bed and pillow were very soft and bathroom with frosted glass walls (reduced privacy). The artworks spread through the halls and rooms give a special touch to the place. Prahran is a very nice neighborhood, close to downtown, full of bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruno D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Bruno D,

Thank you for coming to visit us!

our bathrooms are not to everyone tastes but im glad our artwork and location made up for this.

Warm Regards,

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I arrived with some work colleagues very late after the last flight out of Sydney, so had to press a buzzer to get in. After a brief wait, a very friendly (and it was post midnight) and helpful member of staff opened the door and checked us in. I'd recently signed up for Priority Guest Rewards and the new membership card was waiting for me. The room was great with a view down into the street and plenty of room. Some interesting art on the wall - not my style (a headless dog?), but that's art... Great nights sleep in a very comfortable bed. Breakfast (after dealing with a grumpy waiter that didn't want to give me a big table - even though my colleagues were about to join me) was great, a la carte with a wide choice of dishes. At check out I asked the staff to print out some documents for me - absolutely no worries, which was nice and very helpful. A quick and easy checkout and we were off. I'd recommend this property and will likely stay again.

Room Tip: Sign up for a membership to Priority Guest Rewards before booking - you get an immediate discount on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natbrown75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I work in visual arts, so I really enjoy staying at art-themed hotels, and I have to say that this was one of the best ever. Melbourne is a very arts-oriented city, and The Cullen has completely integrated art into their experience. One artist is featured throughout the hotel with art even in the elevator. They have maps of nearby galleries, art books in the room, and a wonderful design aesthetic. The hotel is beautifully modern and stylish. They have a tiny gym (with graffiti!), friendly front desk staff, and a great location in the Prahan neighbourhood.

Although you have to take a tram to get to the centre of the city and the museums, I would recommend this neighbourhood. There are a number of funky and reasonable restaurants, and upscale shopping a few blocks away.

Before you book, do join the free hotel membership program and you can save money on your stay. I absolutely loved our three night stay here, and would love to stay longer the next time!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepcover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Deepcover,

thank you so much for your kind words, We pride our selves in setting us apart by providing a different experience in each of our hotels. the next time you are down you may want to try the Olsen or the Blackman who also have different artists who have attached their names and art to provide 3 different experiences.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed for four nights and really enjoyed our stay. The room was fun and comfortable and the staff were really helpful and friendly. Our flight left in the evening and we were offered shower facilities with shampoo, towels etc. My only dislike was the bathroom. We stayed in a Junior Suite and the bathroom was tiny. This was not a big problem but I really didn't like the fact it was glass with only a short space between the bed and the toilet. Also the door was not floor to ceiling so definitely not private. The hotel is in an excellent position opposite Prahan Market and near the tram stop with plenty of good cafes and reataurants nearby.

Room Tip: Enquire about the bathroom. Some rooms have good city views. We had a large balcony but no sunshin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spencerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Hi Spencerj,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Cullen. I'm glad the team were able to let you freshen up before you flight home. Our bathrooms are not to everyone's tastes, however I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of the location of the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Had a four night stay in a twin suite. Attention to detail was impressive and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. NO free wifi was the only disappointing thing. Would definitely recommend and stay again. Directly across the road from a food market and surrounded by shops, cafes and restaurants.

Room Tip: Higher floors wpuld be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Hello Carole B!

thanks so much for your kind words. I will be sure to pass your comments on to my team here at the hotel.

Hopefully next time you come back we will be able to offer free wifi!

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here to redeem a free "priority guest rewards" night and ended up staying on for an extra 2 nights.
Great, comfy rooms. A little squeezy with kids as well but we got by.
There's a tram stop out the front and market across the road which is very handy.
Staff we could not fault at all, they were all really helpful and obliging.
Will be back :)

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank EzG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

EzG1,

I am thrilled to hear that you stayed longer than intended, it is a true testament to the team here at the hotel. I will make sure that I pass on the comments to them,

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Art Series - The Blackman
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,174 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,582 reviews
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
740 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range: $124 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, MrandMrsSmith, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing