We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel that I did not know existed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Art Series - The Cullen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel that I did not know existed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Booked into this great hotel by our company travel agent for an overnight business trip. Room was of a very high standard, with kitchenette, mini bar and all the items found in a well spec'd hotel. Only downside was my room was facing a construction site, but that's not really something the Cullen has control over and I am sure construction will be completed soon. I will be recommending The Cullen for future business trips.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lathe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi Lathe_12,

Thanks so much for your comments. My apologies for the construction site but thank you for your understanding, unfortunately this is not something we can control.

I am glad that this did not taint your stay with us and I hope you got to raid the mini bar while you were here!

Regards,

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    304
    85
    25
    25
See reviews for
114
425
94
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

The wife and I visited Melbourne and usually stay in southbank (eg. crown, langham). We decided to check out something different this time and found The Cullen. The hotel is pretty funky with artwork all around. The rooms are really well done too with kitchenette nice furnishings and extremely comfortable bed. Only problem was the size of the bathroom and no bath. However, with the location you don't want to waste time having a bath anyway. The location is excellent across the road from Prahan market, easy 200m walk to Chapel street & all the shopping/entertainment and 500m to train station tram station out the front too makes getting places very easy. They also offer scooter and smart car hire to get out and about too but we ran out of time. I think our next trip to Melbs will definitely be staying here again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi Mitch074,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I am glad that you had a chance to get out and explore the local area and the bath issue did not cause too much of a problem. Our beds are all custom made for the Cullen and are available for sale through the website if you ever wanted to take a little piece of the Cullen home with you.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

These hotels are not the cheapest in town, but as they say, you get what you pay for. Staff at reception are very helpful, the rooms are spacious and well appointed with space to cook should you wish and the beds are fantastic! Bathrooms tend to be on the smaller side but well appointed and modern. Really we couldn't ask for anything more.
Location wise this is an easy tram ride to the city, and a slightly less easy but doable tram to st kilda, and there are lots of restaurants and shopping close by. The in house restaurant the Gramercy offers a good range of options and is of a typical melbourne standard i.e. high.

Room Tip: When we arrived there is a building site next door and we asked to be moved to a room further from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oz_eco_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi There Oz_eco_wanderer,

It great to hear that you experienced all the hotel could offer and enjoyed the hotel. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the management in Gramercy about your experience there also.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

To all the staff at The Cullen, a big than you for making it an enjoyable weekend.

We arrived at The Cullen around 2.00pm on Feb 14 and staying the weekend. Upon our arrival we went to the front desk to check in for our weekend stay, the staff were magnificent and made check in very easy. Our purpose for the weekend stay was to be close to the venue our daughter was getting married in on Saturday. Also our daughter had made an appointment with the Salon in the Cullen for Saturday morning. The staff bent over backwards to make sure our weekend ran smoothly. We took a junior Penthouse to allow us to have more room on the Saturday to get ready with a makeup lady coming, photographers and also for the bride and bridesmaid to get ready. The very large balcony came in very handy for this. We took 3 rooms altogether, 2 junior Penthouse and a Studio Suite. We also booked three car parks and had no issue with not finding a parking spot. All room were well appointed, very comfortable and a place you could stay forever. We will definitely return for another weekend stay in the near future...

Room Tip: A friend took the Studio type rooms which were actually better value. The floor space between the ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterMarilyn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi PeterMarilyn,

This type of feedback is the reason I got into hotels in the first place. Thank you so much for your kind words about the team. I'm glad we could make your special day memorable. I and the team here at the Cullen wish you both all the very best in your new life together.

We look forward to welcoming you both back for many anniversaries to come!!

Regards,

Ben and the Cullen Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at The Cullen a couple of times now, the first time was July 2013 and we were there for a weekend away to get some things done for our wedding. The Deluxe Studio was perfect - a home away from home! It had everything we needed.

The last time we stayed was our wedding weekend, we stayed 4 nights in the Junior Penthouse room 601. As another reviewer has mentioned the treadmills going at 5am in the adjacent gym were a tad annoying but nothing we couldn't deal with. We were there just as the weather was heating up and the aircon was awesome. The cleaning lady was super helpful with extra bins after I put together my own bouquets (flowers and leaves everywhere!) and even brought up a bottle of champagne on the house the night of our wedding. Amazing!
Gramercy Bistro is a favourite, amazing food and a friend and I even come here every fortnight for dinner. It never fails to impress and I can't wait to stay at The Cullen again - hopefully again in July. See you soon :)

Room Tip: Junior Penthouse 601 is adjacent to the gym so if you're a light sleeper probably avoid this roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sezalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at the Cullen for 2 nights whilst on a family trip to Melbourne. We were very pleasantly surprised by the huge room (by hotel standards) which featured 2 queen beds, a dining table and small kitchenette. Each bed had it's own flat screen TV which was a nice touch and each area could be separated off with curtains.

The bathroom may not appeal to the more modest out there as the frosted glass leaves little to the imagination! A curtain will slide across the front anyway if you need it.

The location is fantastic being just a block or so from Chapel Street and makes a nice change from staying in the city centre. Plenty of great shopping and eating is at the doorstep.

Car parking was the only issue as the garage is quite small so it's first in best dressed. Having said that we never had a problem.

Service was great whenever required.

Overall this is a fantastic hotel if you want to stay outside of the CBD and have a good sized room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lock0976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from 8 nights at the Cullen. Superb, thanks everyone for helping to make this a wonderful stay. You were all extremely helpful, friendly and professional and nothing was too much trouble. The location is great near the Prahran market and wonderful shopping and restaurants on the famous Chapel Street. We ate twice at the downstairs restaurant sat outside and soaked up the Melbourne culture, I recommend the prawn and chorizo risotto with a side of greens - delicious.
Rooms have everything you require in them, I am very noise conscious and the only traffic noise we heard was from the sirens. Even the adjoining room noise was minimal.
I highly recommended - we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#14 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,267 reviews
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#27 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Property: Art Series - The Cullen
Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing