We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Series - The Cullen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Cullen is magic. From check in to check out the service is excellent. Two super restaurants in the same building, many more of all prices an types close by as well as the shops in Prahan and South Yarra, and a short tram ride to the value of Richmond, and the CBD. Even the least expensive rooms are great. Modern decor , all the facilities you could want ( for the self sufficient even a working kitchenette area) and a shower like Niagara falls. Ignore the review which is headed "not great", It is over a metre from the bed to the frosted glass bathroom wall and you can only see a vague outline of anybody on the other side. And since you are sharing a room who cares? The room s are not small unless you usually live outdoors. As an alternative to a CBD office block hotel the Cullen is the clear choice. And the art of the sadly now late Adam Cullen is refreshing, challenging , and energising.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrouchoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

677 - 683 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

I Loved It - Stayed 2 Nights, Wish I Could Have Stayed Longer !

Fantastic Hotel, Fantastic Service.

I Arrived & Was Given An Upgrade To A Room On The 4th Floor, Toward The Rear Of The Hotel, As I Asked For A Room Away From The Building Works Opposite Entrance To Hotel. The Receptionist Who Checked Me In Was Superb, Very Friendly & Helpful, Provided Hotel Brochure & Local Area Map & Gave Recommendations For Lunch In House & Near By.

The Rooms Are Art Themed & Mine Had A Mini Kitchen, Lounge and Iphone & Ipod Dock, Bathrobes & Slippers Were Also Supplied.

There Is Also A Fitness Room With Workout Machines On The Top Floor.

Had Breakfast In The In House Restaurant & Bar - Service Great, Food So So.

Used My Rydges Priority Member Card For Free Drink In Hotel Bar. Free Glass of Wine & Was Able To Choose A Quiet Table To Write Postcards & Staff Lent Me A Pen When Mine Died Mid Postcard.

Tram & Bus Stop Half A Block From Hotel, Number 72 Direct To The City & Check With Bus, As One Drops Off Next To The National Galleries Of Victoria If Asked.

Hotel Is Directly Opposite Prahran Market - Great For Coffee & Food & Exploring.

Chapel Street Is Only A Block Or So Away - Lots of Great Cafes & Quirky Shops, Also Check Out The Side Streets As They Have Their Own Gems.

If You Want To Be In Prahran, Close To Toorak & Halfway Between St Kilda & The City This Hotel Is Perfect. However If You Wish To Be In The Centre Of Melbourne, This May Not Be The Hotel For You.

Room Tip: Building Works Opposite The Entrance, So Ask For A Room Away From The Entrance If You Wish To Sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mad1one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is the perfect getaway for a couple or a family looking for somewhere a little different, a little edgier. Great value and good location in fashionable Prahran.

Our family of three (2 adults and one 14-year-old child) stayed here for three nights recently and loved the look and feel of the hotel. You've got to love a hotel that has wall to wall Adam Cullen art. Smartly designed rooms, ultra comfortable bed, nice toiletries, fabulous crisp white sheets, great pillows, wonderful art books and a great little kitchen area. Very friendly staff on check in and all smooth and seamless. Appreciated the free drink voucher and also the happy hour in the Gramercy restaurant. Great location opposite the food markets and walking distance to shops, cafes and restaurants on Greville Street and Chapel Street.

We had a hire car and we were able to park it in the surrounding streets quite easily so we didn't use the hotel garage. We loved the idea of the smart car and the bikes provided although we didn't use either but hats off to the hotel for providing them.

Ok. The only downside, I would say that the room was a little noisier than we would have liked as the window didn't seem to seal completely and you could hear the trams and cars at night. When we arrived we did mention it to the staff and they were happy to move us but they didn't have a room to move us to until the next day and then we decided not to bother as it wasn't a deal breaker. I always travel with earplugs so I managed to block it out.

And it was odd that the only coat hangers in the wardrobe were for the bathrobes so we could't hang up many clothes. And, also odd that after I wore my bathrobe it disappeared. The next night I wore the other one, and then it disappeared too. So on night three, no bathrobes. But minor criticism. We could have rung down and asked for one, just didn't bother.

But, certainly doesn't take away from the fact that this is a cool and contemporary hotel that merits a stay.

So, in summary, I would definitely recommend staying here. It's stylish, but not uptight. Although it seems like an adult hangout, they were equally welcoming to my 14 year old.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyofthreeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I booked a night's accommodation at The Cullen via a "mystery deal"...what a bonus! This place is almost perfect and finally somewhere different to the usual 4 & 5 star hotels. Great location for anyone travelling to Melbourne,,,unless you absolutely have to be in the CBD, give this place a try. Loved the art work and all the little details in the room and the service...like being offered a 1pm check out! Only issue was a noisy family across the hall who I assume had two rooms next to each other and came and went from each other's rooms all through the night meaning continually slamming doors. Won't put us off returning though - one of the best places we've stayed in anywhere

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for 3 nights on a recent visit to Melbourne.

Our stay was very pleasant: we loved the quirky artiness of the decor (though the semi-transparent exterior of the bathroom needed getting used to!), appreciated the very comfy bed & relished the location with its interesting surrounds. The staff was well-informed, friendly & laid-back & the room service dinners from the bistro were yummy.

We enjoyed ambling around the Prahran fresh markets, catching a movie at the Jam Factory cinema around the corner & savouring some good food at the nearby Nepalese restaurant.

Hopefully we'll return to sample The Cullen’s lovely vibe again soon!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sayuri d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here fore 2 nights while in Melbourne on business. Loved the room and the fact that there is a small kitchenette with a microwave. Bed was comfortable, WiFi was fast.

Staff were very friendly and I ordered room service which was good and delivered fast.

I was slightly concerned when I first checked in as there was a building site next door but there was no noise pollution during my stay.

Overall I would highly recommend a stay at the The Cullen.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corcors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Hi there Corcors,

So glad that you would recommend us! and yes while there is a building site across from us we are doing all we can to eliminate all noise and ensure our guests still have a pleasant stay. Which I'm happy to hear we did for you.

looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Regards,

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Nice spacious rooms. Good location. However the safe wasn't working and the bathroom basin had a problem with draining the water. The service needs improvement. They forgot to room service my room one day, left the rubbish bin with the rubbish in it on the dining chair on another day, and slow checkout.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Hi Karen H,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Cullen.

I am sorry for the inconveniences you experienced while with us. Rest assured that your comments have been passed on to the Engineering/ Housekeeping team and the Restaurant management in regards to the incidents mentioned.

Kind Regards,

Ben
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 162 in Melbourne
2,116 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#24 of 162 in Melbourne
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 162 in Melbourne
1,109 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 162 in Melbourne
5,693 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 162 in Melbourne
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range: $144 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing