We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room, improvement needed in service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Series - The Cullen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Nice spacious rooms. Good location. However the safe wasn't working and the bathroom basin had a problem with draining the water. The service needs improvement. They forgot to room service my room one day, left the rubbish bin with the rubbish in it on the dining chair on another day, and slow checkout.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Hi Karen H,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Cullen.

I am sorry for the inconveniences you experienced while with us. Rest assured that your comments have been passed on to the Engineering/ Housekeeping team and the Restaurant management in regards to the incidents mentioned.

Kind Regards,

Ben
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

772 - 778 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

Best crew ever, all very helpful, best food, best location (just steps from the tram stop, nice market across, nice shopping area on a lovely suburb), best ambience, relaxed and chilled out... Very pleasant stay! Worthed what I paid

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank venezuelaninchile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words venezuelaninchile!

Our team at the Cullen is most definitely one of our star attractions!

So happy you enjoyed your stay!

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Everything about my stay at the Cullen was delightful.

The reception staff are friendly and without a doubt the most helpful team I have experienced. I had a great room with a balcony, which included a kitchen-ette, great mini-bar items that are not the usually pricey rip-off. A lovely comfy bed, and great art work!
The style is modern but doesn't sacrifice comfort and isn't overly pretentious either.

Gramercy - the on-site restaurant has wonderful coffee, great food and fantastic staff.
This hotel offers a 'car rental service' via a Smart Car. For $50 a day, this was a great way to get around on my last day, do a bit of last minute shopping and visit my mother-in-law. The car at the Cullen had already been booked, so they called their other Hotel, The Olsen, and reserved their car. A 10 minute walk down Chapel St, and I had wheels!

This is a lovely hotel, but it's defiining quality is the superb staff. At every touch-point, they used my first name, were fun, friendly whilst being completely professional at the same time!

Loved it! Thanks Cullen Team!

Room Tip: The balcony rooms have a little more space, and a great view of the Melbourne CBD, so worth paying a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Hi Libby S!

Thanks for sharing your experience about your recent stay with us at the Cullen.

We take great pride in our team and they are most certainly our biggest asset. Great to hear that your enjoyed our "hot wheels" and they go you to where you needed to go.

I will be sure to pass on your comments to the guys in Gramercy!

Thanks again!

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Staff friendly, comfortable bed/pillows & great location BUT tiny claustrophobic rooms. The bathroom walls are frosted glass and approx half a metre from the bed, offering no privacy. The staff showed us 2 larger rooms than the original but no different, one with a bigger balcony, the other with 2 beds but still no space, no privacy, no desk area, no room for luggage. For the price ($270+ per night) there are much better places. We cancelled after one night and went to the next inner city suburb - same price but with lots of space & privacy, friendly staff and location perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Hi Kim C,

I'm sorry to hear that our rooms did not meet your requirements for size.

I am glad that you did enjoy the comfort of our custom made beds and found our staff warm and friendly.

Please let me know if you are ever back in Melbourne and perhaps you can try one of our other hotels which may suit your space requirements

Kind Regards,

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I had the great pleasure of spending a night here last year. My mother from Ireland had arrived from Ireland and I treated her to this luxurious accommodation after her long journey. The room and facilities were beautiful. The furnishings were at the upmost standard, and made us both feel very comfortable. The receptionist was very welcoming before we spent our time touring the hotel to view the amazing art works it holds. We also enjoyed some delicious cocktails at the bar there which was really funky and modern. I would recommend anyone to stay here. The room catered to our every need with fantastic eating/drinking facilities too.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTwohig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

KTwohig,

thanks for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community!

We are thrilled to hear that you and your mother enjoyed your time here at the hotel!

I will be sure to pass on your comments to the wonderful people over in Gramercy as well!

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This great unique hotel has a wonderful atmosphere with striking artwork throughout. The staff are excellent, very friendly, even housekeeping were very friendly and helpful. Great food in the restaurants as well. Love having 2 double beds in the room. Not so sure about the frosted glass around the bathroom though.

Room Tip: Can fit 2 adults and 2 children in one room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjjadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Hi cjjadelaide!

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and the staff here at the Cullen. So glad you enjoyed your self while here.

We do pride ourselves on being unique from the "norm"

Best Wishes and hope to see you again soon.

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We recently stayed at the Cullen for a little city escape celebrating a special occasion and felt spoilt right from check in to check out! Really friendly staff & the location is so perfect with so many options for dining & shopping, we loved it :)

Room Tip: Balcony room was lovely to hang out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brandon_deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Hi brandon_deb,

Thanks for letting everyone know about your stay with us at the Cullen. As you said our balconies are perfect to just sit and take in the comings and goings of the local area.

I'm our staff made your special occasion just that little more special.

Hope to see you again soon!

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Art Series - The Blackman
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,286 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#31 of 161 in Melbourne
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
832 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 161 in Melbourne
1,621 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range: $132 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing