We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience, filled with class and comfort.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Series - The Cullen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience, filled with class and comfort.”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I had the great pleasure of spending a night here last year. My mother from Ireland had arrived from Ireland and I treated her to this luxurious accommodation after her long journey. The room and facilities were beautiful. The furnishings were at the upmost standard, and made us both feel very comfortable. The receptionist was very welcoming before we spent our time touring the hotel to view the amazing art works it holds. We also enjoyed some delicious cocktails at the bar there which was really funky and modern. I would recommend anyone to stay here. The room catered to our every need with fantastic eating/drinking facilities too.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTwohig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
KTwohig,

thanks for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community!

We are thrilled to hear that you and your mother enjoyed your time here at the hotel!

I will be sure to pass on your comments to the wonderful people over in Gramercy as well!

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    305
    85
    25
    25
See reviews for
115
430
97
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This great unique hotel has a wonderful atmosphere with striking artwork throughout. The staff are excellent, very friendly, even housekeeping were very friendly and helpful. Great food in the restaurants as well. Love having 2 double beds in the room. Not so sure about the frosted glass around the bathroom though.

Room Tip: Can fit 2 adults and 2 children in one room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjjadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi cjjadelaide!

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and the staff here at the Cullen. So glad you enjoyed your self while here.

We do pride ourselves on being unique from the "norm"

Best Wishes and hope to see you again soon.

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We recently stayed at the Cullen for a little city escape celebrating a special occasion and felt spoilt right from check in to check out! Really friendly staff & the location is so perfect with so many options for dining & shopping, we loved it :)

Room Tip: Balcony room was lovely to hang out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandon_deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi brandon_deb,

Thanks for letting everyone know about your stay with us at the Cullen. As you said our balconies are perfect to just sit and take in the comings and goings of the local area.

I'm our staff made your special occasion just that little more special.

Hope to see you again soon!

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2013

A pleasure staying with you yet again - we did fail to get a message at reception upon check-in which did cause an issue first night but these things happen. Everything else about our stay was very relaxing, comforting and were always given speedy service by very friendly and attentive staff. Kind regards. Chris and Victoria

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaHinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi VictoriaHinds,

It was lovely seeing you again. As always it was a pleasure.

My apologies for not have the message relayed to you on check in. I hope it did not cause many dramas. I will make sure to let the team know the importance of making this happen.

I happy to hear that yourself and Chris had a great stay anyway!

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My friend and I travelled to Melbourne from Perth for a girly long weekend and were so happy that we chose the Cullen as our hotel! The staff were super friendly, location is perfect for shopping on Chapel St and the 72 tram that stops right outside the hotel takes you straight into the city, rooms clean and very funky. Will definitely be back and recommending to our friends!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deadant77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hello Deadant77,

thanks for posting your review on your recent stay with us at the Cullen. I hope Chapel St was not too hard on your credit card!! :)

It was our pleasure having you!

All the best and hope to see you and your friends again soon!!

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Luv the art work, staff friendly and casual. Art Series Olsen I think is better location but the Cullen has a far better breakfast & restaurant. Shared my room with 2 cockroaches but they did go up and spray and its not unusual in Oz.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

How great are the Art Series hotels! Loved staying somewhere so different and cool, everything about the Cullen was exemplary. We arrived early in the morning expecting just to be able to drop our bags and they showed us through to our room which was well appointed and very comfortable. The location is just perfect for the markets, cafes and shopping and when we needed to travel further they were happy to loan us a smart car to drive around in, just awesome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jono C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hi Jono C,

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we love our SMART cars, combined with the bicycles that are also available for hire we will never leave you stranded for a way to get around.

The Markets are a staff favourite, and don't even get us started on the shopping and cafes sometimes it's hard to go past picking up a bargain!

Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future!

Regards,

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#27 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,347 reviews
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#26 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Property: Art Series - The Cullen
Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing