We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Series - The Cullen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2013

How great are the Art Series hotels! Loved staying somewhere so different and cool, everything about the Cullen was exemplary. We arrived early in the morning expecting just to be able to drop our bags and they showed us through to our room which was well appointed and very comfortable. The location is just perfect for the markets, cafes and shopping and when we needed to travel further they were happy to loan us a smart car to drive around in, just awesome.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jono C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Hi Jono C,

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we love our SMART cars, combined with the bicycles that are also available for hire we will never leave you stranded for a way to get around.

The Markets are a staff favourite, and don't even get us started on the shopping and cafes sometimes it's hard to go past picking up a bargain!

Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future!

Regards,

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

723 - 729 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great spot. close to Chapel street for general shopping and the Prahan Markets for food if you wnat to take advantage of the kitchenette in the room. No, then there are multitudes of restaurants in close walking distance. Easy access to the city, but great for a more eclectic shopping weekend than city department stores,

Room Tip: I think the sound insulation from outside is great we heard not a peep from the road, squeaky door o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMT54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Hi KMT54,

Thank you for sharing your experiences on your recent stay with us at the Cullen.
It sounds like you made good use of everything local area has to offer!

Looking forward to having you back soon!

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Edgy art hotel featuring the artist's various works in room and in public spaces. Comfortable rooms, stylish fitments, large comfortable beds, high quality linen, glass bathroom walls complete with etchings. Friendly helpful staff. Inner city central location with a lot of interesting local restaurants and shops within walking distance. Easy access to the CBD. Lively market scene nearby. Good public transport available but car drivers need to be resourceful to secure overnight parking

Room Tip: rooms facing side street are preferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 291mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Excellent location overlooking Prahran Market, and just off Chapel Street.

The rooms are quirky in design, but come with all the mod cons you'd expect. They are quite small though by normal Melbourne standards.

Staff are terrific, and service is good.

The extras in the hotel are pretty poor though. You get free use of the pool in the sister hotel a couple of miles away. There is no pool in this hotel. The gym is tiny. And the car park costs extra, but is very small. So if you head out after paying for a space, don't be surprised if there isn't a space when you get back.

In short, an ok hotel - but a little more expensive than it should be for the extra amenities it lacks.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony. These are the nicest rooms in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelexpertdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our family of four stayed 3 nights in mid April, and we shared a room with 2 QB and a kitchenette. As you walked into the room, there was the first QB, then the bathroom as a room divider, then the 2nd QB and kitchenette.The kids loved having their own large flat screen in front of their bed - no fights over kids vs our TV tastes. It was handy having a kitchenette, although we didn't use it much - so many great cafes and restaurants close by. Can especially recommend the Neanderthal NBHD cafe opposite. Beds were very comfortable, hotel was quiet, room was well appointed. Our room had a great city view - watching hot air balloons rise above the breaking Sunday dawn was a special memory. Bathroom is small and I wasn't completely sold on the opaque/etched glass bathroom wall, but having stayed at the The Olsen Art Series Hotel previously, was aware that this was a feature. Loved the art everywhere. Staff friendly but not over the top. Joining their free 'Priority Rewards' club and staying 3 nights meant a 30% discount on the rate - well worth it! Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 139Daisy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at 'The Cullen' for 5 nights after getting a great deal through Expedia.
The facilities are modern, clean and nicely furnished; fabulous artwork throughout and some really nice little touches in the rooms including quirky marketing, art books and lovely shampoo/conditioner/body wash (not the standard crap you normally get in other hotels). Our room had a kitchenette which was great for making breakfast each morning and a guest laundry which was very convenient.
The staff were friendly and helpful when we needed to work out public transport/parking.
The hotel is located a short walk from Chapel Street (great restaurants & shopping) and around the corner from a train station (5ish minute ride into the city centre). If we were to come again we wouldn't drive, public transport was much easier.
The only down side was the parking, undercover parking was available at $30 per day otherwise street parking was the only other option (2hr parking during the day only).
Overall we had a great stay, we definitely recommend and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fitzy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stay 20+ times a year in Melbourne around Crown so a long weekend away with the wife we tried the Cullen Art Series and it was very good. Great yum-cha/dumplings restaurant downstairs, lots of shops and bars around the place, easy to get to St Kilda and other areas and a very funky hotel. Lots to like about it.
Went the balcony room which was very nice as great outlook over the Prahran area.
Recommend highly!

Room Tip: The Balcony Room 418 was very cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smclagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Art Series - The Blackman
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,174 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,583 reviews
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
743 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range: $124 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing