We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and informal customer service in a stylish and cosy environment.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Series - The Cullen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Whats not to like? The Cullen has all the polish of a 5 star international hotel with a welcoming, friendly, and relaxed customer service ethic embraced by all the staff I encountered during my stay. All aspects were managed well and without issue - flawless check-in, smooth room change, high quality food options, and good tour booking service. Location, price, and the inviting and stylish rooms are all big drawcards.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliciaBrownCullen, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

We like to keep things relaxed at The Cullen, treat our place like your home away from home and you are amongst friends! We are glad you picked up on our vibe.
Hope to see you at our place again soon.
Cheers,
Cullen Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,128)
There are newer reviews for Art Series - The Cullen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

780 - 786 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

A great experience.
Four night stay and everything was perfect.
Service. Rooms. Location.
The take on "art" is refreshcompany compliments the fresh design of the hotel - and who does not
Iove a Cullen artwork.
Ground floor restaurant is delicious - huntong
Excited to visit and looking fwd to experiencing the other art series hotels in the folio.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elsa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliciaBrownCullen, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

We agree who doesn't love a Cullen Art work!
Definitely get around and see the other hotels when you can - we can even organize a tour with our Art Curator so you can get a feel for the other hotels artists when you have the time.
Thanks for a great review and hope to welcome you back soon!
Cheers,
Cullen Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have stayed at the Cullen four times in the past 18 months (each time for a holiday) and it never disappoints. Check in is efficient and friendly and they always remember us. The rooms are spacious, contemporary and sexy - mirrored walls behind the beds (which are super comfortable), Philipe Stark Ghost chairs (or copies who cares?), lush carpeting and lots of reading material. I really appreciate the little kitchen area which is practical but also very stylish and unobtrusive. The better quality of the teas and coffee and the crockery and glassware is a bonus. The bathrooms are behind frosted glass and can feel quite cramped but the showers have good pressure. The toiletries are a bit pedestrian and could be better. The location is fantastic - we loved it so much we moved nearby but that's another story - with the Prahran market across the road and Chapel Street around the corner it's a terrific place to start exploring Melbourne. I've also stayed at Crown and the big Hyatt in the city - give me the intimate, friendly sexy Cullen over them every time. I'm not sur I'd bring my Mother here - I would put her in to The Olsen up the road - it is more feminine and elegant rather that gritty and cool.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whatkatiepdid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliciaBrownCullen, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Well Katie Thank you for a glowing review! You have certainly highlighted all the wonderful things to see and do at the Cullen and in the Prahran area. Next time you come you will have to do an Art Tour on Saturday which is complimentary for our hotel guests - you can learn all about Adam Cullen!
New toiletries are coming in November so stay tuned.
Look forward to seeing you again soon
Cheers,
Alicia and Cullen Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is our 3rd stay at The Cullen in 6 months and it will be our last! We had some guests arrive for a couple of cocktails and nibbles before heading out for a special occasion and we had a staff member knock on the door about an hour after our guests arrived, one of our guests open the door (he was on the phone to a friend and was closest to the door) the staff member told us our guests had to leave by 10pm and told us there was no smoking in the room (we weren't told this at check in) we would have been fine with all of this except the manner she spoke to us was very rude. She told our friend who was on the phone "stop pretending your on the phone" and we were told we would be charged a cleaning fee for smoking in the room we were fine with this as without knowing it we had done the wrong thing.
We left the room about 5 minutes later to go to where we had plans that night and as we left the room there was another lady (hotel manager??) and a male standing at the end of the hallway demanding that we came down to reception straight away and pay a $200 fee for smoking in the room plus they took the $100 cash deposit already paid so $300 in total, again it was not what was said it was the way we were treated/spoken to.
There was another party on the floor that night a hen's night maybe as they had strippers and they were smoking in the room and hallway and were not spoken to. Maybe it's ok for straight girls in this hotel but not Lesbian girls??? or were the other girls friends of management??
We also had a lot of issues with the room not being clean rubbish bin had not been emptied, there was lipstick on one of the towels, a empty condom packet in a bedside draw, a black stain on one of the beds bottom sheets and what looked to be a urine stain on the bottom of the quilt of the other bed.
We had enjoyed our stays at The Cullen up until now and yes we might have smoked in the room when it was non smoking but that's no reason to treat us badly. Maybe advise your guest on check in of the smoking policy and also $300 cleaning fee for a already filthy room is a disgrace!!
Do yourself a favor and try the Quest in South Yarra or one of the friendly hotels in the CBD!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Princess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliciaBrownCullen, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you for your feedback, The Cullen Hotel is a non smoking hotel - like most 5 star hotels. This information can be found in our in room compendiums along with the fee that will be charged. As you were cash paying guests hotel policy is to take a payment of your room on check in along with a bond to cover you for any incidental charges, this is normal hotel practice.

Your comment regarding treatment towards lesbians I find to be incorrect, The Cullen is a very gay friendly hotel and we are heavily involved with the gay community. I am lead to believe that there were noise complaints from other guests on your floor from your room hence the Duty Manager attending - this too is normal hotel practice.

Unfortunately in the service industry we cannot please everyone and I apologise that on this occasion your stay was not as enjoyable as your past stays.

We take your feedback on board.
Kind Regards,
Alicia & Cullen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We returned home today after a delightful two night stay at The Cullen.
The hotel is centrally located in Prahan and we enjoyed broadening our perspective and exploring a different part of Melbourne.

The bold artwork has been tastefully arranged and the rooms are glamorous although small. The bathroom was also very small with not much bench space and very ordinary toiletries.
Staff were all pleasant and helpful particularly when we asked for travel options to the MCG.

Our favourite hotels are boutique hotels with a point of difference so we really enjoyed The Cullen. It would have been really good though to have something small to take home as a momento of our experience, a couple of Cullen postcards for instance or a bottle of Cullen branded water. The Emporium hotel in Brisbane does this with aplomb really setting itself apart in terms of branding and giving something small back to their guests. One small example is The Emporium's bottles of branded water which are free to guests, whereas The Cullen charges $3 for a bottle of bedside Mt Franklin. Small details really.
Our stay at The Cullen was memorable and we are keen to try the other Art Series hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiffyW_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliciaBrownCullen, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thanks for your review - it is always a great to get just out of the CBD of a city and explore what the areas have to offer. Prahran is great for this with cool bars, cafe's, restaurants and galleries!
We do have branded water and postcards - did you talk to anyone on Reception about taking a memento home? More than happy to send you some postcards if you contact the hotel and we can get some sent out ASAP.
Hope you come back to visit us soon!
Cheers,
Cullen Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed here recently while in Melbourne on business. The location is excellent, close to Prahran Station (2 stops from Flinders St) and major tram lines. Front desk was friendly and efficient, the room was stylish and sophisticated, and the bed was very comfortable. One negative was the $10 charge for WIFI, but it wasn't a major.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliciaBrownCullen, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Sounds like we were a good fit for your business trip!
Hope to see you again soon,
Cheers,
Cullen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Not exactly a good experience with the reservations to begin with as I was caught off guard with the fact that they are somewhat a serviced apartment concept but with hotel's front office standard. This was one of the reasons I did not take the option for breakfast.
Which means they collect rental upfront and incidentals per night. So bring extra cash as the holding period for most banks in Singapore is actually 2 weeks and not 2-3 days as per the explaination from the front desk.
Other than that, apart from Qantas losing my luggage; everything was perfect.
The front desk team made up for the bad reception during check-in by helping me locate the luggage and expediting the process so I got the luggage within 3 hours. Never mind that she did not smile at all once during check-in.
The bed was comfortable, there was even a personalized message upon check-in at the room (impressed!). Toiletries were a little below my expectations but I am not worried since I do not use those as I brought my own, even the towels.
The apartment was near to 3 places where you can get ingredients for your own creations in the kitchenette (be sure to descale the kettle using cut lemons if you are not planning to buy any dishwashing liquid as the supermarkets only stock ginormous ones that you cannot finish in 2-3 days unless you are cleaning the whole apartment's kitchen ware).
If you are not looking to cook, the CBD would be a train ride away. I would recommend the train as personally I think that that is faster compared to the tram.
Not feeling like traveling too much, lots of places to eat in the area as well.
As for the internet connection, a gamer like myself would have preferred a wired connection due to the stability - compared to the wireless option provided. Although affordable, an ethernet cable in the room would be good.
But hey, the high floor (5th) with the great view more than shut me up!

Room Tip: Be sure to verify if they can omit taking incidentals if they are taking the rental upfront. And if...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTA86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliciaBrownCullen, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

The Cullen is definitely a 5 star boutique hotel however every room does have an inbuilt kitchenette and we do have a resident product for guests wanting to stay long term - its very popular. We do take pre payment up front for all reservations staying one night or a week you will find this is common practice in most 5 star hotels, if money is being held by your bank you can always call us and we can call the bank for you to release the funds - just ask!
We are glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, Prahran is a great area for restaurants and bars and you are right... only a short trip into the CBD.
We hope to have you back again someday,
Alicia and The Cullen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
2,106 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#24 of 160 in Melbourne
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,620 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
1,098 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range: $130 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing