We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb City Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Art Series - The Cullen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2011

My husband and two year old son stayed in a Deluxe Studio Suite (2 queen size beds with a well equipped kitchen). Superbly decorated room; well appointed for a couple with a child, as our little man had his own queen size bed and we still had some privacy, courtesy of the black curtains which allow you to divide the room. The staff at the hotel were very welcoming; it being Easter our son was given not only a canvass and some paints to entertain him, but also a chocolate Bilby! In the evening we ate at the hotel's Terrace Bar and Bistro and found the food and wine (the Red Claw Pinot Gris was divine) superb and the service both welcoming and efficient. Breakfast the next morning did not disappoint either; delicious and very generous servings.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McStokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2011

Thanks for telling us what you think.
The Cullen always has a little gift for the young ones, and I’m pleased that the paint kit was a hit!
All the rooms have a kitchenette and with the famous Prahran fresh markets across the road, they always come in handy.
It is great to read that you dined in our restaurant, and I have to admit I have had a glass or two of the Red Claw and recommend it as well..
Look forward to seeing you and the family back here soon.

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

995 - 1,001 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2011

Staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms were amazing - very contemporary and modern. Location is close to Chapel Street and just a tram/train ride from most places.
Just Loved It!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karyneb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2011

We love that you loved it!

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We came here for a wedding and I booked it for its location but also value for money compared to other 5* hotels

It doesnt have the size of other 5 star hotels nor all the amenities but makes up for it thorugh its boutique feel and different options (you can hire cars, scooters etc). It also is in a fantastic location (chapel street, greville street, Toorak etc). Bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Rooms very fairly spacious with a little lounge area and kitchenette.

Only negative was my husband didnt like lack of privacy (bathroom is frosted glass) when in the bathroom!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura0576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

The Cullen is more like a gallery filled with the bright, sometimes confronting artwork of Adam Cullen. Very funky. I love Prahran even if its a bit out of the main drag of the city, the hotel is an easy walk to the train and right on a tram route. Restaurants in and around the hotel are great, fab food market across the road and supermarkets etc all within 2 minutes....VERY convenient. The pushbikes were a nice way to get around the local area, it was only a 20 minute ride to St Kilda esplanade. The service was great - friendly but not over the top and I have to say the beds were outstanding!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PEPEN_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We stayed at The Cullen in February this year and have been wanting to write this review for a while. It is a great hotel to stay, the rooms are comfortable, we stayed in a studio room, the bed is very comfortable, the pillows are fantastic and we had a great sleep. The location is great, good selection of restaurants and the inhouse restaurant is great, we had a great breakfast there. Transport very handy, Prahran Markets across the Road.
I would definitely recommend you to stay there and I have passed this gem to my travel agent and I hope they will pass it on to their clients as well

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmnuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

The Cullen is in great location with easy tram access to City and St Kilda. Great clothes shopping around the corner. Big selection of bars and eating places. Prahran Markets across the street.

Rooms are great with all the facilities needed. Big TV's and a dishwasher were a great touch.

Staff friendly, chatty but not overbearing.

The whole area in Prahran around the Cullen is a great place to hang out.

Will be revisiting the Cullen next time we are in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tidaknama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

I stayed at the Cullen for 8 nights having found it on a comparison website as a last minute deal, so I got a good rate. I booked it in a bit of a rush so I turned up with few expectations, but I was immediately impressed by this stylish hotel and the vibe/ethos.

Their biggest selling point has to be the friendly staff. It's been a long time since I stayed in a hotel with genuine friendly employees who seem to love being there. Made such a difference.

The room was large and well appointed and maintained and the kitchen had everything you would need. The rooms are very stylish with original artwork and designer furniture. Nice big mirrors everywhere too and it has a luxurious feel.

The other selling point is the location - Prahran and Chapel Street have loads of nice places to eat and drink and the tram takes you to the city in 15 mins. The cafe in the hotel is very good too - the food was great and the location is good for people watching. The gym is small but has everything you'd need for some cardio.

This is a modern, funky, friendly boutique hotel with all the mod cons so I would recommend it for business and leisure.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0nythetiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2011

Thanks very much for letting us know about your stay.

As a new boutique Hotel, we love to hear about guests that “just find us”. This is such a Melbourne experience, whether you are after a Hotel, Restaurant or Bar! The area of Prahran is pretty eclectic, with shopping on Chapel Street, the Famous Prahran markets, and hidden gems all around the area.
I am thrilled to read that your stay was fantastic, and even happier to read the biggest selling point is the staff. The team are all very individual, and love to show our guests what the area and the Hotel has to offer.
Thanks again for your kind review, and we look forward to you coming back soon.

Kind regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Art Series - The Blackman
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,176 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,584 reviews
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
743 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range: $122 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing