We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Art Hotel to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Series - The Cullen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Art Series - The Cullen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Great Art Hotel to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

We stayed at The Cullen in February this year and have been wanting to write this review for a while. It is a great hotel to stay, the rooms are comfortable, we stayed in a studio room, the bed is very comfortable, the pillows are fantastic and we had a great sleep. The location is great, good selection of restaurants and the inhouse restaurant is great, we had a great breakfast there. Transport very handy, Prahran Markets across the Road.
I would definitely recommend you to stay there and I have passed this gem to my travel agent and I hope they will pass it on to their clients as well

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmnuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    302
    85
    25
    25
See reviews for
111
415
94
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

The Cullen is in great location with easy tram access to City and St Kilda. Great clothes shopping around the corner. Big selection of bars and eating places. Prahran Markets across the street.

Rooms are great with all the facilities needed. Big TV's and a dishwasher were a great touch.

Staff friendly, chatty but not overbearing.

The whole area in Prahran around the Cullen is a great place to hang out.

Will be revisiting the Cullen next time we are in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tidaknama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

I stayed at the Cullen for 8 nights having found it on a comparison website as a last minute deal, so I got a good rate. I booked it in a bit of a rush so I turned up with few expectations, but I was immediately impressed by this stylish hotel and the vibe/ethos.

Their biggest selling point has to be the friendly staff. It's been a long time since I stayed in a hotel with genuine friendly employees who seem to love being there. Made such a difference.

The room was large and well appointed and maintained and the kitchen had everything you would need. The rooms are very stylish with original artwork and designer furniture. Nice big mirrors everywhere too and it has a luxurious feel.

The other selling point is the location - Prahran and Chapel Street have loads of nice places to eat and drink and the tram takes you to the city in 15 mins. The cafe in the hotel is very good too - the food was great and the location is good for people watching. The gym is small but has everything you'd need for some cardio.

This is a modern, funky, friendly boutique hotel with all the mod cons so I would recommend it for business and leisure.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T0nythetiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Thanks very much for letting us know about your stay.

As a new boutique Hotel, we love to hear about guests that “just find us”. This is such a Melbourne experience, whether you are after a Hotel, Restaurant or Bar! The area of Prahran is pretty eclectic, with shopping on Chapel Street, the Famous Prahran markets, and hidden gems all around the area.
I am thrilled to read that your stay was fantastic, and even happier to read the biggest selling point is the staff. The team are all very individual, and love to show our guests what the area and the Hotel has to offer.
Thanks again for your kind review, and we look forward to you coming back soon.

Kind regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

Can't fault the place in any way. Everything you need on a business trip but a little bit different.
I've stayed in central Melbourne on previous visits but this hotel is in a great neighbourhood for eateries and shops galore and within easy reach of the city centre.
Don't go there if you're looking for a rustic family hotel.
Do go there if you want something modern and trendy.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have views of downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ameglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

As a seasoned hotel user it was quite refreshing to stay at the Art Series - The Cullen hotel. As you walk in the door you are met with staff who are relaxed and friendly with you and make you feel comfortable immediately. You know the hotel is different when you see the art work on the walls - great! The rooms are a nice size and have everything you need in there and more. The bed was large and comfortable, the ensuite good also. There is good food available on site. The hotel is situated not far from plenty of shops and restaurants if you want to go for a walk.
I'll be a regular from now on when visiting Melbourne!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Great to hear we have converted you as a regular to The Cullen Hotel!

Thanks very much for your review; we are very appreciative of your comments about our team.

Adam Cullen, who is the inspiration behind the hotel, has some amazing pieces of original art throughout the lobby, including some life size cows! With 450 other prints of his work throughout the building, it’s hard not to become a fan of his works.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

Yes u guessed it, I am in love with this hotel, the style of the rooms, friendly staff, access to hire a smart car for an hour to pop out and do somethings, the location.

What can one say but thank you to the staff for making my stay great and more then happy to recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in Melbourne..

If you are looking for a great hotel that has style and great location look no more

I will be back in a couple of weeks :)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgpacific0-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
We love that you love the Hotel!

See you in a few weeks & thanks for letting us know what you think.

Kind regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

I originally booked the Cullen hotel for just one night for the first part of my australian holiday. But i later rearranged everything in order to be able to come back and spend 4 more nights.
Everything about this hotel is amazing. The location is perfect, the design is simple, yet chic and the hotel staff are the friendliest coolest and most welcoming i have seen yet.
Would recommend this to anyone, and would definitely live there if i could!
(oh yeah, and... BEST BEDS ANYWHERE!)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Witboy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Thanks very much for letting us know your experience!

Amazing to read you changed your holiday plans to come back to see us, we are very appreciative to hear that. The Cullen team love to have a down to earth conversation with our guests & make sure everyone has a memorable stay.

We are thrilled that you will recommend us to your friends.

Thanks again.

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#26 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#27 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,582 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Property: Art Series - The Cullen
Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing