We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Intolerably rude, filthy, sub-standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Armadale Serviced Apartments
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Intolerably rude, filthy, sub-standard”
Reviewed June 11, 2011

I wish I'd read the reviews on here before staying at the Armadale Apartments. They are spot on...
I'd have to say the worst thing about this place was one staff member. A woman who works in the reception who was so incredibly rude, she left me speechless. I've never been spoken to in such an aggressive way by someone in the hospitality industry. She was actually yelling at me, all I asked for was a hair dryer as they don't have them in the rooms!
I was quite upset about the whole incident and as she was the only person there, I couldn't complain about it to any senior management.
Funnily enough, I think it's the same person someone has already written about on here.

Wont be going back. Ever.

Room Tip: Dont go here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joebieone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    16
    17
    22
See reviews for
28
16
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

These apartments are simply awful. From the moment I checked in it was a nightmare. Incredibly rude staff were threatening and inhospitable; cockroaches and dust throughout apartment; freezing at night with no heater in rooms and very noisy; venetian blinds wouldn't close so you could see in from the street; stained sheets. And to top it off someone sideswiped my car in the narrow driveway that doubles as a car park.
Seriously awful accommodation and I won't be coming here again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Newspapermama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prahran hotels

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Was a bit wary after reading other reviews, but found the apartment to be spacious, clean and great value for money. Fantastic location and close to public transport. Obviously not 5 star, but for the the price I found it to be one of the better cheap places I have stayed. Great No Frills accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karyneb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

We booked in for 4 nights, left after 2 nights. Door took 5 mins to open, the musty smell hit you upon entering, shaby worn furniture circa 1960, sat on the lounge and the seat almost hit the floor, no curtains-screens-blinds broken, kitchen antiquated,tv remote didnt work,clock radio didnt work, toilet dirty, shower/bath dangerous,2 towels 2 handtowels with holes, this was a so called serviced apartment....but only after 7 days! if you wanted a fresh towel or toilet paper you had to ask for it...Gee why didnt you tell us, the manager said..Gee why didnt you tell us this was below economy standard in the first place!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Overit75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Hi
This is regarding the treatment we got at the hands of one of the apartment's employee i.e. the manager of the aparments. She treated us rather filthiily and I don't know why she was angry with us since the beginning i.e. since the 4th of sep.2010.Initially we were in room no. 15 and then shifted to room no. 23. We left the apartment on 1st October 2010.
Whenever we went to her for any of the enquiries she went so furious as we have done some crime or we were staying there free of charges .We left the apartment primarily because of her behaviour otherwise we would have stayed there for another month or so. She treated us like a doormat. We have travelled extensively throughout the world but we have never got such ill treatment, till now, we were always treated like honoured guests whether in U.S.A or Canada. My husband who is working as Programme Director in one of the reputed companies of Australia was so disappointed with the Manager's behaviour that he has told all the employees working under him not to stay in Armadale apartments ever if they want to keep their integrity and dignity intact. I am writing this just to tell you,so that no other customer undergoes such treatment at her hands.
Whenever I called her at the reception she reprimanded me angrily that there is a camera inside, so there is no need for me to call her or rather I should dare not call her.Please ensure that she doesn't treat any other person in such way and humiliate them at your hotel.We were new to the area otherwise we would have shifted the apartment on the second day itself. Thanks to her bad behaviour that we decided to return to our country .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RASHNASH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaleApartments, Owner at Armadale Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments as your feedback is valuable to us. I appreciate you bringing this up to our attention so we can resolve and clarify any concerns or issues that may have occurred during your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with the service provided to you, we normally pride ourselves on the professionalism of our staff. I will certainly look into the matter and address this with the staff member concerned.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Mark Lane
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

I booked the room for my family (2 parents and 3 children) before reading these reviews and was really apprehensive of what I'd find. I was pleasantly surprised. It is not that bad. It is great value for money and we stayed for a week and saved quite a lot comparatively. Everything was clean and orderly and in working condition except for the oven, that was okay though as we didn't really need to use it. The beds were comfortable and some areas were newly carpeted. The lounge however was a bit old but still comfortable.
It's a great cheap apartment if you're not planning to stay in it too much and was really close to public transport.
The admin staff were also really helpful when we asked them for use of a street map and they provided us this without any extra cost.
It is definitely a budget stay however it provides you with everything you need for your stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Dont expect anything like the photos on the website, the ground floor 2 bed apartment for my parents and sister was dirty, incredibly noisy and disappointing.

The blinds didn't shut out the light or offer any privacy with the lights on, all sorts of bugs and even a small lizard.

Lampshades missing from table lamps. Stains on the doors, locks missing so doors wont stay shut.

We pulled my family out of this place after just one night! - and found Fredericks apartments just around the corner, who were very helpful and a different world of apartment.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murrelljames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
0.7 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
1.1 mi away
Quest Windsor
Quest Windsor
#2 of 2 in Prahran
283 reviews
1.0 mi away
Art Series - The Cullen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
433 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hiigh Apartments
Hiigh Apartments
#2 of 5 in Prahran
48 reviews
1.0 mi away
L'Emporia Apartments
L'Emporia Apartments
#1 of 5 in Prahran
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armadale Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armadale Serviced Apartments

Property: Armadale Serviced Apartments
Address: 6 Williams Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Prahran
Hotel Class:3 star — Armadale Serviced Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Armadale Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armadale Serviced Apartments Hotel Prahran
Armadale Serviced Apartments Greater Melbourne/Prahran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing