We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best”

Good Luck Tea House
Ranked #2 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Prahran
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Prahran, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We love this place. Owners are so friendly and food is soooo good
Dumplings are so big and so yum!
Don't go there though as we want it for ourselves.
Great for dinner and lunch

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Bit pricey, but excellent food”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Went here for my birthday with about 35 friends recently. We had the upstairs function room, which was a bit tight for that number of people, but we managed to squeeze in. The food was very slow to arrive, as they were also catering for the 60-or-so people seated downstairs, but once it did it was very good. I even came back the next night for takeaway, and then the following week for a late dinner! On this occasion the restaurant was quiet and service was exceptionally quick. I've tried the Singapore noodles, fried rice, lemon chicken, Peking duck skin rolls, prawn dumplings, pork dumplings (siu mai), spring rolls, bbq pork, and the Cantonese beef. All, especially the beef, were excellent.

The restaurant itself has average decor and is long and narrow, but is clean and uncluttered. They have a computerised take-away ordering system which allows customers to pre-order online, which seems very efficient. The guy who owns/runs the restaurant is friendly, polite and accommodating.

Considering takeaway for 2ppl was around $50 and eating in for 2 cost around $80, I think it's maybe a bit pricey, but the food is great and the restaurant is conveniently located long the busy Chapel St, so I have no doubt I will return again. BYO accepted, and they have a small bar which includes spirits.

NOTE: would not be suitable for those with accessibility issues (elderly / wheelchair-confined) as the toilets are on the 1st level up a long flight of stairs.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkey1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My local haunt”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I visit Good Luck at least twice a week for a quick lunch when I am alone or for "Yum Cha" when with friends.

Their lunch menu has a wide variety of quick dishes - the usual fare of BBQ Pork on rice or Roast Duck on rice is very safe for the western palate, but for the more adventurous they do have other specialty chinese dishes. The Yum Cha dishes are always good and well priced for a restaurant South of the Yarra, in my opinion the most authentic Hong Kong style food you can find in this area. The rest of the asian restaurants around Prahran are laughable to say the least.

The restaurant has recently gone through new management but the food hasn't changed - still good and always well worth the money.

My usual lunch time eat is the BBQ Pork on rice or when I feel like Yum Cha, its the prawn dumpling, sticky rice wrapped in banana leaf and the chicken feet - can't go wrong there !!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Blipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Luck - Good Dumplings”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Dumplings seem to be everywhere in Melbourne at the moment but I think this place is really worth trying out. Try the sticky rice and also the crystal prawn dumpling! YUM!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Chinese dishes”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

The shredded duck soup was the highlight.

The staff were efficient and accommodating. Food was served quickly and hot, which is what I expected.

There was a good selection of dishes on the menu.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank d_pearlheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Good Luck Tea House also viewed

Prahran, Stonnington
Prahran, Stonnington
 
Prahran, Stonnington
 
Prahran, Stonnington
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Good Luck Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing