We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upstairs/Downstairs - Yes it matters!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Victoria Apartments
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Port Fairy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Well equipped and handily located units made for a pleasant stay.
Port Fairy is a nice place - not overwhelmed with attractions - but very pleasant.

If I was staying again I would pay the extra for a 2 bedroom unit so that you are upstairs instead of downstairs.
Downstairs is at the mercy of upstairs - the ceiling must be made of thin pine because every noise and footstep carries very clearly. Ok during the day but a nuisance at night if upstairs are up late.
Beds need a comforter or similar to stop them being so hard.

Room Tip: Go upstairs!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidwrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
There are newer reviews for The Victoria Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 383 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed 2 nights on the way back from Adelaide, the one bedroom apartment was just a touch too cozy having a "squashed" feel. The bathroom was very nice and a good size, although the basin/fawcett choice was poor in my opinion, the outdoor area was tiny with 2 air conditioner units blasting hot air at you making it pretty useless. I would have much preferred a TV in the bedroom, or simply one big room as the air conditioner did a fantastic job in the lounge/kitchen but pretty hopeless into the bedroom unless you had it "arctic" in the lounge. The noise from the unit above was quite disconcerting, not just the travel up and down the stairs but also that from the bed immediately above us! As my wife said, at least it was over with quickly!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Only stopped here for one night on route from Adelaide to Melbourne. Lovely apartment, separate lounge area with TV and good size modern bathroom. Port Fairy is a pretty little place, with nice places to eat.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DJinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our 1-bedroom was cozy and almost brand new. No TV in bedroom was both a plus & minus (good for an early riser who wants coffee; not so good if you want to curl up in bed to watch something before sleep. Biggest hassle was NO internet in our unit (#6). We were told there is only one router per two units (and #6 was one without one). Frustrating when you need to keep in touch with kids at home. A bit pricey.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the apartments. We had two suites even though we could have fitted into one but it meant we had the kids upstairs and us downstairs. Great location, short walk to restaurants and main street. Lovely new, well laid out apartments with a garage (which made it easy to unload all the suitcases). Lady on reception was very helpful with any enquiries. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joch642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We just had 2 nights here in late November 2013 en-route from Melbourne via the Great Ocean Road, to the Grampians and onward to the Barossa Valley.

Port Fairy is a pretty little place for a stop-over, although we knew that we would be in the hire-car pretty much all day on the trip down from Melbourne. There would have been a shorter, more direct route than the GOR, but as we were tourists, we definitely didn't want to miss The 12 Apostles. Beautiful view and very well managed, with off-road parking and a small visitor centre.

The apartment was lovely and very spacious, as there was only the two of us in a 2-bed apartment. We were pleased to find that we had an apartment with two balconies (number 2b, I think) which was on the upper floor and on the end of a block.

Previous reviewers have commented on the noise from the air-con, which we had no issues at all with and didn't hear any noises through the night. Nor did we have any problems with hot water.

We found the apartment to be very well equipped, should you want to cook a meal. It is within walking distance of several pubs and restaurants though, and a very short drive to the riverside (or a pleasant walk if it wasn't raining!), where there is a great fish and chip shop.

In short, a very nice stop-over in a pretty little town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissMandyinLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stopped off for one night on our drive from Melbourne to Adelaide, we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of room. The room was large and spacious and the living area and kitchen were perfect for our needs.

We had a shared garage for our car which was nice.
The free broadband was a nice surprise and made this hotel the best value we had our our 3 weeks travelling.

I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bogger85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Fairy
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
#1 of 11 in Port Fairy
428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hearn's Beachside Villas
Hearn's Beachside Villas
#8 of 11 in Port Fairy
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drift House
Drift House
#3 of 11 in Port Fairy
108 reviews
13.0 mi away
Deep Blue Hotel & Spa
Deep Blue Hotel & Spa
#5 of 28 in Warrnambool
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Apartments

Address: 48-50 Bank St, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Port Fairy
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Fairy
Price Range: $117 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Victoria Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Apartments offers travellers, either corporate or leisure, luxury accommodation in the heart of the quaint township of Port Fairy. Port Fairy is a unique seaside fishing village set on the historic Moyne River Port and surrounded on two sides by water, the calm gentle waters of East beach and the rugged shipwreck coastline to the south. This picturesque town is located on the Princes Highway between Melbourne and Mount Gambier, at the western end of the Great Ocean Road. The Victoria has been built with a strong historic architectural influence in mind. The Victoria Apartments have One Bedroom Suites, Two Bedroom Apartments, 3 Bedroom Townhouses and a fully renovated 4 Bedroom historical cottage to cater for all variations of guests needs. Secure roller door garages and modern luxury fitted rooms in a CBD location make The Victoria Apartments stand out amongst competitors as one of the most popular accommodation options in Port Fairy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Victoria Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Luxury Apartments Hotel
The Victoria Apartments Port Fairy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing