We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Victoria Apartments
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Port Fairy
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nothing special”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We booked for one night, approaching the place it looked promising... until we realised that each small unit on the property was actually two 'apartments' and that we would only have access to the downstairs area of the unit. Our unit door was very hard to open, we struggled with it during the whole stay.

We asked to move upstairs as many of the apartments were empty during our stay but were told that they were two bedroom and we hadn't booked that... no willingness to give any extra was a bit disappointing, but then it very rarely happens these days! We had a parking bay inside an undercover carport but couldn't get the automatic opener to work.

The gentleman at the front desk took out the battery and dusted it and the carport door then worked, however it stopped working again pretty much straight away. We didn't use the carport in the end, because we worried about getting the car stuck! The main pros and cons of the property were as follows:

+The units are tidy with all the mod cons
+ neutral modern decor
+ easy access to the town centre
+ owners friendly
+ apartment has a little courtyard, parking bay and carport
+ beds were comfy

- apartment was absolutely tiny
- way too many plastic plants decorating apartment, cluttering and unnecessary (and a bit tacky)
- transparent blind only in lounge room, as there are only two rooms to the apartment it felt a bit exposed!
- problems with key to front door and opener to carport
- door to access upstairs apartment was right by the door to our apartment - a bit unprivate and noisy
- door to apartment was flimsy (like an internal door) - again, felt a bit exposed
- mini bar was two bottles of water that cost two dollars each - completely unnecessary and the gentleman was very keen to know if they had been drunk upon check out... felt a bit like they were running some sort of water racket, trying to trick guests into drinking heavily marked-up water!
- dividing floor / ceiling between apartments was paper thin, no one was staying above us the night we were there but the cleaner was upstairs the next day and we could hear every move she made... felt like she might plunge through the ceiling at any moment she sounded so close!
- the cleaner came very early in the morning to prep the upstairs apartment and shouted at the top of her voice in the shared hallway. She propped the front door of the shared hallway open and we could hear everything going on in the carpark and smell the clouds of cigarette smoke from passers by that drifted in off the street. Clearly they wanted us out as early as possible in the morning
- I have no idea why, but all of our pillows totally stunk of urine. My husband has no sense of smell and even he noticed. The pillow cases we clean but something about the pillows themselves was definitely on the nose!
- not the prettiest of locations, not near the river of any of the 'green' areas, opposite a pub only frequented by the locals

Room Tip: I would only book an upstairs apartment. Downstairs were too pokey and the noise from upstairs is to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateonaplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    134
    52
    11
    7
See reviews for
113
185
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

W e visited Port Fairy recently and stayed at the Victoria apartments. Port Fairy has LOTS of choice for accommodation options so we were anxious in case we had made a wrong choice but were surprised by the standard of fit-out and finish in the two bedroom apartment. One nice touch was the garage with remote entry and internal access. Great when it was cold and raining.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisH-Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This place is great, great, great! From a simplistic check in to check out it was lovely. The location is quite central, close to shops and cafes and supermarkets, you aren't going to be disappointed with the many places to idle the day away. First impressions of the Victoria apartments is that of a well maintained, impeccably clean property - this is a place that the owners and staff are very proud of. We booked a one bed suite and the nice touch was garage parking beside the apartment with automatic entry. The apartment itself was on ground level with a small planted courtyard and it wasn't overlooked. Everything in the apartment was top notch and they have thought of everything to make your stay a pleasant one. Yes the apartments are on the small side but for us it wasn't a problem, a case of cozy but perfect. We travelled Austraila extensively and this apartment hotel was one of our favourites, our only complaint is that we only stayed for one night. You can't fail to be impressed by this place and boy I am hard to please!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Durhamlady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Hi

The apartments (not a hotel) is close to restaurants and within easy walking distance to the docks. There are no views for the downstairs 1 bedroom apartments,but as an overnighter that was fine for us. I would not stay more than 1 night in the lower level apartments. It looks to me like the apartments are actually townhouses split into lower level and upper level apartments. Upper levels have move than 1 bedroom. The floors between the apartments are wooden without effective acoustic insulation so you will hear a lot of from the upper apartments if you stay in the lower levels. The stairs are particularly noisy. You will feel (not just hear) cars and car doors slam through the walls. The airconditioner is next to the window adjacent your head in bed - it stops and starts all night. If you are a heavy sleeper, the noise might not a problem. The issue is that the buildings are not designed to be split into 2 separate apartments. The bedroom should only have a queen size bed, king size is too big for the room. For 1 night the living area is fine - more tight than cosy.. Oherwise, staff friendly and rooms very clean.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RickyB255057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Good start, with very helpful reception staff, but apartment was very very small, as commented on by a recent contributor. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment which was very snug for two people and their luggage. Proper garage, shared with the upstairs apartment, which was a plus in the hot weather. The apartment was spotlessly clean and the kitchen area was well appointed. Airconditioning unit in the living room, but a shame there was not one in the bedroom as well, as this was impossibly hot at night.

We loved Port Fairy, and whilst we only stayed one night at these apartmnts, which was plenty, we would have loved to have stayed longer in Port Fairy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyH2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The air conditioning units for both upstairs and downstairs apartments are outside the downstairs bedroom. These units ate the really noisy types and it is impossible to sleep when they are on. This coupled with being able to hear foot steps, doors opening and closing and water running from upstairs apartment has not made for a pleasant stay. The managet also told me that the apartment i was infor the second week did not have the upstairs air conditioning unit outside my downstairs bedroom. He is either a liar or incompetent/not knowledgeable about the apartments and their layout as this was not correct.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 35may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed 15th May . Very spacious apartment . The decor is superb and we could not fault this very clean tidy accomodation in Port Fairy. The hotel next door is very handy for a nice meal .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairmont020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Fairy
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
#1 of 11 in Port Fairy
414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Drift House
Drift House
#3 of 11 in Port Fairy
104 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hearn's Beachside Villas
Hearn's Beachside Villas
#8 of 11 in Port Fairy
50 reviews
13.0 mi away
Quality Suites Deep Blue
Quality Suites Deep Blue
#6 of 28 in Warrnambool
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Apartments

Property: The Victoria Apartments
Address: 48-50 Bank St, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Port Fairy
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Fairy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Victoria Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Victoria Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Luxury Apartments Hotel
The Victoria Apartments Port Fairy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing