We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clonmara Cottage is in a class all by itself”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clonmara Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clonmara Cottages
Ranked #2 of 12 Port Fairy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
374 reviews
220 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Clonmara Cottage is in a class all by itself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

To say that Clonmara Cottages in Port Fairy is charming is an understatement. My honey and I stayed in unit #3 which is called a Tea Cottage. This self-contained cottage had a two person spa, walk in shower, queen bed, microwave, small refrigerator, sink, couch, kitchen table and chairs, HD TV, port wine, and a good night piece of chocolate. The "free" WIFI was excellent in our cottage.

The owners has built these cottage from scratch with love and care with lots of attention to detail. The cottages are the way the owners would like them if they lived in one of units. The entire grounds took us back to a feeling that we were staying with The Nobles. There is a giant chess board and figures built in the court yard for the guest's enjoyment. Private and secure off street parking is available. We had our own outdoor patio with furniture that was a perfect place to read and relax in this tranquil setting. Our continental breakfast was waiting in our cottage. A full Australian breakfast is available for a small additional cost.

When we checked in the hosts provided detailed information on how we could enjoy Port Fairy. Time was taken to point out numerous eating establishments and the type of food offered. He encouraged us to walk along the river and enjoy the charm that the small town of Port Fairy has to offer.

There are high quality B and Bs and Clonmara Cottage is in a class all by itself. Having your own private cottage is way above and beyond what is expected in B and B. I can't imagine a better place to call home in Port Fairy than Clonmara Cottages.

Room Tip: Reserve your cottage early, especially during the high season and festivals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Manager at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
I guess that this the type of review that we dream of!
I can only say a huge thank you from all of us. We really have some statements to live up to.
We will continue to grow the business by adding needs that our guests say we need.
Again, thank you so much and enjoy the rest of your amazing trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    30
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
112
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melton, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

we stayed at the cottages near the tea rooms, very convenient for breakfast! The cottages are very well appointed and a full continental is provided, but strongly suggest that you try the breakfast available in the tea rooms.

Doug, Ruth and Georgina made us feel very welcome and at home. Nothing was too much trouble and the service was always given with a smile one word of caution beware of Doug's Jokes!

I have never written a review before and feel compelled to make positive comments about the cottages and the tea rooms. Will be going back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate comments that can assist us improve.
We are all delighted and proud that you enjoyed your time with us and we very much hope that you will revisit us.
Jokes or no jokes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We spent 2 nights at Clonmara and we had a great time..
Couldnt fault anything... Great service, the cottage was super clean and the complimentary port was amazing :)
Thank you very much, i really hope we can come back soon !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thiago1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you very much from all of us.
We are absolutely delighted you enjoyed your stay to such a degree.
We very much hope that you do come back and perhaps we may improve just a little bit more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed at Plum Tree Cottage.We received a pleasant welcome. From the outside it looked like a very old cottage in a very English type garden complete with several loaded & ripe plum trees. Inside the Cottage was quite different - it was very pleasantly decorated and furnished with everything one would require on a holiday. The decanter of port was a nice touch. The cottage was placed in a semi-rural area with space and in a quiet area. We had lunch in the gardens of the restaurant which was most pleasant, attentive & quick service - the 2 different Ploughman's lunches were very tasty.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crawford M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for your review.
We really appreciate comments.
Cherry Plum is our unpretentious, hideaway cottage offering peace and quiet in a really beautiful cottage garden aspect, yet only a short distance from the centre of town.
We especially appreciated your comments on our Tea Rooms and would love it, if you find the time, having eaten there, to review it in its own right.
You are absolutely correct. Do not judge a book by Its Cover.
Thank you so much, all of us appreciated your lovely comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We spent 2nights of our honeymoon and it was just the perfect place to relax and enjoy. The room, bathroom and garden were fantastic. Everything was neat, tidy and very clean. We enjoyed the spa, having our brekkie in the garden and the port was a nice touch at the end of the night. Ruth and Doug were excellent hosts and provided informative and helpful info about where to eat and visit. Wished it was a little closer to main part of town so we didn't have to drive when we went out at night - found out too late that they do have a taxi in Port Fairy!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and for your exceptionally kind comments.
I am truly sorry about the taxi service. It was listed in your compendium and we are usually only to happy to deliver guests to restaurants and make arrangements for return trips.
We very much hope you will come back and allow us to took after you again.
May I take this opportunity to wish you both the very best of happiness and health for your future together, from all of us at Clonmaea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Made welcome by all staff on our arrival
Accommodation excellent with every need catered for. Excellent, with every need catered for. Sadly did not have the time to test the spa-bath.
Delightful start to the day watching the alpacas and even saw 2 wallabies.
Opted for the cooked breakfast in the adjoining tea-rooms, and have to say that we have never had better

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review.
We really appreciate all guests who are able to review us to ensure that we continue to maintain and improve our standards.
Perhaps we could have the pleasure of your company on another occasion, when you could stay longer and take advantage of the features included in the accommodation to the full.
Again, thank you so much for your review.
Enjoy the remainder of your trip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Quaint cottage, spacious bathroom, beautiful garden. Daily breakfast and port and chocolates. Doug and Ruth were great in recommending places to go and eat. Love especially the vintage haunts. Feeding the alpacas up close was a highlight. It's a pity that due to the network, only one device can have wifi at one time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berlydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your most kind review.
All of us are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay as much as you did,
At this timer of year, it is sometimes not easy offer the attention that every guest is entitled to.
WiFi is a major concern to us as we receive a very poor service from Australia's largest provider, being in the country.
We sincerely apologise that we cannot offer a multiple device per cottage service, but it is something not in our control.
We very much hope that you may visit us again.
Once more, thank you for taking the time to review us
Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Fairy hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
#2 of 11 in Port Fairy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Apartments
The Victoria Apartments
#4 of 11 in Port Fairy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hearn's Beachside Villas
Hearn's Beachside Villas
#8 of 11 in Port Fairy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drift House
Drift House
#3 of 11 in Port Fairy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clonmara Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clonmara Cottages

Property: Clonmara Cottages
Address: 106 Princes Hwy, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia (Formerly Clonmara Bed & Breakfast)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Port Fairy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clonmara Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an acre and half of cottage gardens are 4 very comfortable one bedroom cottage style appartments.An old fashioned British style Tea Rooms and Gift Shop compliments the setting offering a variety of meals and a selection of unusual gifts.All accommodation has generous styled spa bathrooms air conditioning and wide screen TVs to mention just a few of the features included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clonmara Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clonmara Cottages Port Fairy, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing