We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem.”
Review of Clonmara Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clonmara Cottages
Ranked #2 of 12 Port Fairy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We agree entirely with recent reviews. The attention to detail and many unexpected little touches make all the difference.Fresh towels were provided on each day of our stay together with complimentary toffees chocolates and port. The tea room is worth supporting. We had little opportunity to do so but after tasting the scones wish we had more time to sample more.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandJmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Manager at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for your very kind comments.
It is always good hear that someone was not able to complete all their wishes. That way. we may have the pleasure of your company again!
Our Tea Rooms do enjoy a reasonably high profile on Trip Advisor and we obviously value that a well. So, please come back.
Again, thank you for taking the time to review us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 147 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Chose Clonmara for a surprise get away weekend for our wedding anniversary and it didn't disappoint. "A little bit of the UK at the end of the Great Ocean road" as one of the brochures describes this excellent B&B and Tea Rooms, and the promise of Kippers for breakfast for my Scottish born wife, seemed just the ticket.

Having spent many a night in UK B&Bs, Doug and Ruth could teach a few UK operators a thing or two about making their guests feel special. From my first contact with Doug to set up the weekend, to our farewell (with outstanding picnic hamper packed for the trip home) nothing was too much trouble. Doug even rang the week before to advise he had to make a rush trip to the UK and as the stand in chef couldn't start until 9am would a late breakfast be OK? It certainly was and cooked to perfection as well.

Attention to detail and a complete focus on ensuring their guests receive an enjoyable travel experience is the hallmark of Clonmara. On arrival, Ruth made us feel immediately welcome, and marked a few places of interest, and a great walking suggestion, on the local map. The gas fire was lit in our studio apartment, and the bed was extremely comfortable, as was the spa in the oversized ensuite bathroom, complete with bath salts, large fluffy towels, and soft and comfy bathrobes. When combined with a compact balcony facing through some trees to the open paddocks beyond (complete with Alpacas), and the peace and tranquility of the surrounds, the whole package made for a most relaxing weekend.

Breakfast on the first morning was excellent and as the weather was fine and warm, we took advantage of the beautiful garden courtyard. Our Dinner choice on Saturday night (seafood platter and a cheese platter to finish) was perfectly prepared and more than enough for both of us All delivered exactly as requested (and the candles were a lovely touch - thanks Ruth). Enjoyed a traditional Devonshire tea (with generous scones, real country style jam and thick cream), and another great breakfast in the compact tea room, surrounded with appropriate in-character and some quirky decorations (most for sale). Our only regret was that our journey into town and the surrounding region meant we couldn't check out the lunch menu. Maybe next time.

Others have described the accommodation and gardens in more detail so will not repeat here but if a relaxing weekend in Port Fairy in homely, affordable luxury accommodation, and outstanding customer service from the hosts, are what you are looking for, then Clonmara fits the bill with ease.

Room Tip: Being farther set back from the main road, a bit bigger and with a balcony facing onto open space (a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for your tremendous review. I was a little concerned at not being there to welcome you as I had been your point of contact. I also apologise for the late response but have only just returned.
We are all absolutely delighted that the important weekend worked out so well for you both.
We very much hope we may have the pleasure of your company again and perhaps, I might get to meet you both.
Again, thank you for taking the time to review us, we value all comments as we do strive to go just that little bit further!
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

A warm and attentive welcome from Doug and Ruth. They provided advice and a map for local restaurants. We stayed in one of the studio apartments. There was port and chocolates provided as a night cap and even though there were other people staying there it was very private. The apartment was very comfortable with a lovely breakfast provided. The linen was crisp and fresh, and the bed was comfortable and we slept like logs. The water was a little brown to start with it just let run a bit. It won't kill you. Our stay was just lovely and we will return. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Get a studio apartment for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for your very kind comments
We very hope that you will visit us gain and perhaps we can even improve as we are always looking to do just that bit better.
We were very sorry about the apparent colour of the water, however as I think we explained on the day, there had been a burst water main in Port Fairy and some discolouration was not removed from the water supply until the next day. We did however have the water tested and it was deemed absolutely safe.
Again, on behalf of all of us, thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We had been road tripping for 2 weeks when we arrived here & it was lovely. Gardens are a real treat. Welcomed into out cottage, fire was already going & map of the town provided & good eateries pointed out. Coffin Sally pizzas were great. Complimentary port & chocs. Really homey feel. Was lovely to see nice accom where you can bring your pets. Was lovely to cuddle your cat, pat your friendly unusual dog & feed the alpacas. Missing my pets!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review us.
We are delighted that you really enjoyed your stay were able to take advantage of our facilities.
We also appreciate feed back on local eateries and we realise the importance of offering somewhere that will be enjoyed. It is all part of the total expereince that we try to achieve.
All our staff also very much appreciate feed back.
We very much hope we may have the pleasure of your company again, one day
Our best Regards
Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We enjoyed three nights in this beautiful little cottage with our little King Charles Cav. Doug met us with a very friendly smile and warm handshake! And from the first moment couldn't do enough to make sure we were looked after! The little cottage was warm and comfi, Well equipped and welcoming bed. Because Douglas and Ruth deserve a break we unfortunately couldn't sample their famous food as their little tea room was closed whilst we were there. I believe it's amazing! Port Fairy is a beautiful place to visit with some great eating out places. I think to have the convenience of the Tea Room on site to eat at would be the icing on the cake! Hopefully one day we'll be back and sample some of their famous food! Thoroughly recommend this lovely place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney_AustraliaPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We do sincerely apologise for not being able to offer our Tea Rooms to you whilst you were with us.
Very occasionally, we need to do maintainance work which stops us from operating the cafe.
All us really appreciate the kind words that you have written about us and would just love the three of you to visit us again and allow us to cook for you in our Tea Rooms which do also rate well with Trip Advisor client.
We also hope that we will continue to improve our service and offer an even warmer welcome to you next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Boy, this was a find. A double bedded idyll. Doug and Ruth really lived up to their promise that they would provide everything they would need themselves if they were visitors. From excellent tea and coffee, fresh milk, breakfast basket with a choice between meusli and cereals, deep pile towels, dressing gowns and lovely bathroom bits. Oh, and did I mention the port and chocolates which we thought was touch of luxury.


There was a good choice of stations on the tv, but just like home, lots of repeats and rubbish. But at least we had the choice. There was also a dvd player, cd player with USB key. Naturally, there were also lots of booklets and brochures supplied for all the local amenities and attractions.

The bed was soooo comfortable and beautifully dressed in fresh crisp cotton. It was a delight to sleep in and we certainly slept well.

The bathroom is bigger than many's a box-room I know. The spa bath was an indulgence and the walk-in shower is pleasantly powerful and accessible to anyone -whatever age or physical ability.

In fact, the whole cottage is thoughtfully and tastefully decorated.

The cottages are set in an enclosed garden, beside the off-street parking and the alpacas. The garden is well kept and beautifully planted with mature trees and shrubs, including hibiscus, kumquats, roses and other fruit trees. The "piece de resistance" was the lavendar hedge which surrounded each cottage and must be heavenly on Summer's evenings. The alpacas are friendly and guests are encouraged to feed them by the provision of buckets of appropriate food.

Some previous guests commented that their pets had enjoyed their stays. Well, congratulations to the housekeeping staff as there was not the slightest trace of those little four legged visitors.

The fact that WiFi was High-speed and free for one device (you could pay to add in others) was perfect for us.

This was an ace location and we would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank contactcarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Wow, That is some review
Thank you very very much on behalf of all of us!
We could easily get a little swoolen in the heads after that, however, we won't!
It is thrilling to read such a review, that means we must have really met your needs.
This will not stop us from continuing to chase improvement to ensure we offer everyone who stays, a similar experience.
Thank ytou once more and we very much you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed for two nights in a studio apartment at Clonmara Cottages after reading TripAdvisor reviews and assessing other local options. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were impressed with the friendly welcome, clean, spacious apartment and quality facilities.

The lounge area had a large flat screen TV/DVD, music player and a gas log fire. The kitchenette was suitable for preparing light meals (microwave, bar fridge, sink, crockery/cutlery, no oven) and had a table and chairs. The high-vaulted, wooden-panelled ceilings and interesting studio design give the apartment a functional, airy feel.

The large, comfortable bed and quality linen was matched by the spacious adjoining bathroom (double spa bath included). The toiletries, towels and bath robes were all up to the same standard.

Contrary to Booking.com advice a simple continental breakfast was provided and the complimentary port and chocolates was a nice touch. There was also a mini-bar for those who needed it with beer, soft-drinks, wine and snacks available.

Our private porch overlooked the back paddock where alpacas grazed.

All in all it was a charming, comfortable stay.

Thanks Ruth and Doug.

Regards Peter & Judy

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank for reviewing us.
Your comments are much appreciated by all of us as it is no single employee who makes the business run well.
Reviews help us to identify what we are doing and also bring items to the front that might need emmediate attention, so they are always helpfyl
Hopefully, you may visit us again and we can offer a better experience than this time as we are always looking for waysd to improve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Fairy hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
#1 of 11 in Port Fairy
457 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
1.2 mi away
Hearn's Beachside Villas
Hearn's Beachside Villas
#8 of 11 in Port Fairy
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Drift House
Drift House
#3 of 11 in Port Fairy
116 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Apartments
The Victoria Apartments
#4 of 11 in Port Fairy
402 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wytonia Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clonmara Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clonmara Cottages

Address: 106 Princes Hwy, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia (Formerly Clonmara Bed & Breakfast)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Port Fairy
Price Range: $126 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clonmara Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an acre and half of cottage gardens are 4 very comfortable one bedroom cottage style appartments.An old fashioned British style Tea rooms and gift shop compliment the setting, offering a variety of meals and a selection of unusual gifts. All accommodation have generous styled spa bathrooms, air conditioning and wide screen TVs, to mention just a few of the features included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clonmara Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clonmara Cottages Port Fairy, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing