We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming cottages”
Review of Clonmara Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clonmara Cottages
Ranked #2 of 12 Port Fairy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Husband booked these cottages for a return visit to Port Fairy after 32 years. I remember we visited then in late autumn and vowed and declared that if we returned we would go in summer as so many restaurants and shops were closed. Unfortunately we're were booked for Monday and Tuesday nights and had the same problem all these years later. I was so excited to try the Clonmara Tearooms having noted that they received the number one rating on this website. unfortunately it was not to be as these are the days the Tearooms close too. I fully appreciate that it is necessary for small businesses have to have time off etc., but just a word of warning to other tourists to time there visit to Port Fairy for the end of the week if they want to enjoy more of the attractions of this quaint little fishing village. We will definitely return to enjoy what we missed this time.

In respect of the accommodation, it was faultless. Attention to the finest detail. Lovely touches like luxury bathrobes, fine toiletries, chocolates, toffees, port and plunger coffee, CD player with CDs, private courtyard with outdoor setting, all adding to our great experience. We will definitely be back to experience everything this destination has to offer making sure we go when everything is open.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cynfia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We very reluctantly need to close on a Monday and Tuesday, not because we need time off, but because of the paperwork required running a business even as small as ours. We also need to tend the gardens and do maintainance. We chose these two days, to try not to disrupt people's enjoyment too much as they are the quietest days of the week.
We really apologise for this inconvenience but do try to let people know through our web site so as to avoid disappointment.
We are also delighted that you enjoyed your stay with and were able to enjoy the little extras that we provide. We try very hard to offer just that little bit more and obviously suceeded with you.
On behalf of all of us at Clonmara Cottages, we thank you for your comments and really hope you will come back and stay with us again and perhaps, we might be able to take of you in the Tea Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 150 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

We didn't get the friendliest welcome as we arrived about 30 mins too early to check in (difficult to plan when you've been travelling for 5 hours). However, when we said it didn't matter the owner was much friendlier. Our accommodation was in fact available. The cottage was in a lovely spot and very private and quiet. The cottage decor is very old fashioned which fits in with it's age but everything is a bit tired. Not the best equipped cottage for self catering as there is only a small fridge and microwave. The bathroom has a 'caravan' feel to it with moulded plastic shower and sink). Unfortunately their highly rated tearoom isn't open Mon, Tues or Wed so you have to go into town for a coffee, breakfast etc. we had our own garden area with picnic bench and comfortable sun chairs

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArchieCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our Cherry Plum Cottage and we are naturally disappointed with your review.The unwelcome reception that you say you received could only have come from me. I am somewaht puzzled as we are always happy (or I thought we were) to welcome an early guest, if the accommodation is ready and quite often suggest to guests that they call us the evening prior or in the morning for us to give them an update.
The cottage is an unpretentous hideaway cottage and is located in a glorious acre and a half of manicured English cottage gardens.
We do not make any claims about the facilities that are provided that are false and whilst not having a stove, there is a BBQ under cover available for guests use. We would have been happy to discuss cooking needs prior to your arrival.
Our Tea Rooms are never open on a Monday or a Tuesday and all our promotional material, web site our personal booking confirmations state that.
Breakfast is also available, provided it is booked 24 hours ahead as also stated
We are also very disappointed that you could only rate us with a 3 for our cleaning. This is something we take very seriously and again are disappointed that we must have failed there to.
Your comments are shared with all our staff and I can only apologise on behalf of all us and particualry myself for your disappointing stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed in one of these cottages for one night on Sunday 27 January and received a warm welcome from Doug.These cottages are luxurious and the view from our deck was over a field with a number of Alpacas, including one which was only 6 days old.

We were visiting Port Fairy on our drive from Melbourne to Adelaide. Would recommend the Clonmara Cottages as a place to stay. Thanks!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for your very kind review.
We were very happy to share the enjoyment of the 6 day Alpaca with you.
It is pleasing to know that our standard is still good. We do rest on our laurals and would very hope that if you should find yourself in these parts again, that you come and enjoy our hospitality.
Again, many thanks for taking the time to write about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Spent a couple of nights here with my wife & 2 little dogs in the dog friendly Garden cottage.
This place is great. cottage was nice & cosy, great air con & facilities.
Had a meal at the tea rooms, it was superb.
The only thing I can say that is I wish it was closer closer to the beach, but saying this, it was good to get away from the rest of the holiday makers that flock to Port Fairy over summer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review.
We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and very much hope we will have the pleasure of your company again. - Not forgetting the fourleggeds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

After a lovely welcome from the owner, Doug (Scottish by birth) we were shown to a lovely restored 19th century cottage set in a delightful garden with an orchard and a field of Alpacas next to us. The accommodation was EVERYTHING I'D HOPED FOR and more. The bath was a delight after a long day's journey; the bed soooooo comfortable;the bbq was great; the cream teas in the tearoom started off a wonderful stay. Unfortunately, it was only for one night but how I wished it could have been for longer. Thank you for a superb stay.

Room Tip: All of the accommodation looked WONDERFUL.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill-Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thank you for your absolutely terrific review.
We loved having you stay, it was an absolute delght and really appreciate your lovely comments
Thank you also for the address of the hotel in Nairn
Perhaps next time we will get to it.
Please enjoy the rest of your journey and hope perhaps we may have the pleasure of your company one day?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We only stayed in Port Fairy for one night and we really wished that we could have stayed longer. We spent the night in Arrondoon Cottage and it was a bit magical. The nicest part was probably the pretty garden we shared with a neighbouring cottage. The owners had left port and chocolates, milk and butter. The house was very clean and comfortable and nicely decorated. We had a really lovely time and breakfast at the tea rooms the next morning was lovely. Really nice service too. We'd love to come back

Room Tip: Arrondoon Cottage is just gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Hi Sarah,
Thank you for your review.
Yes, one night in Port Fairy is just not quite enough.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed Arrondoon and our Clonmara Tea Rooms.
We strive to offer something a little different and hopefully offer a friendly welcoming approach.
We continuously try to improve and hope that on next trip, you stay with us again and are able to give an improved report.
Again, many thanks for your time in commenting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We went to clonmara to celebrate our first anniversary. We wanted somewhere where could relax and unwind. This was exactly what we were able to do at clonmara! I also recommend dining for breakfast at the tea room- our breakfasts were delicious! The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a lovely weekend away and would highly become recommend clonmara cottages.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our accommodation.
All of us try hard to ensure all our 'guests' have a time with us that will be memorable .
We always appreciate comment and note that from your assessment, there is still much room for us to improve.
We are delighted that your time with us met your expectations and sincerely hope that you will visit us gain and then find we have still improved on your current experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Fairy
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
#1 of 11 in Port Fairy
468 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drift House
Drift House
#2 of 11 in Port Fairy
121 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Apartments
The Victoria Apartments
#4 of 11 in Port Fairy
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs
Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs
#6 of 28 in Warrnambool
804 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
1.5 mi away
Wytonia Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clonmara Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clonmara Cottages

Address: 106 Princes Hwy, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia (Formerly Clonmara Bed & Breakfast)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Port Fairy
Price Range: $129 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clonmara Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an acre and half of cottage gardens are 4 very comfortable one bedroom cottage style appartments.An old fashioned British style Tea rooms and gift shop compliment the setting, offering a variety of meals and a selection of unusual gifts. All accommodation have generous styled spa bathrooms, air conditioning and wide screen TVs, to mention just a few of the features included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Clonmara Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clonmara Cottages Port Fairy, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing