We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B - a must stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clonmara Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clonmara Cottages
Ranked #2 of 12 Port Fairy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B - a must stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. On arrival we were told we had been upgraded to a studio apartment. The apartment was terrific. All modern features and tastefully decorated. The apartment also had a small verandah at the back that overlooked the property and we could see the proberty's Alpacca's. The bed was comfortable and the lounge had a gas stove fire which warmed the place well. It felt very homely and was beyond what we had expected. The breakfast basket was ample and of good quality. Location was good for sightseeing into town and there was parking for our car. Highly recommend a stay here and would love to stay again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your review on Clonmara Cottages.
We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope, one day you may return and we are able to improve on what we offered you on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    30
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
112
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level Contributor
196 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Doug is welcoming you in a very nice way, the cottages are super nice and well decorated. Nice garden, good breakfast, comfortable bed. A pity the noise during the night, the only disadvantage. Price is ok for what is offered, although locationis not the best. 3 minutes from downtown driving.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucabran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make your comments.
We are happy that the accommodation met your expectations but obviously not so happy with several obversations you make.
It is always disappointing to read of a unhappy experience, rather that be told it.
Regarding traffic noise, we are aware that occasionally one particular cottage has suffered from some noise at night occasionally.
Your obversation regarding our location and the fact that you seemed suprised that we are located a 3 minute from the centre of town seems a little disappointing as we do claim on our web site and any other documentation that we are a 4 minute drive or a 15 to 20 minute walk to the centre of town and offer a rural aspect.
We are however unable to find a record of your booking any time close to the date quoted on your report and so are unable to confirm where you actually stayed.
We do sincerely regret, not having been able to meet your total needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Fantastic! A very comfortable stay in a lovely timber cottage. When we arrived we assumed the main house was where we were going to be, but no, we were directed to a cottage in a field a few hundred yards down a country lane. This was a lovely isolated location, the only neighbours a herd of inquisitive Alpacas! This was followed later that evening with a flock of screeching parrots roosting for the night in a nearby tree. An incredible experience all round. We thouroughly recommend Clonmara Cottages, if we return to this part of Australia again it will be high on our priority list!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong whichever cottage you stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for your beautiful review and we sincerely apologise for not having responded earlier
We appreciate all reviews as they help us to enusre that what we are offering is what is wanted
We also sincerely hope that if you are in this part of the world again, you might pay us a visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We thoroughly recommend this place to everyone!!

A gorgeous B&B on the highway as you head into Port Fairy. The hosts were exceptionally friendly and helpful, with tips on what to do in town, which restaurants they recommended etc etc.

The cottages were all very cosy and comfortable, complete with a gas pot fire, large flat screen tv, and a bathroom to die for with a large double corner spa.

Continental breakfast is included in your stay, however they also offer a wide range of hot breakfasts to be delivered to your room.

Highly recommended for a romantic getaway, or a weekend away with a couple of friends.

Room Tip: All rooms are gorgeous and cozy. You will love this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBs_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your appraisal and comments
All of us, care very much about how our guests enjoy their stay with us.
We will continue to improve, without losing the cosy feeling which we believe is integral to our business.
We very much hope you will visit gain and will be able once again enjoy the hospitality that we offer, which we hope, is a little more personal than some.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

My husband and I were travelling the great ocean road and stopped at Port Fairy before our adventure(we travelled from Adleaide to Melbourne). We had such an amazing time at Clonmara. the owners were fantastic, they greeted us with open arms, the cottage was amazing, lovely and warm and cosy as the fire was already going when we arrived at the cottage, the breakfast was enormous and delicious.
i would definetly come back here to stay and tell my family and friends about this place too.

thanks so much for making our holiday memorable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naddia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your generous comments.
All of us here, try hard to improve the experience of staying at Clonmara each time a client stays and value your encouraging remarks. We are also always open to comments that can assist us to improve.
We sincerely hope that the next time you visit Port Fairy, you might choose to stay with us again.
Again, thank you, your comments are very much appreciated by all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

When I return to Port Fairy I will go no further than Clonmara B&B. Never have I had a more welcoming experience. My husband & I were taking a trip through Victoria to do the Great Ocean Road for our 25th Wedding Anniversary & the special date coincided with our 2 night stay at Clonmara so the bottle of champagne in the fridge was a very lovely surprise!

The setting is exquisite & certainly our accommodation (studio) exceeded our expectations with its cleanliness and inclusions. An added bonus was to wake each morning to a view of Alpacas grazing in the paddock next door!

Our wonderful hosts went well above & beyond to make our stay as wonderful as it was, particularly when our cab didn't arrive to take us to our anniversary dinner & drove us instead! Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLC193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Thank you for your very kind comments.
All of us. try really hard to ensure every guest has a stay that is memorable, no matter how long or short.
We are indeed thrilled that you had such a great time with us.
We will continue to improve and believe that it's the little things that make a stay a great success.
We very much look forward to you staying with us, should you be considering another visit to lovely Port Fairy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

We chose to stay at Clonmara at the end of our trip along the Great Ocean Road and what a great decision it was.We stayed in one of the newer studio apartments and were made feel welcome from the time we arrived.
The studio was in a large garden setting and was spacious,spotlessly clean and well equipped. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom with spa was great and noise was not an issue at all. Waking up to see the alpaccas coming to drink just below the balcony was fascinating.
We arranged to have dinner delivered to our room each night and it was great home cooked food (from the tea room menu) at very reasonable prices. All delivered to our door by the friendly owner, Doug.
It is only a matter of minutes to the town centre by car and after a day out exploring it was great to come back and sit on the deck with a glass of wine beore dinner.
Make sure you have coffee in the tea rooms before you leave.
Highly recommend you stay in the studios!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydneywanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Fairy hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
#1 of 11 in Port Fairy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Apartments
The Victoria Apartments
#4 of 11 in Port Fairy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hearn's Beachside Villas
Hearn's Beachside Villas
#8 of 11 in Port Fairy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drift House
Drift House
#3 of 11 in Port Fairy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clonmara Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clonmara Cottages

Property: Clonmara Cottages
Address: 106 Princes Hwy, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia (Formerly Clonmara Bed & Breakfast)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Port Fairy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clonmara Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an acre and half of cottage gardens are 4 very comfortable one bedroom cottage style appartments.An old fashioned British style Tea Rooms and Gift Shop compliments the setting offering a variety of meals and a selection of unusual gifts.All accommodation has generous styled spa bathrooms air conditioning and wide screen TVs to mention just a few of the features included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clonmara Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clonmara Cottages Port Fairy, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing