We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great country property”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Central Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Central Motel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Port Fairy
Certificate of Excellence
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
271 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great country property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Central Motel is a great country motel. Rooms are light, beds comfortable and the shower is high enough to stand up under.

It has a great location in the centre of Port Fairy and the owners are friendly and approachable.

Will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rakehoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    93
    38
    11
    1
See reviews for
29
120
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Travelling solo this was my last one-night stop on the Great Ocean Road. Although located on a main street the rooms are nicely set back from the road down a quiet drive. Safe parking right opposite my room. Hotel reception was good - very helpful and friendly. Cosy room. This end of the GOR has a more agricultural 'feel' but I was glad I came this far as Griffiths Island was a beautiful walk and also the quay at Port Fairy is a nice place to relax. Port Fairy is a small and pretty town and and there are plenty shops and quite a few pubs. I ate breakfast a short walk away at 'Rebeccas' and it was the best one I had during my whole holiday!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Very clean and friendly motel, the staff were really helpful. Even suggesting the local pub for food, which was very good, we even got a free drink for telling them we had been reccommended. Nice tidy rooms which were a good size and well equiped, really nice area we went and had a lovelly walk before dinner and saw all the local wide life, really nice round by the harbour.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougalDogHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralmotel, Owner at Central Motel, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you and thank you to all the previous commentators for taking the time to express your satisfaction with our property.
We have been here for 6 years and constantly looking for ways to improve. The delivery of generous service and a smile is increasingly difficult to find in this day and age yet costs nothing. We endeavour to provide good, clean accommodation at the most reasonable rates in town and will continue to do so whilst we still have the zest for the industry.
We at the Central Motel Port Fairy look forward to being of service on your return and welcome all future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
648 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our trip along the Great Ocean Road. The location is great in the middle of town and you can walk to anything. The grounds are very well cared for as are the rooms. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Port Fairy.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dil345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

we stay for one night and find the hotel very clean and the staff was excellent. arrived in our standard twin bed they prepared Cot for my 19 month very well and when I asked for more towel they gave us without any delay. and the location is in central of everything ! I would come and stay again in my future visit to Port Fairy, Thanks You Peter and Staff !

Room Tip: is good for us with family with young childrens
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Another stay at the Central Motel for us. As before, the room was ideal for our needs - three single beds in the one room. Everything you'd expect of a basic, budget motel room. A DVD player was again organised on request. Our only gripe was the number of dead crickets scattered about the room (yuck!).

What we liked best - the location, friendly welcome & the budget (by Port Fairy standards) price.

What we didn't like - the dead crickets!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2Rome2Gether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralmotel, Owner at Central Motel, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Yes the district, Port Fairy included, has been affected by a cricket plague over recent weeks and despite our best efforts they still manage to enter rooms. Although harmless their presence can be disconcerting particularly with some internationals who are not familiar with this insect.
Happy to say they seem much fewer in number now so the problem is rectifying itself with our staff still very keen to present the rooms to our usual high standard of cleanliness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Great place to stay, centre of town, walking distance to hotels for a good meal,very neat and clean unit. Definate re-visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Fairy hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
#1 of 11 in Port Fairy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Apartments
The Victoria Apartments
#4 of 11 in Port Fairy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Drift House
Drift House
#3 of 11 in Port Fairy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Port Fairy Motor Inn
Port Fairy Motor Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Fairy
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Motel

Property: Central Motel
Address: 56 Sackville St, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Port Fairy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Central Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Central Motel is located right in the heart of beautiful Port Fairy. You will find us tucked away in a quiet cul de sac just off the main street. Our charming bluestone building is set amongst a delightful garden setting. We offer affordable, clean and comfortable 3.5 star accommodation. We take great pride in offering excellent value for money with our friendly 'family' style hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Central Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Motel Port Fairy, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing