We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

The Victoria Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Fairy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Port Fairy
Mortlake
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We own a house in Port Fairy so are frequent visitors to the Vic for dinner Our most recent visit, two weeks ago was a disappointing experience We felt the standard had slipped considerably Soggy chips with the fish, no garnishes and generally poor presentation Very average pub meal The childrens play room is a winner and the staff are very pleasant

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
5
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ferndown
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2008

The outside of the hotel does not do it justice. Inside there is a warm welcome. We were not staying in the hotel itself but in Hearn's Cottages, just a block down the road. The apartment was amazing. A large sitting/dining room with a massive log effect gas fire in the corner and comfortable leather chairs. A fully fitted kitchen with everything you could possibly need (including washing machine and tumble drier). A beautiful bedroom with king size bed and a very well equiped en-suite bathroom.

The tragedy was that we were only in Port Fairy for one night. I could have lived in this apartment for ever !! Port Fairy is a great little town and well worth a visit. Have breakfast at Rebecca's. The best I had in Australia.

We did not eat in the hotel but their bistro style restaurant looks good.

  • Liked — comfort and facilities
  • Disliked — not being able to stay longer !
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank young grandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2008

The entrance to the Victoria Hotel from the street looked dilapidated and in need of paint, next door to an equally paint peeling building, the old Drill Hall which ithey now use for functions/weddings etc. However when you enter there is a big reception desk on the left, a public bar on the right, connected by a corridor leading to a large restaurant at the back.
The guy in the public bar went to get the owner for us to sign in. This area is in fact only what you see, the accommodation is a few minutes walk down the road off a side street.

The original Victorian building constructed from Grampians sandstone quarried at Dunkeld, has 7 architecturally designed apartments and has features which include aged timbers, sandstone fireplaces, leather furnishings, entertainment centre, fully equipped kitchen and air-conditioning and heating, granite bathrooms, some with luxurious spas. We stayed in the Queen suite in the Loft situated up one flight of fairly steep stairs. We had a walk in shower and a a kitchen area with sink fridge and most necessities such as toaster, pots and pans and kettle.

We had opted for breakfast, rather than visit Rebecca's which the hotel website refers to. This consisted of two bottles of fruit juice, plunger coffee, 100% arrabica coffee in a jar in the fridge, butter, jams, cereals 2 muesli/cornflakes and a whole sliced white loaf wrapped in a tea towel.

We stayed two nights and on both occasions we ate in the restaurant which was very well patronised and was nearly full on both nights. (Having looked at some of the possible alternatives for dinner - we werent surprised at how busy they were). Apart from the large main dining area there was also a little garden area - where of course the smokers were banished to. We had the fish dish of the day which was lovely, and despite the amount of other guests, was served efficiently and promptly. In view of the area we decided to have fish again for the 2nd night's dinner, 1/2 a crayfish and veg which filled the big plate and cost around £GB 22 each and was delicious. Lucas told us the following day that the hotel sources its fish from a wholesaler in Warrnambool who is supplied from Melbourne, because unfortunately the local boats are not licensed to sell to restaurants/hotels due to health and safety. This seems a great pity that the fish has to travel so far, when it is landed just down the road.

We enjoyed our two nights stay and would recommend the "loft" despite the stairs, which if you have a lot of luggage would be awkward. There are however other downstairs rooms.

Port Fairy gives the impression of being a town of 2nd homes and many of these were for sale at the time of our visit. There is a good surf beach but this does catch the icy blasts from Antarctica and we saw no bathers. Additionally there is the river and its marina which is very picturesque. Protecting the river mouth is Griffitths Island which offers walking trails. We were astounded that local tours are offered to the Codrington Wind Farm; in the UK this sort of infrastructure is certainly far from an attraction!! We drove to Halls Gap in the Grampians in an afternoon and found this a very picturesque area, but be prepared for millions of flies!!

  • Liked — convenience
  • Disliked — accommodation not in the same building as the reception and restaurant and only continental breakfast available
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masterecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hennef, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2007

We stayed in the Victoria hotel for one night when exploring the wonderful Great Ocean Road. The rooms are so lovely and newly done in beautiful old buildings with a lot of charm. Staff is extremely friendly. The restaurant is great as well and serving delicious food and wine. Port Fairy is a cute little town and a good place to stay for one or more nights. We regretted not being able to stay longer in this town and hotel but we were heading up to the Grampians afterwards. Finally a tip: have breakfast at Rebecca`s - it`s great!

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank never_stop_exploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Fairy hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
#1 of 11 in Port Fairy
411 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Victoria Apartments
The Victoria Apartments
#4 of 11 in Port Fairy
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drift House
Drift House
#3 of 11 in Port Fairy
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Port Fairy Motor Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Fairy
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: 42 Bank St, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Port Fairy
Also Known As:
Victoria Port Fairy
The Victoria Hotel Port Fairy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing