We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wish we'd had more time here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merrijig Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merrijig Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Port Fairy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I wish we'd had more time here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were warmly welcomed at this cosy and picturesque old inn, dating from about 1842. The inn is invitingly decorated in a mix of old and new and our room looked out across a verandah to the cottage garden at the front. The back grassed garden contains the vegetable garden with hens softly clucking around and you can see from there across to the river port. It is only a short walk to Griffiths Island, home to a shearwater colony as well as the bluestone lighthouse dating from 1859. Dinner, after a drink in the cosy bar, was in the Merrijig Kitchen with the open fire keeping us warm, an absolutely delicious meal. Elsewhere there were other sitting areas with comfortable sofas and chairs, easy to fall asleep in front of the fire! Breakfast was wonderful, don't miss the caraway seeded rye toast!

Room Tip: Room no 1 on the ground floor was spacious with a small sitting room as well. The queen size bed was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank countrycruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    55
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
163
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castlemaine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at this cosy retreat. Open fire place lit every night . Hydronic heating throughout so a perfect spot for a winter get away. Great location and delicious homemade breakfast with personal service. Convenience of the restaurant attached-a little pricy but great food
Accommodation costs appropriately priced for what you get / the owners certainly aim to please and have set an excellent standard that Port Fairy township should be proud of at a national and international level!
You won't be disappointed!
Castlemaine

Room Tip: We stayed downstairs near the tea room and open fire place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyCastlemaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Everything about this fabulous little inn is wonderful. Superb food in the restaurant, lovely hosts, unbelievable room and facilities, and a great location. The garden room at the rear is the one to have - looking out on the herbs and chooks and hearing the surf.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

A cute town in a nice setting along a harbor. The inn is old and quaint ( all in a good way ). The best part was the rain on a tin roof made for incredible sleeping. We did not eat dinner there, but the menu was quite interesting but the breakfast was a delight. The staff were happy and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John890000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Recently my wife and I stayed here. It is a beautiful looking 2 century old building. The gardens are lovely and there is a chicken coop with these beautiful fluffy chickens whose eggs are used in some of the restaurants meals. The attic room with ensuite was small (we were told that in the 1870's the whole attic was rented out to 20 police officers without ammenities where now 10 people sleep in 5 rooms) but we knew that prior to booking but still more than adequate because the rest of the B&B is where downtime is spent not the bedroom. The breakfast mainly consisted of eggs and bacon, muesli, varieties of stewed fruit, common cereals and home made bread with jams the cover charge of $30 is too steep for this variety. The restaurant is 5 stars the food is "TO DIE FOR" amazing I do not have enough words to describe the quality, my wife and I came out feeling very satisfied and in awe of the Chef, she is a Genius. There a few little things which were annoying, the toilet seat in the ensuite does not stay up, We had made a booking for the restaurant and when we were taken to our table we were in the observatory were breakfast is served and not the restaurant yet when a couple came in without a reservation they were given a table in the restaurant. The toilet seat in the main B&B toilet was broken and appears to have been like that for a while. Like I said little things. I would happily stay here again and would highly reccommend it to anyone. Port Fairy is a beautiful little town and great place to get away from the kids for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Attic rooms are very small if you like a little more space ask for the downstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSister1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I were given a two night voucher as a gift; we loved it so much we paid for an extra night! Brilliant location, just across the road from the Moyne River, and the Merrijig Inn istelf is just a beautiful old building in lovely gardens with gregarious chickens! It is well-appointed, well-decorated and well-run. Breakfast was a joy and Liz was an excellent host. The public lounge areas were relaxing and our room, complete with en-suite, flat-screen TV and garden access was ideal. Port Fairy, itself, is a most picturesque town and the Merrijig Inn complements it perfectly.

Room Tip: If you only intend to sleep in your room, one of the attic rooms may be good for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJK055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Merrijig Inn is the oldest inn in Victoria Australia. It is in the cute fishing village of Port Fairy on the Great Ocean Road.
We spent a wonderful weekend at this inn recently.
The suite we had was lovely. We had our own entry a d whilst still being able to use all the public areas of the inn, we had total privacy, with our very own front door.
The suite comprised a generous bedroom with a very comfy queen bed with lovely pillows and Donna. The bed, pillows and bed linen as well as the towels looked pretty new.
We also had a separate sitting room with a gorgeous open fire and flat screen TV. The bathroom was a tad small, but quite adequate.
Breakfast each morning was quite a treat!
There is a lovely boardwalk just across the road, with great fishing boats moored alongside. Walking distance to all the restaurants and Griffith Island.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Fairy hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
#1 of 11 in Port Fairy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Apartments
The Victoria Apartments
#4 of 11 in Port Fairy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hearn's Beachside Villas
Hearn's Beachside Villas
#8 of 11 in Port Fairy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clonmara Cottages
Clonmara Cottages
#2 of 12 in Port Fairy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrijig Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrijig Inn

Property: Merrijig Inn
Address: 1 Campbell St, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Port Fairy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Merrijig Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrijig Inn, Victoria's oldest Inn, is our special place in Port Fairy.The Merrijig Inn is located in Port Fairy, the jewel of south west Victoria on the Great Ocean Road.The Merrijig Kitchen is our restaurant in our historic dining room. We write our menu daily from seasonal produce, sourced locally where possible from the south-west country-sdie.Our carefully crafted wine list features passionate producers who use bio-dynamic & organic practises and their wine speaks of 'terroir'.The Merrijig front bar is open every day from 4pm so you're welcome to come and enjoy a drink and a chat!Centrally located next to the wharf, the Merrijig Inn is close to all of historic Port Fairy's attractions including galleries, shopping and beaches.We hope you'll join us and enjoy the charm of the hisotric Merrijig Inn!It's exciting for us to be able to host you in one of Port Fairy's most charming buildings - so come share our love of eating great food and drinking delicious wine, and stay a while!Liz & Tanya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Merrijig Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merrijig Hotel Port Fairy
Merrijig Inn Port Fairy, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing