We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B we have found”
Review of Merrijig Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Merrijig Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Port Fairy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Everything about this fabulous little inn is wonderful. Superb food in the restaurant, lovely hosts, unbelievable room and facilities, and a great location. The garden room at the rear is the one to have - looking out on the herbs and chooks and hearing the surf.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 247 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

A cute town in a nice setting along a harbor. The inn is old and quaint ( all in a good way ). The best part was the rain on a tin roof made for incredible sleeping. We did not eat dinner there, but the menu was quite interesting but the breakfast was a delight. The staff were happy and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John890000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Recently my wife and I stayed here. It is a beautiful looking 2 century old building. The gardens are lovely and there is a chicken coop with these beautiful fluffy chickens whose eggs are used in some of the restaurants meals. The attic room with ensuite was small (we were told that in the 1870's the whole attic was rented out to 20 police officers without ammenities where now 10 people sleep in 5 rooms) but we knew that prior to booking but still more than adequate because the rest of the B&B is where downtime is spent not the bedroom. The breakfast mainly consisted of eggs and bacon, muesli, varieties of stewed fruit, common cereals and home made bread with jams the cover charge of $30 is too steep for this variety. The restaurant is 5 stars the food is "TO DIE FOR" amazing I do not have enough words to describe the quality, my wife and I came out feeling very satisfied and in awe of the Chef, she is a Genius. There a few little things which were annoying, the toilet seat in the ensuite does not stay up, We had made a booking for the restaurant and when we were taken to our table we were in the observatory were breakfast is served and not the restaurant yet when a couple came in without a reservation they were given a table in the restaurant. The toilet seat in the main B&B toilet was broken and appears to have been like that for a while. Like I said little things. I would happily stay here again and would highly reccommend it to anyone. Port Fairy is a beautiful little town and great place to get away from the kids for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Attic rooms are very small if you like a little more space ask for the downstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrSister1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I were given a two night voucher as a gift; we loved it so much we paid for an extra night! Brilliant location, just across the road from the Moyne River, and the Merrijig Inn istelf is just a beautiful old building in lovely gardens with gregarious chickens! It is well-appointed, well-decorated and well-run. Breakfast was a joy and Liz was an excellent host. The public lounge areas were relaxing and our room, complete with en-suite, flat-screen TV and garden access was ideal. Port Fairy, itself, is a most picturesque town and the Merrijig Inn complements it perfectly.

Room Tip: If you only intend to sleep in your room, one of the attic rooms may be good for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJK055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Merrijig Inn is the oldest inn in Victoria Australia. It is in the cute fishing village of Port Fairy on the Great Ocean Road.
We spent a wonderful weekend at this inn recently.
The suite we had was lovely. We had our own entry a d whilst still being able to use all the public areas of the inn, we had total privacy, with our very own front door.
The suite comprised a generous bedroom with a very comfy queen bed with lovely pillows and Donna. The bed, pillows and bed linen as well as the towels looked pretty new.
We also had a separate sitting room with a gorgeous open fire and flat screen TV. The bathroom was a tad small, but quite adequate.
Breakfast each morning was quite a treat!
There is a lovely boardwalk just across the road, with great fishing boats moored alongside. Walking distance to all the restaurants and Griffith Island.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights during the Port Fairy Folk Festival weekend.
Extremely pleasant and accomading staff.
We stayed in an Attic Room ... a gorgeous little room with an ensuite. Small but, that is part of the charm of Merrijig Inn, and more than adequate for our needs.
Our window faced the river.... giving us a beautiful view of the wharf and boats.
Tea, coffee etc and beautiful home made cookies are available any time in the cosy sitting room area.
After a relaxing nights rest, we enjoyed an amazing breakfast, using all local produce.
Merrijig is ideally located to the wharf area and easy walking distance to main street.
Great cafes, clothing and gift shops to browse in beautiful Port Fairy.
We recommend this quaint accomodation in the beautiful, Internationally Awarded - "Worlds Most Liveable Community 2012" ... PORT FAIRY!
- Janice & David :) :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had dinner in the restaurant which was nothing short of sensational. Fresh ingredients put together in a really original way. The prices were special occasion prices but we were happy with what we paid, the attention to every detail, flavour and texture was worth every dollar. Seriously awesome.

We booked an attic room with a double bed which was adorable. Quite small but that was part of its charm. Everything was lovely and charming and topped off a wonderful day of great ocean road travel. A gorgeous experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Powertrip72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Fairy
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
#1 of 11 in Port Fairy
451 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Apartments
The Victoria Apartments
#4 of 11 in Port Fairy
396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Drift House
Drift House
#3 of 11 in Port Fairy
112 reviews
13.2 mi away
Best Western Olde Maritime Motor Inn
1 mi away
Clonmara Cottages
Clonmara Cottages
#2 of 12 in Port Fairy
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrijig Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrijig Inn

Address: 1 Campbell St, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Port Fairy
Price Range: $112 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merrijig Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrijig Inn, Victoria's oldest Inn, is our special place in Port Fairy.The Merrijig Inn is located in Port Fairy, the jewel of south west Victoria on the Great Ocean Road.The Merrijig Kitchen is our restaurant in our historic dining room. We write our menu daily from seasonal produce, sourced locally where possible from the south-west country-sdie.Our carefully crafted wine list features passionate producers who use bio-dynamic & organic practises and their wine speaks of 'terroir'.The Merrijig front bar is open every day from 4pm so you're welcome to come and enjoy a drink and a chat!Centrally located next to the wharf, the Merrijig Inn is close to all of historic Port Fairy's attractions including galleries, shopping and beaches.We hope you'll join us and enjoy the charm of the hisotric Merrijig Inn!It's exciting for us to be able to host you in one of Port Fairy's most charming buildings - so come share our love of eating great food and drinking delicious wine, and stay a while!Liz & Tanya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Merrijig Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merrijig Hotel Port Fairy
Merrijig Inn Port Fairy, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing