We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice indeed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Port Fairy
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Very nice indeed”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

This converted ex holiday home is in a great position, river side, in the lovely town of Port Fairy, it's has bags of character and is beautifully furnished.
It's a short stroll from some great restaurants and with its riverside location there are some great walks to go on as well.
Great breakfast as well.
Absolutely wish I was staying here longer and would quite happily recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    92
    26
    10
    4
See reviews for
17
320
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
92 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

A boutique experience generally involves personalized home style service and hospitality touches.

At Oscars, the physical product and location is pleasant, however, there is a distinct lack of personal attention and boutique touches that you would expect at such high prices.

Boutique touches such as a personalized welcome note or a simple in room gift (even a sample of the delicious local chocolate)

Breakfast was pleasant - cooked to order hot items - but no selection of muesli or milks. No fresh fruits. No espresso coffee (even a Nespresso would have been appreciated)

The house features a very nice living room which no one used - during our stay. At this price, wouldn't a complimentary pre dinner glass of wine hosted by the house be a nice touch? Giving it atmosphere that was missing.

All in all an average but expensive experience.


Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank thomas_destinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

A very nice small hotel right on the waterfront. Room was large, very clean and a nice view of the harbor and very quiet. The breakfast was very good. Not much to do in Port Fairy, but it is the end of the Great Ocean Rd and a good stopping point. The hotel made great recommendations for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World_Traveler_DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
279 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We drove the Great Ocean Road before New Years 2013. At the end of the road, stayed in Port Fairy. Loved this place. Spent time just sitting on the porch reading. The breakfast is wonderful. The cookies are irresistible. The staff was great arranging activities, hair appointments for my wife, messages, and dinner reservations. Could not have enjoyed it more.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We really enjoyed staying in this beautiful house right on the estuary overlooking the waterfont.
We were made to feel very welcome, with afternoon tea and cookies and delicious cooked breakfast in the morning.
We highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the back of the house overlooking the waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed here and our rooms had been mixed up by the travel agent meaning me and my brother were left with a double bed to share - Oscars only does double beds. So the manager organised a whole extra room for us at no extra cost which we found to be such a lovely gesture. Everything else was just as good including the lovely loose leaf teas available and the homemade shortbread biscuits on arrival.
The views from the bedrooms and the size of the beds were fabulous!
The breakfast was divine as well and the whole place had a lovely sumptuous relaxing feel to it!
Thanks

Room Tip: Any rooms at the top of the stairs as the views are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
213 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We had difficulty finding the hotel as the sign is vey small and overwhelmed by one for the Belfast Ice Company. There is also very limited parking provision and you may have to park in the street.
We were met by a very pleasant lady who gave us an extensive tour of the hotel and described in detail all that we needed to know.
We had a courtyard room, so no great view. The room was spacious and clean as was the bathroom. No problems sleeping. One thing to note is that there are a lot of stairs to get to the bedrooms, so it makes carrying the luggage up quite arduous.
The public areas are very pleasant and there is some very nice coffee available on demand.
The choice available at breakfast is more limited than you get in most places, but the quality is there. The main course is cooked to order and was very good. The bread is homemade.
Whilst Oscars is very nice it is not cheap, it was the most expensive of the 14 hotels we stayed in during our holiday and the list included some 4 and 5 star hotels in some major cities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnochOllier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Fairy
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
#1 of 11 in Port Fairy
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drift House
Drift House
#3 of 11 in Port Fairy
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Apartments
The Victoria Apartments
#4 of 11 in Port Fairy
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hearn's Beachside Villas
Hearn's Beachside Villas
#8 of 11 in Port Fairy
50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
12.7 mi away
Quality Suites Deep Blue
Quality Suites Deep Blue
#6 of 28 in Warrnambool
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel

Property: Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel
Address: 41b Gipps St, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Fairy
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port Fairy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The prestigious property of Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel has become a well-known weekend retreat and idyllic destination for national and international tourists alike.Located in the town of Port Fairy at the end of the Great Ocean Road, close to the 12 Apostles, Grampians and Coonawarra wine region, Oscars continues to thrive under continued ownership spanning 14 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oscars Waterfront Boutique
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Port Fairy
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel Port Fairy, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing