We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfront haven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Port Fairy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in a waterfront room as we wanted a view of the river and we got it. We could lay in bed and see the river - beautiful way to start the day. The room was comfortable with a small bathroom - nothing over the top - but having access to the rest of the house was lovely - beautiful luxurious drawing room with a fire was great for reading a book in. We also enjoyed an afternoon reading our books out in the sun under the front verandah overlooking the river. Easy access to walks and restaurants. Friendly staff who were discreet but helpful. Fantastic breakfasts and breakfast room. Poached pears were delicious as was all the food.
Would recommend staying here for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieGypsy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 390 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just returned home from our first trip to Oscars and found it to be a fantastic B&B. Perfect location on the river with gorgeous views from the breakfast room and direct access to go for a sunset stroll. We stayed in the Courtyard Suite which was spacious and thoughtfully decorated - not over the top and very tasteful.

You really do feel like you have the run of the house, even when there are others staying there. The drawing room is sumptuous and welcoming with couches you don't want to get out of. We didn't have a problem with the wifi access which was an unexpected bonus.

Breakfast was fantastic - the hotcakes with caramelised banana are delicious and the homemade granola is perfect. Could have sat in the breakfast room forever, eating good food and looking out at the view - what a combination!

We'll definitely be back - can't think of a better place for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pink_bear19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

The location and the facility itself are stunning, the hotel is by the river with direct access to a riverside walk and not far from the beach.
The lounge and breakfast room are spotless and very welcoming, plus we got upgraded to the courtyard suite as honeymooners, a very spacious and pampering accommodation.
Only a couple of points - no wireless available in the suite as it seems it was pointed out in other reviews but when mentioned the owner was surprised it was the case. Also, breakfast was nice with homemade fantastic granola yet the offer quite limited especially if you want a sweet non cooked breakfast and something other then tea or American coffee to drink.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvia_battocchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed in a river view room (staircase access only to second floor) that certainly lives up to the description. Spacious room, very comfortable and attractively furnished. Ensuite bathroom. Large communal lounge downstairs, with complementary tea/coffee and those delicious shortbread biscuits available throughout the day. Excellent breakfast, fresh and tasty: Home made muesli and a selection of hot dishes a la carte. Brilliant.

Room Tip: Choose the river view rooms and Enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harry_Melbourne_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I wish i could live here. Food, service, house, our room, location - a-m-a-z-i-n-g!! It is worth the expense without doubt. The owner recommended a fantastic restaurant (L'Edera) to us and booked it for us (and got us a discount!). She also makes the best breakfasts and home-made biscuits for the tea and coffee in your room. Just wow. Would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatFarrell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stopped here for 2 nights as we completed our tour of the Great Ocean Road. (Incidentally you have to come many miles away from the coast to get to Port Fairy past the delights(!) of Warrnambool so be prepared) Oscars is a wonderful spot on the waterfront in what is a quiet little town. The room we had was at the front of the building with gorgeous views over the boats on the river. Breakfast was also very good with a few welcome twists on the normal offerings.

Room Tip: The Waterfront room is probably the best in the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LammasPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I decided to stay at Oscars based on online feedback and the quality of the images on the website. I was incredibly impressed with everything about Oscars - the welcome, the quality of the rooms, the little extras and the breakfast. I travel every week and Oscars is the loveliest place I have stayed in a long time.

The waterfront setting is fantastic.

It is perfect for short or long stay. I only wish I had stayed longer. Great value.

The website is true to reality.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
3  Thank vic_rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Fairy
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
#1 of 11 in Port Fairy
444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drift House
Drift House
#3 of 11 in Port Fairy
111 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hearn's Beachside Villas
Hearn's Beachside Villas
#8 of 11 in Port Fairy
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Apartments
The Victoria Apartments
#4 of 11 in Port Fairy
394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
12.7 mi away
Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs
Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs
#5 of 28 in Warrnambool
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel

Address: 41b Gipps St, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Fairy
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port Fairy
Price Range: $264 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The prestigious property of Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel has become a well-known weekend retreat and idyllic destination for national and international tourists alike.Located in the town of Port Fairy at the end of the Great Ocean Road, close to the 12 Apostles, Grampians and Coonawarra wine region, Oscars continues to thrive under continued ownership spanning 14 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oscars Waterfront Boutique
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Port Fairy
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel Port Fairy, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing