We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You MUST try the restaurant!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Fairy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2006

We stayed here for just one night whilst touring the Great Ocean Road. Our room seemed huge and had all of the facilities you would expect from a Comfort Inn. The decor was quite dark but the whole building was so in keeping with its attachment to The Stag Inn. Sadly I cannot remember the Manageress's name but her customer service and warm personality were a joy.

We really enjoyed our stay and the highlight really does have to be the meal we had at The Stag. Whilst in Australia we ate at some quite upmarket restaurants but this meal was truly the best. It was a little expensive, however it was all cooked to perfection, eaten in a gorgeous dining room and the service we received from Rachel and her 'Head Chef' husband was a credit to both of them. Neither of us will ever forget the oyster platter!!

We would recommend the Comfort Inn and The Stag to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EmaBod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Port Fairy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 430 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2006

The Port Fairy Comfort Inn is part of what used to be the Stag Inn which is a National Trust listed building. The new build for the main part of the accomodation building is very sympathetic with the original inn.

Welcome is very friendly and all of the staff very good. The room is a reasonable size - the bare brick and dark chintz may not be to everyone's taste. Parking is limited - this is a busy place so get here early. Fridge in room with fresh milk and water. Very comfortable and quiet.

The restaurants in PF are very expensive - we drove to Warrmborul(?) which is 22kms away and has a great range of restaurants, pubs, take aways and supermarkets.

The area around PF is steeped in history and there are some great walks in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AFrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2006

We booked the Seacombe House for a night while driving the Great Ocean Road and it turned out to be the worst accomodation of our three week stay in Australia. As it was New Year, it was quite difficult to find a room as most places were either full or had a 2 night or more minimum stay requirement. The Seacombe seemed a bit expensive at AUS$165 and once we got there it was clearly overpriced and very bad value for money. We stayed in "4 star" motel room, which was very dated (maybe decorated in the 1980s) and certainly nothing like a 4 star - 2 or 3 at the most. This hotel seems to have delusions of grandeur - the restaurant menu seemed very ambitious and was also very expensive so we were too scared to try. Breafast was not very good and we were not offered the hot food that other guests were getting. It is ok as an overnight stop while driving but should be half the price. Port Fairy is a cute little place and worth a stop but there are plenty of roadside motels in nearby Warrnambool that might be better value.

4  Thank traveller1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2006

We stayed here for one night while driving the Great Ocean Road in October 2005. The hotel has lovely gardens all around it, full of flowers. We had a room designed for the handicapped and it was quite large with a queen bed and another single bed. Although the rooms are not fancy (this is a Comfort Inn), they are very clean and you get a view out to the gardens. The room had a minifridge and coffee/tea equipment. The hotel restaurant is actually very fancy (maybe the fanciest in town) so we opted to eat elsewhere (not much open on a Sunday night in a small town). You can walk to the small downtown and out to Mutton Bird Island. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2005

Only stayed the one night on our way through to the great ocean road.

Rooms were very good and so were the staff, wished we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RobertWorcesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ghugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Ursula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Fairy
0.2 mi away
Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Apartments
The Victoria Apartments
#4 of 11 in Port Fairy
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Drift House
Drift House
#3 of 11 in Port Fairy
108 reviews
12.9 mi away
Deep Blue Hotel & Spa
Deep Blue Hotel & Spa
#5 of 28 in Warrnambool
748 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hearn's Beachside Villas
Hearn's Beachside Villas
#8 of 11 in Port Fairy
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Port Fairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Port Fairy

Address: 22 Sackville St | P.O. Box 79, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Fairy
Price Range: $100 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Port Fairy 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Select from a range of accommodation options at Comfort Inn Port Fairy and at Seacombe House, circa 1847, in Port Fairy, arguably one of Victoria's most historic and beautiful towns. All situated at the ocean end of the main street in a quiet garden setting, only minutes to the shops, boutiques, cafes and restaurants, five minutes walk to the historic wharf and Moyne River, and ten minutes walk to the beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Port Fairy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Port Fairy Hotel Port Fairy
Port Fairy Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Port Fairy Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing