We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
Nearby Hotels
$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Victoria Apartments(Port Fairy)(Great Value!)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drift House(Port Fairy)
$281
$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments(Port Fairy)(Great Value!)
$103
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Central Motel(Port Fairy)(Great Value!)
$93
$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$245
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Douglas Riverside(Port Fairy)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveler rating
195
213
50
11
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
213
50
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseacombe housethe great ocean roadhistoric buildingolder partfree wifiguest laundrythe main streetbig roomgriffiths islandone nightfresh milkample parkinglady at receptionmodern bathroomsmall townking size bedgreat room
Filter
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 480 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My wife and I spent two nights in Port Fairy following a drive from Melbourne via Apollo Bay where we stayed in an excellent modern B&B so arriving at an 'Olde Worlde Motel was a bit of a shock: thinking we were back in the UK. We soon got over this as our room no 43 was large,clean and cool. The facilities were good and with the high temperature outside were glad that the room was shaded as we could open the window for some fresh air and not just rely on the air conditioning. Whilst clean,the decor is a bit sombre, the word dowdy springs to mind but this implies something not quite up to scratch.this , however would be unfair. A bit of colour and certainly better lighter would help.
By mistake we had breakfast. Don't. It's not worth it as there are plenty of cafés a few hundred metres away. We didn't eat in the Stag restaurant which forms part of the facility but it looked quite good, choosing instead, 'L Edra (Italian ) and Merrijig Kitchen (modern Oz) as it meant we could take a stroll. The hotel is well located for the 'town' centre, wharf and beaches. My usual complaint on this trip, however, wifi is not free.there is a pleasant grass area in the courtyard with seating under a tree but why oh why allow cars to park on it?

Room Tip: For privacy avoid the cottages as they are on the street although the town is very quiet The modern rooms are spacious
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinWPortFairy, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Port Fairy, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Geoff M

Thank you for your review on Seacombe House and Comfort Inn; I really appreciate your time to provide feedback on our hotel.

I am really happy that you enjoyed our location and garden areas. At times of high occupancy we allow cars to park on the grassed section - believe it or not originally this was a part of the horse stables and guests used to park their horses there overnight!

The hotel is comprised of several different buildings; Seacome House was built in 1847 and has been tastefully decorated in period style with modern touches. The Comfort Inn is a modern property with large spacious rooms.

The room you stayed in 43 has been extensively refurbished since you stayed; we would love you to come back and have a look.

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy breakfast. I will follow up with the staff on the day to see how we could have improved your experience.

Thank you again and kind regards,

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night whilst on the GOR and whilst slightly concerned pre arrival we were pleasantly surprised at what we encountered. Check in was quick, our room accessed directly from courtyard had parking outside. The room had everything we needed including free wifi.
Through our "back door" there was free mineral water unit.
On top if all this, the Stag restaurant served a great three course meal (couldn't face 5 and 7 course menus as already well over weight!)
Well worth the money.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Yorkshire1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinWPortFairy, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Port Fairy, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Yorkshire1245

Than you for your time in completing a great review of Seacombe House & Comfort Inn.

Being a heritage listed property built in 1847, we have maintained the 'olde-world" period features and feel in the Seacombe House section of the hotel, but have also updated its features to include free wifi and flat screen televisions with Foxtel channels. The Comfort Inn section has large modern hotel rooms, that are very popular with both corporate and leisure travellers.

We are lucky to also have the renouned "Stag" Restaurant on site to tempt you, as well as being located in the heart of the Port Fairy CBD and restaurant precinct.

Kind regards,

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed one night here and were really pleased with our room which was very spacious, had all the facilities that one could require and was really clean and nice. We didn't eat in the hotel preferring to explore the small town but would thoroughly recommend this hotel to other travellers. One small complaint- WiFi should be free in all hotels. In 2014 it's as essential as the TV or the towels!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reviewermanSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinWPortFairy, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Port Fairy, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear reviewermanSommerset

Thank you for your time in completing your 5 star review of Seacombe House & Comfort Inn.

We are really lucky to have one of the best locations in town and a vast array of room-types to suit every traveller and budget. Our WiFi internet access now complimentary!

Thank you again and hope to see you again next time you are in Port Fairy.

Kind regards,

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on our journey to Melbourne as it was at the 'start' of the Great Ocean Road. We had a lovely room, one of 3 in the old cottage. Despite being in the old cottage, the room had good facilities and an excellent and modern bathroom. The only downside to the cottage is that the rooms are on street level and have a window on to the pavement outside.
Many of the other rooms look like they were much more basic and functional - an opinion based on outside appearance only but were located off the street.
The staff were friendly and helpful. However, I think they were new to the job and area as they appeared to lack some local knowledge.
There is car parking in the courtyard around which the rooms are located. However, when the hotel is full, there may not be enough spaces, but there seemed to be plenty of street parking close by.
The hotel was also well located with easy walking access to the shops and restaurants of Port Fairy.
The hotel also offered free wifi, which didn't reach our room, and use of washing machine and tumble dryer. We found this latter to be quite useful.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the cottage as the rooms have lots of character
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slatBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinWPortFairy, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Port Fairy, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear slatBH

Thank you for your positive review, I really appreciate your time.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our heritage listed cottages; they were built in the 1850's but luckily we have refurbished them since then! The cottages front Sackville Street, the main shopping precinct in Port Fairy and are large and well appointed.

Our new managers are fantastic and now have extensive knowledge of the local areas around Port Fairy. Being new to the area has given them the perspective of the guests that have not been to our beautiful town before.

Thank you for pointing out the issue with Wifi connection. We have recently upgraded our system to ensure that all rooms in the property have full access.

Thank you again

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I arrived in Port Fairy after a fun drive from Melbourne, experiencing left hand side driving for the first time. The inn is part of a historic building complex. I arrived early (before 2 pm) to find a big room with front & inner back doors. The fridge, minibar, table & big updated bathroom was a welcome sight. The staff was friendly & helpful. You can walk over to the main street & Griffiths Island for a pleasant outing. The inn filled up by nightfall, but the room remained quiet enough. All was clean & in good condition. WiFi worked just fine. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinWPortFairy, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Port Fairy, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear GFreeman

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience with us at Seacombe House & Comfort Inn Port Fairy. I am really happy that you enjoyed our excellent location, refurbished rooms and firendly staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews