We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Ranked #35 of 48 Restaurants in Port Fairy
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Phone (03)55681018.This is a Bistro which is under new management within The Royal Oak Hotel. We had two meals there and we liked the homecooked food and thought it worth a reviewanwexcelent pub meal
Merstham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

It was a bit lick Hobson's Choice as everywhere else seemed to be closed but the meal was very good and nicely served. Good value for money and would recommend it to you all.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frederick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
melbourne / australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“looks like a dump - BUT the food / meals are just fantastic”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

worst looking place in Port Fairy - but the meals / food are so good .They have a beer garden out the back & the staff are very friendly. BUT their meals are just so good & not at all expensive / good value

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dinkydi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Looks are everything here”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Old pub
Old customers if any
Publican interested in the drive thru bottle sop only. Not many locals drink here except for happy hour Friday night. The only 3 or 4.
Decore old and tied. There's 3 other pubs in town

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richardrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great lunch menu”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I had lunch here and they have a good choice with some $10 meals as well. The food was tasty and we liked that we could choose salads or hot vegetables from the self service area which was in cabinets to have with our meals.
A good place to relax and enjoy some good food without it costing too much. We would eat there again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale Victoria
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well, I'll be fished....”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Wife and I each had seafood platter, I had soup entree. Wife's fish grilled, mine battered. Soup was awesome, creamy broccoli. However the main......also awesome. Couldn't eat it all. Thoroughly enjoyable. Some ZZtop LaGrange and some Jimi Hendrix Hey Joe on the juke box, a lovely cold beer and friendly service, all added up to an extremely pleasant visit to the Royal Oak.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Port Fairy, Victoria
Port Fairy, Victoria
 
Port Fairy, Victoria
 
Port Fairy, Victoria
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing