We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable & clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Port Fairy
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable & clean”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

The decor a little 'heavy' but very clean & comfortable. Michael in reception was most helpful. Within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants & attractions.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wazk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    59
    27
    5
    7
See reviews for
18
89
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
544 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This motel is situated within the township of Port Fairy. The large main room was decorated in a rather dramatic classy style in cream and maroon, and included a wooden dining table and comfortable chairs. Our room had a single bed and a queen bed; I understand that rooms with no extra single bed have a sofa as well. The bathroom and kitchenette were rather smaller. The is a motel unit which appears to have everything, including a microwave, toaster and hot plate. There were plenty of soap and coffee type supplies. There were lots of power outlets, and plenty of lights, although the dark shades on the bedside lamps were not the best for night reading. The owners (Greg and wife) were friendly, and all in all this is a good place to be. Good lights and heating, comfortable bed, bracing hot shower - what more could one want?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindyLou105
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Had a nice room and bonus is that wifi access is free. Very nice room with a kitchenette. Hotel set in quiet area of the town but easy walking distance of restaurants etc.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindyLou105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumbi Umbi, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

In this expensive part of the world, this motel offered good value. Our room and bathroom was very clean although the decor was a little dated.
The welcome was warm although we had arrived just after a big weekend (c&w music festival). We would certainly be happy to come back one day.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Average budget motel. Unexciting but clean fairly comfortable rooms and quite adequate for overnight stop

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mal033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Four of us secured a deal at the Ashmont Motor Inn as walk-ins while en route from Adelaide to Ballarat via the Great Ocean Road. It was the first place we passed on getting into town and after a quick look around Port Fairy we went back to see what rooms / rates were available. A lovely lady greeted us (not sure of her name but think it may have been Margaret? ) and said that she didn't have standard rooms left but she had some executive loft-style rooms which we could have for $150per room plus a bottle of wine, we haggled for a bottle per room and the deal was done. We must have chatted for 15 or 20 minutes before we were directed towards to the back of site where the rooms were and she was most concerned that there were leaves in front of the buildings and said she'd get them swept up.

The rooms are like split level apartments, you walk straight into the main living area which has soft seats etc.. the kitchen is in front of you and it looked as though it was well equipped but we didn't do any catering so can't comment. The bathroom was clean and functional with a large shower cubicle with a double headed shower and some toiletries. Upstairs there was a king size bed (with a fake fur throw which I needed as it was a bit chilly when we stayed ) and a wide screen TV plus there was free wifi. There is a balcony leading from bedroom. Overall I thought it was a good deal for the price we paid.

The lovely lady on reception had mentioned during our intial chat that The Victoria Hotel was a good place to eat, so tried it out and she was right, lovely food.

Room Tip: see if you can get deal on the executive rooms, nice little balcony on which to drink your wine
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PorkpieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

A bit old smelling. Very clean. Need a non stick frypan! Couldn't start stove! No matches supplied. Otherwise a very good place, lovely Thia restaurant very close. Heaps of room to move.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joandkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Fairy hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
#2 of 11 in Port Fairy
403 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Victoria Apartments
The Victoria Apartments
#4 of 11 in Port Fairy
360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hearn's Beachside Villas
Hearn's Beachside Villas
#8 of 11 in Port Fairy
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drift House
Drift House
#3 of 11 in Port Fairy
97 reviews
0.7 mi away
Port Fairy Motor Inn
Port Fairy Motor Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Fairy
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments

Property: Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
Address: 47 Bank St, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Fairy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Fairy
Port Fairy Best Western
Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments Port Fairy, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing