We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deep fried seafood!”

East Beach Take Away
Ranked #12 of 49 Restaurants in Port Fairy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food
Restaurant details
Cooma, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great deep fried seafood!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

After reading the reviews in here we decided to give this place a try.
We ordered the butter fish (awesome), the flake fish (great), the scallops (okay), the calamari (good but not great value), and the prawns (delicious).
Seemed strange to have to pay for tartar sauce and ketchup at a fish and chips place... Something I had never seen before.
The people working were all awesome, they were super friendly and helpful. The cashier helped us make our choices and offered advice and assistance even though they were quite busy. We really appreciated it.
A great place to get takeaway and head to the beach!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SheSills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    28
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We went here on the reviews from Trip Advisor and were so disappointed. The batter on the fish was very thick and doughy and the chips were very overcooked. Maybe it was because they were very busy with the holidays but we expected more.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Fairy, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“By Far The Best Fish, Chips and Souvlakis in Western Victoria.”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Fish is fresh tasting with clean olive oil. Chips are crisp with soft centres. Lamb Souvlakis have mouth watering tender diced lamb with a delicious garlic sauce. Owners are of mediterranean descent and it shows in the outstanding quality of the take away food. You can always ring through your order 20 minutes before pick up.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best fish and chips in town”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This fish and chip shop is pretty much always busy and is by far the best fish and chips in town. Grab some good food and picnic on East beach!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank max K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Thought it was going to be good by the amount of trade going in and out when we pulled up and were not disappointed ..staff were a credit despite being swamped by orders and food was fabulous...only in port fairy for the w/end but returned twice for eats..well done on a top effort

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank nan-popb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Beach Take Away also viewed

Port Fairy, Victoria
Port Fairy, Victoria
 
Port Fairy, Victoria
Port Fairy, Victoria
 

Been to East Beach Take Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing