We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere, food ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Star

The Star
Ranked #30 of 48 Restaurants in Port Fairy
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Star of the West Hotel
hobart
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, food ok”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Had a great night here in the bar with very friendly locals and good beer. Food average, but cheap and what you'd expect for pub grub I guess. No complaints. Great if you want a night with the locals with no fuss food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank james196777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    45
    14
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pub meal”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We eat here on our first night in Port Fairy, it was typical pub grub but enjoyable and seemed very popular.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank emmy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Mmmm, lamb & mint”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

While the pecan pie was ho hum, the lamb & abundant buffet was perfect for a chilly day. I went into the restaurant section of the hotel where you order at the bar, then when the plate arrives, head off to the buffet. Good choice of brews to accompany the meal. There is also a real pub in another room.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great band, but average food”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We watched a band (Louise Clancey) who were superb. They had the entire bar dancing, playing great Oz anthems. The food is mediocre (clearly a frozen cannelloni and average chicken Kiev) so whilst we will return for the Craic, we won't be dining here again

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank AustralianOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to promises”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The menu offered some excellent options. However, the Chinese Duck was stringy and tough, while the garlic prawns, although plentiful, were not the freshest and were served with an inadequate amount of sauce (in which I could not detect any garlic at all) for the small amount of hard dry rice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Star also viewed

Port Fairy, Victoria
 
Port Fairy, Victoria
Port Fairy, Victoria
 
Port Fairy, Victoria
 

Been to The Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing