We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten free & friendly service”
Review of Clonmara Tea Rooms

Clonmara Tea Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Irish, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A little bit of Britain located at the end of the Great Ocean Road, Port Fairy.Specialising in true British fare, 40 varieties of loose leaf tea, quality coffee and a variety of wines and beers including British Beers.Regular meals include Ploughmans lunchs, Kippers from Aberdeen, black puddings, Traditional Scottish snd English Breakfasts, Welsh Rarebit, home made pies, Spotted Dick and superb internationally famous scones with pure cream, hand made jam, baked daily.
Emu Plains, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gluten free & friendly service”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Although I haven't visited Clonmara, it has been given rave reviews in the Dec 2013 Australian Coeliac magazine including Chicken Pie, homemade Sausage Rolls and Chocolate Cake..... I can't wait to return to Port Fairy and dine there.f

  • Visited September 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZamEmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Tea Rooms, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We are thrilled!
Yes, we do offer a choice of Gluten free products, both in our tea rooms and our accommodation.
Being a close personal business, we are able to listen to our customers and have worked on developing our own products, especially in this area, to ensure gluten free diners are not neglected.
We very much hope that we may have a visit from you, one day, so that you may experience our dining, personally.
Again, thank you so much for your very supportive comments. The more the merrier!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    24
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solothurn, Switzerland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Lovely Breakfast”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to stop by for some scones on our way out of Port Fairy, but we were pleasantly surprised that they had a full breakfast menu. My husband and I ordered The Highlander and one each of the plain and fruit scones to share. It was a good portion for two adults. The Highlander came with scrambled eggs and they must have used 4-5 eggs because it was loaded (or the eggs in Australia are bigger than in the US and Europe where we come from/live). The scones were fresh and warm when we got them. I enjoyed the plain scone more, but my husband preferred the fruit scone. I am attaching a picture of their menu as I find it is always helpful to see what they have to offer when making restaurant decisions.

We also ordered two different teas and asked for help from the waitresses (sorry, forgot to take a photo of the back side of the menu with the drinks -- but the list was long and I am sure you will find something to your liking). They asked us a couple questions about our preferences and gave us their recommendations -- we were not disappointed.

The service was great and the staff very friendly. They were helpful and attentive. The food also came out quickly.

This restaurant is very quaint with seating limited to about 12 or so inside (mostly tables for two, but can accommodate a table of four). There is additional seating in the garden on a nice, warm day. We arrived in the late morning (close to 11:00) on a Sunday and there were a lot of people finishing up, but the whole place cleared up after we were seated. I could see though how it might be difficult to get a table inside on poor weather days or during normal mealtimes. Note: Tea room is open Wed to Sun and scones are offered all day.

We would both recommend this place as a great way to relax and enjoy some tasty treats.

Helpful?
1 Thank mdyrdek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Tea Rooms, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
What lovely comments. No, only three eggs are used in our scramble mix, but the recipe is a very closely guarded secret, as is the scones recipe!
We specialise in offering a range of meals, different to the other cafes and in particular, we offer old fashioned British food.
We seem to have hit the spot with you. Everyone here is absolutely delighted with your review.
Hopefully, one day, you may have the opportunity to visit us again, as I am sure you cannot have seen everything that the Great Ocean Road area has to offer, in one trip.
Our accommodation is also quite comfortable!
We sincerely hope that you have had a memorable trip to the shores and that perhaps, we have enhanced it just a little bit more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food, but!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

The food was to die for, but we nearly died waiting for it! Ploughmans lunch shouldn't take nearly 45 minutes to appear especially when we were the only people in the place when we arrived. The owners were very attentive at first, but as more people arrived we were left unattended for a long time.
However, when the food finally arrived the presentation was beautiful as was the food. The pickled onions were excellent which they make themselves (pity they don't sell them in their shop).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 51traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Tea Rooms, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
You are absolutely right.
I can only apologise most sincerely on behalf of all of us.
This is not our normal service and I will try to establish what so badly long with the delay.
From what you say, a number of people arrived at a similar time and I can only think, we mucked up in the kitchen!
I am however very happy that the quality and presentation of the meal was acceptable.
Please accept my sincere apologies for an unacceptable delay in meal delivery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Never open”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Probably a great devonshire tea but every time we go there they are closed. Third visit to Port Fairy, different day of the week each time. Won't be trying again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuperDuperCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Tea Rooms, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Oh Dear!
I am truly amazed that a review can even be made concerning trading hours and a low rating at that, without ever having tried the food, service or ambience etc. of the place!
We trade 5 days a week.
We have a large sign on our front door, to the Tea Room and another one on the rear entrance showing the days and the hours.
We are a small personal family business.
It is very disappointing to us, to read your comments and we can only apologise to you, but if you do not read our signs or check our web site or check with the information centre or even phone us, then we probably won't have the pleasure of your company.
More, I do not think we can do.
In our defence, we do note that we do receive significant favourable reviews from happy customers and would still hope that perhaps, you could be persuaded to call in and introduce yourself on one of the more popular days of the week.,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Deserves its 5 stars”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Worth the wait, the best scones and raspberry jam ever. Lovely people and clearly popular, we enjoyed our visit and if in Port Fairy would certainly want to revisit

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RogerAliSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Tea Rooms, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
WOW
Thank you for your rave review.
It is always a real pleasure to receive one of these as we value highly our customer comments.
We make scones fresh to a very old recipe and delighted you enjoyed your time with us.
Come gain soon?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clonmara Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Port Fairy, Victoria
Port Fairy, Victoria
 
Port Fairy, Victoria
Port Fairy, Victoria
 

Been to Clonmara Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing