We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of England”
Review of Clonmara Tea Rooms

Clonmara Tea Rooms
Ranked #17 of 49 Restaurants in Port Fairy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Irish, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A little bit of Britain located at the end of the Great Ocean Road, Port Fairy.Specialising in true British fare, 40 varieties of loose leaf tea, quality coffee and a variety of wines and beers including British Beers.Regular meals include Ploughmans lunchs, Kippers from Aberdeen, black puddings, Traditional Scottish snd English Breakfasts, Welsh Rarebit, home made pies, Spotted Dick and superb internationally famous scones with pure cream, hand made jam, baked daily.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We went here for lunch and happened to arrive just between breakfast and lunch service times (11 to 11.30). The owner took this in stride and offered us the breakfast menu (lots of choice), where the missus and I tried bubble and squeak. We loved the food, and the warm friendly nature of staff was great. Even had time to pet the mascot, which can be mistaken for a shag pile carpet. We sat in the courtyard & it was lovely garden atmosphere.

Def try the scones, as they are awesome! Very relaxed place that we will be coming back to.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LoniuBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for your review.
We have an incredibly small kitchen and due to the heritage aspects of the building, cannot expand, hence the apparant break between breakfast and lunch, which can cause some aggravation.
We are all delighted that you enjoyed the service, staff, atmosphere, not forgetting the food.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to try our menu, next time time you visit Port Fairy.
Again, thank you from all of us for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 115 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

lovely little place, great scones served with homemade jam and cream !! Also some unusual little ink naks sold here too. Staff very friendly.

1  Thank Bernadette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We are very pleased you enjoyed our scones. They are one of the speciality products that we make ourselves fresh daily.
Our shop contines to change almost daily, so if you enjoyed brousing, please, please call again.
We hope we can continue to offer a 'quaint' envirment whilst offer great food and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I loved this place so much, it is easy to see why it is number one on trip advisor for restaurants in port fairy. My husband and I both went for lunch and thoroughly enjoyed what we had. It was incredibly fresh and just delicious. We loved it so much, that we stayed longer and had scones with tea. There was a vast amount of tea to choose from. As we are both British and keen bakers, we were incredibly impressed with the scones, they were so good. For such a small, possibly family run tea room, the service could not be faulted. I was very impressed with everyone that we me there, including the young waitress. This is a place not to be missed in a visit to Port Fairy!

1  Thank lovestravelling162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your review.
We are very proud to have been able to obviously offer you an enjoyable experience.
We all try hard to do what we do best and whilst not always suceeding we do try to treat all our customers as we would like to be treated.
We very much hope you will visit us again and judge us on your not visit.
Again, many thanks for taking the time to offer this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Went here for breakfast and had a lovely meal in the outdoor garden. Food was simple but just right and tea options were numerous. Would like to go back and try some more of the tea and the scones!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Toppee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you for your review.
We all hope that a visit to Clonmara Tea Rooms is a little different to the average cafe in Port Fairy.
We all try to offer service, good food and value for money and hopefully, with a smile!
Please call in to see us again.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

....even if use a jeremy Oliver or bill grainger receive. Great traditional british scones served with real cream and nice homemade jam. A must visit when in Port Fairy.

1  Thank Sebastian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
It is as much the recipe as us that seems to make our scones really rise.
At this time of year, we produce an emormous amount each day, sometimes baking four times in a day.
We sincerely hope you will return to test us!
It is always a thrill to receive a comment such as yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clonmara Tea Rooms also viewed

Port Fairy, Victoria
Port Fairy, Victoria
 
Port Fairy, Victoria
 

Been to Clonmara Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing