We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt ripped off with HIGH Easter rates”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Port Fairy Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Port Fairt
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Felt ripped off with HIGH Easter rates”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We are traveling for 3 months in our van, so we needed a place to stay for the Easter break. We are doing the Great Ocean Road for the first time so we wanted to stay somewhere along the way. We did leave it a bit late to book in for Easter and a few of the parks I rang were fully booked but I after ringing the Big 4 in Port Fairy they suggested that I call the Belfast Cove as they still had availabilities. I did and they did have a spot for us and he said the rate was $73 per night, which I thought was outrageous. I rang a couple of other parks and found that they were booked out as well so we felt that we had no choice but to take the spot. I did comment to the owner that the fee was higher than I expected, to which he replied that the Big 4 was $80 per night!!!! During the course of the next couple of weeks we enquired at every park we stayed and we found that the dearest park was only $55 per night for Easter. Due to this I again rang the owner and checked the rates which he confirmed were $73 per night but he told me that it was because his park had so many extra facilities, i.e heated pool, jumping pillow, camp kitchen.
We arrived expecting to find a park packed with fabulous facilities to warrant the rate, however we found that the van beside us was plugged into our water as they had no water outlet. We used the outlet and allowed him to run his water from our van. We also had no outlet for the power as a campsite behind us was using that outlet. The owner did sort out these issues, but I would have thought they would have been done prior. The park has only 1 - yes 1 set of amenities which was a long way from our site and very busy, sometimes meaning a wait to use the toilet. The park also only had 2 washing machines, which I have NEVER encountered in any park before. We called into another park in Port Fairy and found that their rates were only $43 so after finding that out I really felt ripped off. The park itself is very nice and I'm sure that in quieter times it would be a lovely place to stay, but sadly I won't be staying again because I really feel that they charged way too much. We also asked at the Big 4 in Warrnambool and their rates were only $55!!!!! The owner may feel that a heated pool and jumping pillow may justify his excessive rates, but I would have preferred a closer set of toilets and an extra washing machine!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    23
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
34
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Have just stayed for three nights on a powered site with my husband and two golden retrievers. We were made to feel really welcome with our dogs being given specially wrapped treats when we booked in. The park is beautifully maintained with an abundance of trees and shrubs. Many of the sites have plants on three sides, giving a feeling of seclusion even when the park is busy. The heated indoor pool is the icing on the cake. The park is just a short drive to the beautiful East Beach and town centre. My only regret is that we aren't able to stay longer but we booked all our accommodation in advance of our travels and so have another site awaiting our arrival. Will definately be back.

Room Tip: The sites bordering on camping field give both the feeling of seclusion and space. (Note: I am wri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spriggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca h, Manager at Port Fairy Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank -you so much for taking the time to write such a great review of our park.
We are happy to hear you & your family enjoyed yourself & we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Sometimes things happen for a reason. In late 2012 we decided to holiday in Port Fairy over Christmas and were lucky to get a place at Belfast Cove. Booked purely based on the website and what was available at that time we found a real gem of a holiday destination. The website belies the reality of what Rebecca and Darren have created here. A beautifully landscaped park with shady sites and quaint looking cottages. Belfast Cove is a truly family friendly park run and maintained by people who understand families and what it takes to make a great family holiday. Whilst we were there we stayed at both the powered and unpowered sites with two kids aged 5 and 7. We planned to stay for 12 nights and ended up staying 14 but could easily have been more if we didn't have to get back to work. Darren and Rebecca ran activities every other day with kids stuff on Tuesdays and Thursdays - the Belly Bumpers were a great hit with young and old alike and proved a great spectator sport. The facilities included a camp kitchen, laundry, shower block, jumping pillow, indoor heated pool and office kiosk for the essentials including the morning paper and a coffee. Everything was kept clean and tidy and it was a pleasure to bump into Darren on his usual daily rounds. These guys were tireless in serving there guests and we instantly felt at home on arrival. We would love to keep this secret hideaway to ourselves but Rebecca and Darren's hospitality needs to be experienced by everyone to put life into perspective. Well done guys. We look forward to coming back again. Andy & Diane Duncan

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 6 night stay on a powered site. Everyone who has stayed here quite rightly raves on about the fantastic lawns, trees, shrubs and gardens; they really are everything that people describe and the birdsong is beautiful.

Our tent site had lovely grass and was shaded on 3 sides by mature trees and shrubs.

The cabins are nestled under mature trees and surrounded by shrubs and look fantastic. They have 2 new cabins about to be opened this season that look terrific; very modern and stylishly furnished.

The cleanliness of the camp kitchen and shower/toilet block is a credit to the camp operators and the cleaning staff.

The whole place has a lovely Botanic Gardens look and feel and is such a pleasant change from many of the Big 4 sites that we have stayed at that are often surrounded by high chain link fences, electric boom gates, denuded landscapes to allow cabins and vans to be packed in regimented lines like WW2 POW camps.

Just 2 mins drive to the main shopping area in Port Fairy and a pleasant walk, which takes you past a lovely English style tearooms.

We loved the place and can give it our highest recommendation.

H & J

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank violin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed one night in a ‘Small Standard Cabin’ @ $95 per night (£62). The only alternative offered was a Deluxe cabin @ $135.
Second cabin on the left, by the entrance, named ‘Loch Ard’. Dark wood (cedar) slatted exterior. Small veranda, with a plastic table and 2 chairs. Sliding glass door at side of cabin. (We were told the key was inside and on the table. Indeed it was, and it ensued that the reason the cabin wasn’t wasn’t locked was because the part supposed to be secured to the door jamb was broken half off. I have no doubt that they already knew the lock was broken before we told them. As we were only staying overnight, we didn’t leave our valuables unattended.)
Inside: Round wooden table with 4 chairs. TV and DVD on a high corner shelf. (Door to bedroom)
Kitchen bar : Full cooker with oven, grill and hob. Sink with one drainer. Work surface to right of drainer. 2 cupboards and 1 drawer below counters, 5 cupboards above. Microwave, toaster, 3 pans and equipment for 4 people.
2 wooden bunk beds to right of kitchen bar. Small low settee might seat 3. Small coffee table/magazine rack. Picture of shells. Wall heater.
Bedroom : Open wardrobe with 6 hangers and a shelf above. 1/2 wall mirror. Moth-holes in the curtains. Queen bed, with one tiny night table (very narrow space on other side, with nowhere to put anything). Blanket and bedspread. Another picture of shells.
Sliding door to shower-room : small shower stall with curtain (only just wide enough) and flexible head. Small shelf. Cupboard below small low wash basin. Low mirror above basin. Toilet. 2 bath towels, 1 hand, 1 face cloth and bath mat.
Outside : Quite a pretty park with nice plants and flowers, lots of trees and chirpy little song birds. There is a heated indoor swimming pool by Reception, and a small jumping pillow down at the far end.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank eleanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the first phonecall with the owners I knew this would be a good site. First impressions are on how clean it is, clearly a well looked after site. We stayed in Dusty Millar, one of the cabins, it was clean, surprisingly spacious, well equiped and some lovely touches.
The campsite was full but was quiet and very relaxed. All ages were present and mixed well. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sneakypig5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Port Fairy Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank -you so much for taking the time to write us such a positive review.
We try our very best to keep the park & all our facilities as clean & tidy as possible, so i am glad the cabin was to your satifaction.
We would be very appreciative if you were to recommend our park.
Thanks for staying with us & we would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Great trip with our kids. Nice location but not right on beach,but that is ok as it is a 5 minute easy drive. Very clean, safe and nice park. The indoor pool is great and the park had great guests.......no noise

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Port Fairy Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our park .
We are very lucky we always attract very considerate guests & never have a problem with noise.
We are glad to read your family enjoyed our indoor heated pool, it is always very popular with our guests.
Thank -you for staying with us & we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Fairy hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
#1 of 11 in Port Fairy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Victoria Apartments
The Victoria Apartments
#4 of 11 in Port Fairy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park
BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Port Fairy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gum Tree Caravan Park Port Fairy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Fairy Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Fairy Holiday Park

Property: Port Fairy Holiday Park
Address: 139 Princes Hwy, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia (Formerly Belfast Cove Holiday Park)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Port Fairy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Fairy Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belfast Cove Holiday Park has embraced a name change after many years and will now trade as Port Fairy Holiday Park. This will allow us to further highlight our place within the region we love! Same owners, same location and same great guest experience! Select your own little piece of garden to park your van. Set out the picnic table and the deck chairs in the shelter of the trees. You can’t help but relax into the gentle pace of Port Fairy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Port Fairy Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Fairy Holiday Park Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing