We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, but needs an upgrade”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Port Fairy Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Fairy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Port Fairy Hostel
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great service, but needs an upgrade”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

First have to say that the lady who runs this place is very welcoming and really helpful, pointing out that there was live music in one of the nearby pubs, and a nice walk to take at sunset on Griffiths Island to catch a glimpse of wild wallabies and the Shearwater birds returning to nest.

However, the place itself and the annexes is in real need of a spruce up. I couldn't get my room door to lock, so kept my valuables in the car.

It is clean though, and cheap, so it can be forgiven those faults!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10MC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    21
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
1
17
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We are very impressed by the staff here - friendly, enthusiastic and helpful. Problem with our room was that the curtains could not cover up the windows completely, leaving us exposed to the corridor outside our room and the yard at the back. We didn't like it when there is a privacy problem with the room. There was also a problem with the shower where the water comes really slow and hot water did not come in a constant flow.

The facility in general is OK with a big shared kitchen, but just make sure you check your room before you decide to stay here.

Room Tip: Check curtains and shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmtexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

This is a nice little hostel, the staff are really friendly as ate the other guests. Rooms are quite tiny but well thought out. Nice big clean kitchen to cook in. Location is great.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snibbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

This hostel is a lovely old house that has been converted. It hasn't been renovated for quite some time but it is clean and the kitchen is fully stocked, it even has a stove top percolator for those that like coffee. The best thing about this place is the service, the lady that runs the hostel is very helpful and friendly. Port Fairy is quite small so it is walking distance to most places in town.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliemuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

Firstly I would like to say that the staff at the hostel were fabulous - very welcoming and helpful. The hostel is in an old home andnot much has been done to it in a long time. I was staying in a single room which was pretty much in the roof/attic. It was tiny and stuffy even with the window wide open. I hate to imagine how hot this little room gets in summer.
The kitchen uis quite small but had everything you need.
The bathrooms were in an odd location and in need of renovations.
I was here for one night and that was enough.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emcde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
263 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

We stayed in Port Fairy (suggested by a friend) for a night before touring the Great Ocean Road. This hostel is probably the best deal in town. The staff is incredibly friendly. When we checked in, the guy behind the desk recommended numerous things we could do that night before dark. There is a nice walk nearby where you are sure to spot some swamp wallabies. The room we had was in the old coachhouse behind the main building so it had lots of character. My only complaint was that the walls were pretty thin, so we heard people coming and going as they passed our room and slammed their doors shut. Also the bathrooms were in a different building, but it's very nearby so it wasn't such a big deal.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunsAmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

An intriguing historic building converted for hostel use, this place is literally around the corner from the main Sackville Street drag. It's clear that the owners take great pride in their operation, and we thoroughly enjoyed our two nights here.

Our double room was spacious and clean, with lots of storage and seating, not always strengths in hostels. The kitchen and dining areas could be a bit tight when the hostel is full, but they were well maintained.

The location of the main toilets & showers at the back of the hostel could be a bit chilly for early morning ablutions in winter months, but we didn't find this a problem over Easter. One big positive- there was a proper hair dryer.

Alison (the co-owner) was extremely helpful when checking in and out, and we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaleneAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Fairy hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
#2 of 11 in Port Fairy
403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Apartments
The Victoria Apartments
#4 of 11 in Port Fairy
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Drift House
Drift House
#3 of 11 in Port Fairy
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Motel
Central Motel
#5 of 11 in Port Fairy
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Fairy Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Fairy Hostel

Property: Port Fairy Hostel
Address: 8 Cox Street, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284 , Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Port Fairy
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Port Fairy Hostel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing