We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy country retreat with great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Coach House at The Pheasant
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cosy country retreat with great food”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised at how great this place is, it exceeded all our expectations, we stayed in the John Constable room which is beautifully decorated with amazing views. Diana and James are fantastic hosts and they made us feel very comfortable, the food that James prepares is exceptional, dinner and breakfast was very enjoyable, highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ArdnSuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    56
    14
    7
    8
See reviews for
29
293
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Its very very good - great staff great food and great accommodation !! Need i say more - just book it and give yourself a treat. The rooms are named after explorers and the one I booked had a fantastic bath ))

Room Tip: any one will do !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had a fabulous stay here for one night. Staff were friendly although perhaps not all natural hosts, they still made our stay enjoyable. The cream tea included in our overnight price included the lightest, fluffiest scones we've ever come across. The 5 course tasting menu was delicious with food lovingly prepared and some great advice and consideration of the dietary limitations of those present. Breakfast was similarly splendid with a super array of special treats and some delicious honey, presumably from their own hives.

The room was delightful and benefitted from having been custom-built. No corners missed in the layout and design with a delightful window seat to sit and enjoy the view over the fields at the back of the building. The bed was incredibly comfortable and there were top quality tea and coffee making facilities too with a small fridge with fresh milk if we needed it.

The only let down of the whole night for us was the quality of the wine in The Pheasant which we felt didn't do the meal justice - especially given the exceptionally high standard of the food being served. The Prosecco was a little sweet for our taste, perhaps a personal thing, but we also tried out two of the red wines (Shiraz and Montepulciano) and neither were fabulous despite their usual reliability. For the price-tag attached to both of them (about £20 a bottle, which was close to their bottom end) we expected a slightly higher quality wine. It seemed a real shame that we struggled to find a really smooth and delicious wine to compliment the meal. A minor point that hopefully will get ironed out in time and certainly shouldn't detract from what was otherwise a delightful stay in a warm, friendly environment with lots of super extra-special touches.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ammiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Everything about The Pheasant is fantastic. We had a very warm welcome on arrival and after a 2 and a half hour walk around the local area, we came back and enjoyed a cream tea with the most delicious, light scones we have ever tasted. The five course tasting menu that evening was superb too. The food was fresh and expertly cooked - the best dinner we've eaten so far this year! We were given a lovely, spacious room on the ground floor with super views of the countryside. A gorgeous comfy bed, mini fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and nice lavender toiletries made the room very special.

Within easy driving distance of Lavenham and Long Melford, I would not hesitate to recommend The Pheasant. We'll certainly be returning!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cambridge1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, Kent England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

views from our lovely bedroom are stunning, food is fantastic a very warm welcome by everyone. overall a very relaxing stay. Afternoon tea and parking wine on arrival a unexpected bonus. We could not find fault Fab u loud

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loonyshirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We booked a night with friends through Secret Escapes for a five course taster menu and bed and breakfast. The room was spacious and well appointed with a lovely big shower with lashings of hot water. Our friends had a jacoussi bath which they loved. There was a comfy sofa in the room plus the most enormous comfy bed you could imagine. The meal was very good indeed as was the service. The staff were all friendly and the atmosphere was cosy rather than grand. If I wanted to be picky my only comment would be that I would normally expect more toiletries and tissues in the room when it is 5 star, but we had a really nice stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This really was an exceptional stay with the most friendly 'personalised' service from the start. We were thrilled with the modern, spotlessly clean room which, as with the others, was individually designed and furnished to a very high standard. The 5-course tasting menu exceeded our high expectations and the parsnip and apple soup was an ideal alternative starter course as we are not keen on shellfish. This was one of those rare 'faultless experiences' and the best short break that we've had had for some time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gestingthorpe
4.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,082 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
136 reviews
9.6 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
985 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
123 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Country House
The Old Rectory Country House
#1 of 1 in Great Waldingfield
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House at The Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House at The Pheasant

Property: The Coach House at The Pheasant
Address: The Pheasant Audley End | Nr. Castle Hedingham, Gestingthorpe CO9 3AU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Gestingthorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gestingthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Coach House at The Pheasant 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded Best AA Pub for England 2015 and Pub of the Year for Alistair Sawdays 2015 The Coach House at the Pheasant 5 Star Inn AA rated, offering luxury accommodation on the Essex/Suffolk border. Our charming country pub has an excellent reputation for its fresh, seasonal menu and relaxed atmosphere. Entry into the Good Food Guide and Michelin Guide 2013/2014/2105/2016. James & Diana Donoghue the owners are hands-on every day to make sure that your stay is superb. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Coach House at The Pheasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House At The Pheasant Hotel Gestingthorpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing