We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely view and wonderful reception” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Ard Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Loch Ard Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Port Campbell
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely view and wonderful reception”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

The man at reception was very friendly and helpful to us with all of our needs and questions. He provided us with a dinner restaurant recommendation, which turned out to be excellent. He also had a wonderful sense of humor. We also liked that the hotel has a large selection of free DVDs to loan. We had a fantastic view from our room.

Our only negative was that the WIFI service wasn't working the night we stayed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank April_Mexico_bride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    115
    29
    9
    4
See reviews for
61
122
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

We drove down from Adelaide and spent three days exploring this "Orsum" area of the Victorian coast, we based ourselves at the Loch Ard Motor Inn. Our unit was right on the corner with views of the harbor, the pub across the road done the most Orsum meals. In fact the profile picture for this place would of been taken from our balcony.
This is a really nice wee town with a good choice of eateries, accommodation and easy access to walking tracks or just a great place to relax, we were able to travel in all directions to sample the various fares on offer.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper get a unit further back off the road, this front unit is literally on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 321Karlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

One night stopover on way to Twelve Apostles. Motel room was much nicer and bigger than anticipated. Nice view of bay from front verandah, and only short walk to restaurants and park walks (actually, everything is only a short walk because Port Campbell is a tiny place.). No wifi available which was a pain, but overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muffy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night on our way through and it was fabulous, right in the heart of the town, perfect location for a walk to all the local restaurants. Our room had a lovely relaxing spa for two, and a balcony deck to watch the sun set, perfect!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dazzaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Impression – we booked with another motel but got moved here as there was a problem with our first place. Online it doesn't look great but was more impressed when we got there.
Staff – Margaret was really helpful and approachable and answered any question we threw at her.
Location – brilliant, right in the centre of town. About a 15 min drive to the 12 apostles.
The room – large, with a kitchen and a side room for our baby. TV and sofa (and DVD player). Room was very basic and needed a refresh. Clean and tidy. There was a fly problem as on entering the room there was at least 30 flies, but after we sprayed they didn't come back. I think this is a problem with the town rather than this specific room. The bed was not that cosy as you could feel the springs.
Value for money – Not great. Don't know if it was because we booked with another place or because it was easter but $250 was too much for the basic accommodation but we didn't have a choice.

Nice staff, great location, clean place but looking a bit dated.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maap1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DF
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

They take advantage of their location but the room looked outdated and what was worst was the bathroom with somewhat of a bad smell that you would not expext for AUD 150 per night. I would look around for other options. Wifi worked ok and the lady at reception was ok.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank MexMoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here overnight on my way to apollo bay the room was $190 for a standard room, the hotel rooms are clean but not worth $190 , they are outdated and are in bad need of renovation the TV in the rooms are tuned into NT channels weird!
The receptionist on the front desk just laughs at everything and comes across sarcastic, I think she has worked here for too long.
They charge your credit card before arrival without authorization from you and don't even give you a receipt for it. The reply in this town about the over pricing on everything is It is Port campbell this response is giving your town a bad name, stay somewhere else like Lorne or Warrnambool if stopping on the great ocean road. The only thing in port campbell is the ocean view this town is taking advantage of tourists! If you stay off peak you may get a room a little cheaper we would not stay in port campbell again!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BekShan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Campbell hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Campbell Great Ocean Road Motor Inn
0.4 mi away
Port Campbell Motor Inn
Port Campbell Motor Inn
#4 of 11 in Port Campbell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
6.3 mi away
Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waves
Waves
#9 of 11 in Port Campbell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Portside Motel
Portside Motel
#1 of 11 in Port Campbell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Port Campbell Parkview Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ard Motor Inn

Property: Loch Ard Motor Inn
Address: 24 Great Ocean Road | 18 Lord St, Port Campbell, Victoria 3269, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Campbell
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Port Campbell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loch Ard Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Loch Ard Motor Inn is a stylish modern motel set in beautiful gardens with absolute beach front position. each suite has stunning ocean views and private balconies, a/c, private bath room, kitchenette, wifi broadband to each room. we are 50 meters from a safe swimming beach, restaurants, shops, cafes and super market and the 12 apostles is only 10 min drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Loch Ard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Ard Motor Hotel Port Campbell
Loch Ard Hotel
Loch Ard Motor Inn Port Campbell/Great Ocean Road, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing