We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private, close to sights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Port Campbell
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Private, close to sights”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We arrived quite late in the evening so it felt like ages driving up a long country lane in the dark. We checked into a cottage which was quite the rustic experience; the only detraction was a couple of spiders above the bed and also we had trouble even opening the front door as the door did not exactly fit the doorjamb and initially thought we were given the wrong key.

Beautiful valley view and the owner was great with giving us suggestions for sightseeing. Also really close to the 12 Apostles lookout. If you like "country-style" accommodation, this would be a good place for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onejump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    52
    26
    11
    5
See reviews for
29
58
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We only stayed here one night and in my opinion was great. The host were so friendly and recommended a few places we visited during our short stay in Port Campbell. We stayed in the motel style unit and was clean and well maintained. Great value for what we paid and recommend this little gem close to all the fantastic attractions.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luzelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

I was traveling with family and booked a cabin the morning we were planning to stay. The two bedroom cabin (for 3 people) cost $155. The gravel road leading up to the cabin is like an old washboard, so you will have to drive slow or risk rattling the fillings out of your teeth. The cabin is not particularly flashy, but it was very nice and clean. We were able to use the kitchen to cook dinner which was key since there weren't many places to eat in the area. The only critique I have is that the windows did not have fly screens and since it was a little bit warm, I had to choose between being too hot and being eaten by the giant mosquitoes in the area. The sunrise the following morning was an unexpected treat. The yellow and red sky went on for about 2 hours, coming up over the paddock with sheep, cows and horses. It was just spectacular and made for a great start to a really nice day.

Room Tip: The cabins which face the paddock is ideal for sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casterton, Victoria, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

A group of us stayed in the cottages they were very clean & comfortable. The food from the restaurant and service were excellent, the owners went over and beyond our expectations to make it a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

If you are expecting 5 star luxury and all mod cons then this place is not for you. However, if you are OK with driving a couple of km up an unsealed road and want good, honest hospitality very close to the highlight of the Great Ocean Rd then book now. We stayed in one of the cottages in the adjacent field and it was very comfortable, if somewhat dated. The cottage ws serviced daily. The restaurant service was friendly, the food was simple and came in generous servings. Our only complaint would be that the "solar heated" pool was freezing !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed in a little cabin that faced out into the countryside - the fittings and decor were a little tired but perfectly adequate for a night and there is no-where closer (unless you have a full-facility camper van) if you want to get to the 12 apostles in time for sunrise, which is why we were there. There was a kettle, fridge and microwave so if you come prepared you can have a lovely breakfast on the verandah once the sun is up.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparklebcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Good location. Gas station and resturants are only 15 minutes. 5 minutes walk for heli tours and twelve apostles viewing point. Not very clean. But livable rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aseila f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Campbell hotels
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Campbell Great Ocean Road Motor Inn
6.2 mi away
Port Campbell Motor Inn
Port Campbell Motor Inn
#4 of 11 in Port Campbell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
6.2 mi away
Portside Motel
Portside Motel
#1 of 11 in Port Campbell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Port Campbell Parkview Apartments
6.4 mi away
Loch Ard Motor Inn
Loch Ard Motor Inn
#2 of 11 in Port Campbell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sea Foam Villas
Sea Foam Villas
#8 of 11 in Port Campbell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat

Property: Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat
Address: 314 Booringa Rd, Port Campbell, Victoria 3269, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Campbell
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Port Campbell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 8 acres, 3 kilometres directly inland from the famous Twelve Apostles. Come and enjoy our country retreat with truly Australian hospitality in peaceful relaxing surroundings. We have motel units, 2 bedroom family units and self contained cottages available with country and valley views. All units have en-suite bathrooms, air conditioning/heating, microwave, toaster, tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. We have an indoor pool, BBQ facilities and children's playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
12 Apostles Motel & Country Retreat
Twelve Apostles Motel And Country Retreat
Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat Hotel Port Campbell
Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat Port Campbell/Great Ocean Road, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing