We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stop”
Review of Portside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portside Motel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Campbell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed there just one night with my parents, but we loved it! It was a nice stop along the Great Ocean Road! Room was really comfortable, parking is available, we had a really nice welcome, receptionist was really helpful

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 341 of 641 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

Booked a spacious room for me and my parents, clean everywhere.
The reception lady is quite helpful and hospitable. I will highly recommend it to my friends.
The only complain if I have to give one is the desk lamp. The switch button is hidden so well that my dad spent 5 mins to find it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yiqunc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed 1 night during out tour of the Great Ocean Rd. This was the best of the 3 motels we stayed - comfortable rooms, very tidy and clean. Close enough from town to walk there (2mins), far enough away to avoid the noise. Got great tips as to how best see the 12 Apostles (or it is 7, or 15?) which really helped. Absence of swimming pool a minor inconvenience, but still excellent value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Bit puzzled as to why this had so many good review, it's a bit like sleeping in some ones garage breeze block walls no headboard. It was clean , the towels very small and take your toilet paper theirs is so thin it's hopeless. We couldn't recommend it and we wouldn't stay there agin.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TommyCPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsidemotel, Owner at Portside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Hi TommyC.
We were very surprised to read your review.
The walls in the rooms are made of large natural stone blocks (Mt Gambier limestone) which are light in colour and have a natural texture to them. We have never heard of them being described as breeze blocks or brickwork that appears like someones garage!!! All the photos of our motel on all the booking sites we believe, reflect a true representation of what our motel looks like including the limestone walls. We can only assume that you didn't take notice of the images of the motel when booking online.
We are pleased that our high standards of cleaning were apparent to you. We take great pride in how clean our rooms are. We can only assume that you must have used the two bath mats as towels (found hanging in the bathroom) because our blue bath towels are much larger (67cm X 147cm) and are found beside the beds.
We are sorry to hear that your experience at Portside Motel wasn't as pleasant as you would have liked but we do understand that all guests have different tastes and that our motel may not appeal to some.

Kind regards
Josie McInerney
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had a great night in Portside Motel, comfy and quiet. Though we arrived late, and couldn't contact the motel before we arrived, we found everything had already been ready for us. The room was nice, Josie was friendly and helpful. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We booked two rooms at this motel and we where very pleased with our rooms. The owners put next to each other and we where able to sit together on one patio for drinks and nibbles. The rooms where spotless and very comfortable one even had a bath. The hotel is within easy walking distance of cafes, pub etc for breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The room was spacious and Quiet. Jose was very helpful in advising us on local facilities and sights. I especially appreciated the advice on when and where to see the 'twelve' apostles and her local knowledge.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Campbell hotels
0.1 mi away
Port Campbell Motor Inn
Port Campbell Motor Inn
#3 of 11 in Port Campbell
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Great Ocean Road Inn
6.2 mi away
Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Waves
Waves
#9 of 11 in Port Campbell
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Port Campbell Parkview Apartments
0.3 mi away
Loch Ard Motor Inn
Loch Ard Motor Inn
#2 of 11 in Port Campbell
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Motel

Address: 62 Great Ocean Road, Port Campbell, Victoria 3269, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Campbell
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Campbell
Price Range: $110 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portside Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portside Motel offers 10 modern motel units and 1 two bedroom family apartment and is located only 250m from the centre of the Port Campbell township and only a short 8 min drive to the famous 12 Apostles. The well-appointed units have everything you need including comfortable queen size beds, TV, video/DVD player, A/C, private en-suite, and private verandas overlooking tranquil gardens. All units are ground floor with parking at the door. Laundry & wireless broadband internet available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Portside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Motel Port Campbell/Great Ocean Road, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing