We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm service and nice location”
Review of Portside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portside Motel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Campbell
Certificate of Excellence
Hangzhou, China
1 review
“Warm service and nice location”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We booked one 2 bedroom apartment in this motel. When we check in, we found we are the only guest who driving a car, and the whole parking lot belongs to us that day.
The motel's owner Josie was a very very Very nice guy, she offered us the best she can.
The room was clean and suitable, we got a free WIFI as well.
The location is good, Police station is in front of us( if you need some help, LOL). Petrol station, supermarket, restaurant, information center, 3 mins on walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    265
    34
    8
    1
See reviews for
176
338
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews Beach, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Port Campbell is a cute town and our motel was very comfortable and quiet. There was a nice outdoor area attached to the room where we enjoyed a pre-dinner drink. The room was well appointed which made it easy for us to do our own breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at portside motel Port Campbell and have nothing but praise for the whole setup. The unit we stayed at was very clean and very comfortable with all amenities supplied. It was ideally located and Josie and John were more than obliging with any information regarding places of interest and places for dining.
Linda and Brian
Perth wa
17/03/2013

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday_afta_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The most friendly and considerate hotel we have experienced...they'll greet you a week before your stay by email, and although the room is not big, everything in the room is neatly placed and handy... the only annoying thing maybe the TV, it will shut down automatically every 50 munites--the hotel informed us about this, but still annoying.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was a perfect spot to stop for the night after a day of sightseeing on the great ocean road. We had another great day the day after our stay as well. The owners were friendly and helpful with restaurant suggestions and directions to secluded great ocean road spots like wreck beach. The only small draw back was the 5 minute walk into the heart of Port Cambell.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCW132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after reading other reviews and well worth it. Owners very helpful and friendly. Clean comfortable rooms. Quiet even though on main road. A good find. Easy to walk to shop and restaurants. Recommend the pub bistro for lunch.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceemee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a room right next to the road. I felt every truck that rattled by. The rooms were ordinary. Very very basic. We found an unmentionable item under the bed - obviously not cleaned or not cleaned well.The manager was friendly enough but was not around at night to hear our concerns, and we left early the next day so could voice our distaste. Over priced and very ordinary lodgings. I am generally an easy going kinda guy, but this was hard work. I am sure there is better - I am only sorry we didn't look around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsidemotel, Manager at Portside Motel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hi Kev. We were very surprised reading your review. Port Campbell is a very quiet town and trucks are not allowed through the town along the Great Ocean Road at any time especially through the night.
We pride ourselves on how clean our rooms and motel is so once again we were shocked to read that your room was unclean.
We are wondering if you stayed in another town and have mistaken our motel and location. We would very much like you to contact us so we can confirm that you stayed at our motel and if so would very much appreciate to hear your concerns personally so we can rectify any of these issues in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Campbell hotels
0.1 mi away
Port Campbell Motor Inn
Port Campbell Motor Inn
#4 of 11 in Port Campbell
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Great Ocean Road Inn
6.2 mi away
Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Port Campbell Parkview Apartments
0.3 mi away
Loch Ard Motor Inn
Loch Ard Motor Inn
#2 of 11 in Port Campbell
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Foam Villas
Sea Foam Villas
#8 of 11 in Port Campbell
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Motel

Property: Portside Motel
Address: 62 Great Ocean Road (Lord St), Port Campbell, Victoria 3269, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Campbell
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Campbell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portside Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portside Motel offers 10 modern motel units and 1 two bedroom family apartment and is located only 250m from the centre of the Port Campbell township and only a short 8 min drive to the famous 12 Apostles. The well-appointed units have everything you need including comfortable queen size beds, TV, video/DVD player, A/C, private en-suite, and private verandas overlooking tranquil gardens. All units are ground floor with parking at the door. Laundry & wireless broadband internet available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Portside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Motel Port Campbell/Great Ocean Road, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing