We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best weekend ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Daysy Hill Country Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Geel, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best weekend ever!”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Hidden Waterfalls, Rough ocean, Sunset beaches, encouraging church. Daisy Hill was the perfect place to rest, the spa, view, wood fire, friendly hosts completed the weekend as the best ever!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisAngel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    47
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
36
55
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

My fiancé and I stayed in the Romantic Retreat, at the Daysy Hill Country Cottages. The location was fantastic and check-in and check-out were hassle free.

However, the cleanliness of the rooms was not satisfactory. There were many cobwebs & spiders throughout the suit which was not very relaxing.

I sent the owner a feedback email just so they are a little more careful of this in future, only to be patronised. The owner did not take responsibility for the cleanliness and explained to me that she is not personally responsible. I think, as an owner of something like this, you should take ownership that a guest was not satisfied and use this as constructive feedback instead of being defensive.

I would be very reluctant to recommend Daysy Hill Country Cottages.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felixbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0355986226, Owner at Daysy Hill Country Cottages, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
In response to the above comment we must assure our guests that we take the utmost care for a high standard of cleaning and we are often complimented on this.
We do not fumigate our buildings as we are aware of the dangers of chemicals .
Insects are part of life in the country and could appear in the most fastidiously cleaned property.
We inspected the suite immediately after the complaint and could not see the cobwebs that the guest referred to.
We have had a great number of positive comments about our property and the enjoyable stay that our guests have had and are of course extremely disappointed that this negative report has been made on our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

We drove down the Great Ocean Road from Melbourne to Port Campbell and stayed at Daysy Hill Country Cottages for one night.

Even though we were a bit late reaching, the owner was there to check us in and again made himself available early the following morning for our check out. While the location is a bit out of Port Campbell itself, it is ideally placed for a look at the Twelve Apostles, which are only a couple of minutes away by car.

It is also a short drive into the town centre, so located ideally for both.

The cabins are large and comfortable. Each bed/bunk has its own heater. The kitchen and licving areas are spacious and we didn't feel cramped at all.

All in all a very comfortable stay at the end of a long day.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chatur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

The town of Port Campbell has its claim to fame as a result of the beautiful coastline with the 12 Apostles. The Daysy Hill cottages are situated a short drive inland and up-hill. It is a collection of S/C cottages, cabins and suites. We stayed in one of the suites (upgraded from the booked cabin) and were very pleasantly surprised. The suite was large with a kitchen, good en-suite and deck. Everything was very clean and well decorated. A very pleasant place to stay and easy to enjoy the countryside and the wonderful coastline from there.
Port Campbell, however, is not an interesting place to visit. We had easily the worst dinner ever in a restaurant in Australia in the 12 Apostles Restaurant. It had a nice view over the harbour, but that was all it could claim. The nearby town of Timboon was a lot better with a nice Cheese shop and excellent restaurant in the old train-station.
Daisy Hill Cottages is a very nice place to have as a base to enjoy the fantastic scenery of the coastline.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank expat_sealover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

stayed here for a night whilst travelling down the Great Ocean Road, we had booked the cheapest room but had been upgraded when we got there to one of the suites, which was lovely. Very friendly on check in, and showed us where to go for dinner, good selection of rental DVD's at the reception - we watched Marley and Me!

The room was very nice, big double bed, small kitchen with free tea/coffee/milk etc. Bathroom clean and well presented with a good shower.

Air-conditioning which was very welcome! Good distance to the 12 apostles (about 10-15 mins drive), so perfect location.

about 3-4 min drive into the town, which had plenty of eating options, but not much nightlife (which is why we watched Marley and Me!)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fudge7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2010

We stayed there one night during our trip along the Great Ocean Road in a Delux Cabin.
Easy and quite place. All required things are available. Kids had fun there.
As location is quite near to Port Campbell it's easy to move back to the ocean road for sunset/sunrise or to have dinner.
We really enjoyed the stay there.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4_On_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

Booked Daysy Hill for 2 nights - stayed in the basic 2 bedroom cottage - good rate when compared with Apollo Bay if you want 2 bedrooms - yes, you do need a car, only a few minutes from centre of town though.
Very clean, satillite TV, DVD player and AC for hot and cold and electric blankets. Well equipped kitchen with large fridge and cooker but expect to wash dishes and return to cupboard or cop an extra fee - can understand this to some extent.
Port Campbell is much quieter than Apollo Bay but much closer to the main sites of the GOR for sunsets - also means that accomodation tends to be more affordable especially when wanting more than 1 bedroom. Good choice of wines in the local store and enough food choices to prepare your own. We had a mix of eating out and bringing take away pizza back.
Highly recommend Daysy Hill for a quiet stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lomboktoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Campbell hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Great Ocean Road Inn
0.7 mi away
Port Campbell Motor Inn
Port Campbell Motor Inn
#4 of 11 in Port Campbell
215 reviews
6.2 mi away
Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anchors
Anchors
#1 of 9 in Port Campbell
172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portside Motel
Portside Motel
#1 of 11 in Port Campbell
622 reviews
0.8 mi away
Port Campbell Parkview Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daysy Hill Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daysy Hill Country Cottages

Property: Daysy Hill Country Cottages
Address: 2585 Cobden-Port Campbell Rd, Port Campbell, Victoria 3269, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Campbell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Port Campbell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daysy Hill Country Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a range of accommodation to suit all travellers.Our property is clean and comfortable.We have a lovely location just on the outskirts and looking out over the township of Port Campbell.We are surrounded by green rolling hills and our cottages, cabins and suites are positioned to take in the views.We are very close to the town, the Great Ocean Road and to the spectacular coastal scenery all around us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Daysy Hill Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daysy Hill Country Cottages Port Campbell/Great Ocean Road, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing