We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great area”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Campbell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sounds of the Sea B&B
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay, great area”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Maxine has created a very warm, cosy and eclectic little B&B. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast was wonderful. The wood fire was also very welcome at the end of a cold, wet day. The sights of the Port Campbell area are also breathtaking, we even saw the penguins at London Bridge!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
35
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We only spent one night here but it was great. There are only two rooms available but the night we stayed we were the only couple there and so had the choice of either and were able to enjoy the lounge room to ourselves for the evening. Maxine, the host, was very accommodating and gave recommendations as to restaurants in Port Campbell as well as sights around the town along the GOR. The cooked breakfast was delicious. The house is well decorated and both the room and the bathroom were spotless. All in all we were very glad to have chosen to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChetnKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Great Ocean Road is a spectacular experience, but it is a LONG day trip from Melbourne (4.5 hour's each way and that's just the driving with no time allowance for stopping and revelling in the views) Sounds of the Sea is a perfect base from which to really maximise your enjoyment of this visual delight. We spent the first afternoon upon arrival exploring beyond Port Campbell, towards Peterborough and the Bay of Islands - mesmerisingly spectacular coast with massive, powerful swirling oceans. Such a comfortable overnight with Maxine, as described so well by others, and one we will definitely repeat. Then a glorious day's exploring of the Twelve Apostles, and the more gentle but none the less beautiful coast east of the Otways and back to Melbourne, all fortified by a delicious breakfast and a comfortable night's sleep!

Room Tip: Maxine has two rooms, and I only saw the one, but her house is funky and altogether enchanting.This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123snooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The welcome we received from Maxine (and her son) was very warm. We felt at home right away.
And the place is gorgeous. You can stroll in the garden and look at is beauty and diversity of plants and flowers for hours. Can a stay and welcome at a B & B be better than our stay at Maxine's B & B? We doubt it!
A place to be and we should surely recommend Sounds of the Sea to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjolein R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Idyllic B&B with comfy bed, homely and warm living area, great hostess and fulfilling breakfast. Perfect for a get-a-way (preferably romantic) along the great ocean road. Only regret was not being able to stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calumrbferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrnambool
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We are Victorian people and very familiar with the landscape so location was not essential to us. Mind you it was an easy walk to town . We drove to the b and b and was a bit like stepping back into country comforts of my grandmother. The lounge was full of creature comforts and decorations lovingly collected over time. The bedroom was small but immaculately clean and comfortable. We had the place to ourselves and it was great but I suspect it would be preferable to share the lodgings with friends as you will be sharing television and lounge with neighbours. The host was delightful and welcoming and I loved the eclectic nature of the place. I would recommend an apartment , however, if you prefer modern lines and expansive views.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritawbool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Sounds Of The Sea is a small B&B offering two rooms. It is slightly confusing, though, trying to work out what is your room, what is shared with the other room, and what is private.

Actually, the rooms themselves are very small - big enough for a bed and with ensuite bathroom. There is then a large living and dining area with all sorts of Central Asian decoration - this is shared with the other room and has its own entrance to the car park. Then there is a kitchen which is private but which the landlady, Maxine, invites you into. I am sure this is intended to be hospitable but it is actually quite disconcerting because guests don't know just how much privacy they are supposed to have.

The B&B itself is comfortable if rather expensive. It is situated on the edge of Port Campbell, three or so blocks away from the sea. This is not a problem as Port Campbell is small, but some may prefer a sea view.

Maxine was very hospitable and provided a good breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable. There was a friendly dog on site but it didn't come into the guest side of the property.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Campbell hotels
0.2 mi away
Port Campbell Motor Inn
Port Campbell Motor Inn
#4 of 11 in Port Campbell
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Great Ocean Road Inn
0.1 mi away
Portside Motel
Portside Motel
#1 of 11 in Port Campbell
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Loch Ard Motor Inn
Loch Ard Motor Inn
#2 of 11 in Port Campbell
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Port Campbell Parkview Apartments
0.3 mi away
Sea Foam Villas
Sea Foam Villas
#8 of 11 in Port Campbell
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sounds of the Sea B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sounds of the Sea B&B

Property: Sounds of the Sea B&B
Address: 37 Pitcher St, Port Campbell, Victoria 3269, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Campbell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Port Campbell
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Sounds Of The Sea Bed And Breakfast
Sounds Of The Sea Hotel Port Campbell
Sounds Of The Sea B&B Port Campbell/Great Ocean Road, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing