We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Campbell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sounds of the Sea B&B
perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I booked accommodation via phone, Maxine immediately appeared that she was a wonderful generous lady, offering to meet me at the Apostles Visitors centre at the completion of my 5 day Great Ocean Walk. True to her word she phoned me near the completion of my trek concerned re my whereabouts.
Her home was a delightful end to a great trek. I felt totally relaxed and 'at home' in her company. Everything was just fantastic. The breakfast was a rare treat, and wasn't biased from living on track food for the previous few days. Maxime's breakfast was indeed good.
Without hesitation I commend Maxime's B & B to all, especially trekkers looking for that bit of special comfort after days on the track.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
35
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hobart/Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stopped here for a night on a week long tour of the GOR and Grampians. Maxine is a wonderful host and made us feel very welcome in her homely and relaxing B&B. We enjoyed sitting in front of the wood-burner reading some of the books about ship wrecks in the living area. You can order breakfast the night before and will be treated to eggs from the owners own hens. We hope to stay here again and would recommend without hesitation to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

This is a fabulous Bed and Breakfast. Maxine is a wonderful hostess, and we enjoyed our stay immensely.

The B & B is less than 15 minutes drive from the 12 Apostles on the Great Ocean Road. It has off-street parking, and is in a very quiet location.

The accommodation is cosy and warm, with a fireplace and many, many curios. There are two bedrooms, each with their own bathroom as well as the shared area. The bed was very comfortable.

Breakfast was a choice of continental or cooked and was delicious. The variety of jams, marmalades and preserves is incredible.

A great place for dinner is the Bombora Beach Bar on the corner of Great Ocean Road and Cairns Street. The food there is delicious and well priced.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoozle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

It was such a pleasure to meet our host, Maxine, and stay in her lovely house filled with interesting and beautiful reminders of her travels. The living arrangements were ideal for the four of us (my husband & me, my son & his girlfriend): after spending hours walking along the gorgeous coast, we were able to come back and relax by the fire in the sitting room shared by the two bedrooms. Extremely restful and almost like having our own little cottage, but with Maxine there to make us delicious breakfast! Yes, the rooms and the bathrooms are on the small side, but perfectly comfortable, clean, and private, as Maxine lives in her own section of the house. We felt fortunate to stay in a real home rather than a sterile travel accommodation.

Room Tip: You can ask for the larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank secluded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

This wooden house is quaint, cosey and very homely. The guest lounge has TV, a wood burning stove (very hot) and all together very relaxing.
The bedroom was very nice with lots of cotton drapes, bathroom small with shower, sink and toilet.
The owner was very friendly. If you are looking for a homely place to stay this would fit the bill. If you want style and sophistication then look elsewhere.
The cooked breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night during our trip down the GOR on our honeymoon. We were delighted at how warm and cozy the cottage was. Maxine was very welcoming and made spectacular breakfast! I loved her tea and wanted to take some to go to which she gave me 2 of her own mugs for me to keep and take on the road. Everything was clean and tiddy! Would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amc0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

This is a lovely little place. We arrived after dark and received a warm welcome from Maxine. We stayed in the blue room with the very comfortable Queen sized bed and the room was clean, neat, cosy and traditionally furnished. The bathroom was a little on the small side but adequate for what was required. The communal lounge area had a log fire burning, a TV and a very comfy sofa which made for a relaxing evening after a day enjoying the sights along the Great Ocean Road.

Port Campbell itself is very small with only a handful of shops and restaurants/cafés. We were there in April and found that some of the places did shut quite early in the evening – I think the supermarket/post office closed at 7pm so stock up on supplies here while you can. It’s a pleasant enough place to stop for the night on your journey but offers little by way of entertainment and is far smaller than somewhere like Apollo Bay.

Overall this was a pleasant place to stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golem11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Campbell hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Great Ocean Road Inn
6.1 mi away
Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat
0.1 mi away
Portside Motel
Portside Motel
#1 of 11 in Port Campbell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Loch Ard Motor Inn
Loch Ard Motor Inn
#2 of 11 in Port Campbell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Port Campbell Parkview Apartments
0.2 mi away
Port Campbell Hostel
Port Campbell Hostel
#1 of 9 in Port Campbell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sounds of the Sea B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sounds of the Sea B&B

Property: Sounds of the Sea B&B
Address: 37 Pitcher St, Port Campbell, Victoria 3269, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Campbell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Port Campbell
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Sounds Of The Sea Bed And Breakfast
Sounds Of The Sea Hotel Port Campbell
Sounds Of The Sea B&B Port Campbell/Great Ocean Road, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing