We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good enough to return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Ocean Motor Inn
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We arrived in the evening without reservations. When asking common questions about rates and breakfast I got a pretty annoying reaction like "Why asking so many questions...just take it or leave again" and "Breakfast? This is a motel, what do you expect....tomorrow morning the shops are open again, get your own breakfast". Not the attitude we are used to in Australia.

The room was old, dark and smelly.....not a good experience and for sure not what to expect for 115 AUSD in off season (June 2012).
When driving through Port Campbell the next day we saw numerous alternatives....if you plan to stay in PC...pick one of those.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Da_BenDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Manager at Southern Ocean Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

I was very very disappointed to read this review. I take great pride in greeting all of my guests in a friendly and helpful manner. My staff and I make a genuine attempt to make our guests welcome and provide them with all the local information they may be seeking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Southern Ocean Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 106 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

We ordered a family room for 5 people, the room utility is better than our expectation, the air conditioner is good but the toilet had some problems.
The front desk is opened before 8:00 pm which is really nice because we spend too much time on the Ocean way.
The town is a small and quiet, and very close to the 12 Apostles. (10 min driving, it's possible to watch both sunset and sunrise)

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank BlackKnight97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The location of this motel is excellent, across the road from the bay, within walking distance to restaurants and cafes. The staff/manager is friendly and helpful .The rooms themselves are older and looking a little tired, but for a one night stay after a long drive they are clean and comfortable and we would stay again.

Room Tip: Excellent Italian restaurant nearby!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

If you are travelling on the Great Ocean Road there is so much to see and do, and spending all of your time in a hotel room is not high on the priority list.
If you are after a clean room, sets within minutes of walking to not only the many cafes and restaurants, but also across the road from the stunning Port Campbell bay, then this place is exactly what you are looking for.
My fiancé and I stayed here on Early Jan 2012 - peak tourist season! We were so happy to find a hotel at reasonable price in such a perfect location!
We could just walk across the road to swim in the bay, and with the sun not setting until close to 9pm at night it was just beautiful to swim right before dinner.
This hotel was clean and and the staff were friendly. We were given helpful lists of all the local attractions (mainly the 12 apostles) and some other fabulous lookout that the locals could tell us about. Everything was so close by! We were only at the hotel to sleep and eat, and I would recommend this as the perfect stop over on your Great Ocean Road drive!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natty87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Southern Ocean Motor Inn recently, it was a 35 degree day and to our horror, the motel does not have an air conditioner! The room was like an oven. Nothing was plugged in, i.e. the bedside lamps, minibar etc. The bed cover was old and dirty, we even found plastic wrappers on the floor. We noticed lots of backpackers in and around the motel, this place is being run like a backpackers not a 3-star motel.
On a positive note, the motor inn is directly opposite the Port Campbell jetty and the beach. Perfect location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Manager at Southern Ocean Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

We have only recently become aware of your review and would like to respond. We are certainly sorry that you were not happy with your stay with us.

We note your comments about the 35 degree heat at the time of your stay. In fact, at that time we had a run of 4 or 5 days where the temperature was above 35 degrees and all rooms had become quite hot. We apologise for not having air conditioning but we do have fans in all bedrooms and during that period we tried to warn our guests of the situation, and recommend they open the windows to maximize cross ventilation. Most guests were satisfied with this, but obviously it was a problem for us. You did not mention the fan in the room, and we trust this was helpful for you.

We cannot explain why you found the bedside lamps not plugged in, and we do not have minibars in our rooms. We do have small fridges but these are never switched off. We apologise for wrappers left on the floor, which must have been missed by our housekeepers. We will try harder.

Your comments about lots of backpackers in and around the Motor Inn are a bit of a mystery to us. We do not cater for backpackers; there are 3 backpacker properties in Port Campbell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Rooms were clean but the rooms are tired, double bed two singles

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Friendly service, great location with beautiful ocean view, convenient car parking and clean linens made our ( my husband and I) accommodation enjoyable yet it was a very busy weekend so other guests were noisy around our room. It's not a luxury room but it is clean enough to feel comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieH12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Campbell hotels
0.5 mi away
Port Campbell Motor Inn
Port Campbell Motor Inn
#4 of 11 in Port Campbell
221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Great Ocean Road Inn
0.4 mi away
Portside Motel
Portside Motel
#1 of 11 in Port Campbell
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Loch Ard Motor Inn
Loch Ard Motor Inn
#2 of 11 in Port Campbell
261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Port Campbell Parkview Apartments
0.1 mi away
Sea Foam Villas
Sea Foam Villas
#8 of 11 in Port Campbell
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Ocean Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Ocean Motor Inn

Address: 2 Lord St, Port Campbell, Victoria 3269, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Campbell
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Port Campbell
Price Range: $83 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Ocean Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located directly opposite the picturesque Port Campbell bay with its beautiful beach and jetty. Shops and restaurants are only a short walk away.Port Campbell is ideally located on the spectacular Great Ocean Road and Shipwreck Coast, only 10 minutes easy drive to the 12 Apostles, Loch Arch Gorge, London Bridge, the Bay of Martyrs and the Bay of Islands.Southern Ocean Motor Inn consists of 26 rooms, including two-bedroom family suites and spa rooms, with complimentary wi-fi, tea and coffee making facilities, toaster, refrigerator, remote control TV’s and hair dryers. Ample car parking is available on site. If you are expecting to arrive after 8 pm we request that you let us know so that we can make arrangements for your late arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Ocean Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Ocean Motor Inn Port Campbell/Great Ocean Road, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing