We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best accomodation in Port Campbell, excellent value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Campbell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Port Campbell Guest House
Reviewed February 15, 2010

We set out on our tour of the Great Ocean road with 5 days to get from Melbourne to Adelaide. We hired a car and did not really know where we would stop. We picked up lots of pamphlets from the tourist information. Friends had told us the main places to stop on the way – Torquay, Lorne, Apollo Bay, Port Campbell, Port Fairy.

We travelled from Melbourne Airport to Torquay and were surprised at how little accommodation was available. There was one backpackers a couple of motels and the Torquay Hotel. As we passed through the other towns they were all quite small. Lorne had more accommodation.

We stopped in Port Campbell as we wanted to see the 12 Apostles at sunset and sunrise. The pamphlets only showed a few places to stay. We were really pleased to stumble across Flashpackers in Port Campbell. It’s attached to the Port Campbell Guesthouse. We paid $80 for a double room.

The building itself is an old fishing hut converted but has been converted into a really homely guesthouse. In the main house there are four rooms, some doubles some bunk beds. The rooms are decorated in a simple nautical theme and are all spotless. Our room had a view over the patio and had air-conditioning. There was a nice communal kitchen, dining room and lounge with good bathrooms. There’s also a TV and DVD player in the lounge. One of the double bedrooms was a good sized en-suite. There are also some bedrooms in other outbuildings too.

It’s literally a 3 minute walk into the (small) centre of Port Campbell. Breakfast is provided (toast, cereal and fruit). It’s all quite informal with the fridge stocked and guests helping themselves at breakfast. Mark the owner is really helpful and is around if you need anything.

I would definitely recommend this for backpackers and couples, a really good base either for one night if you’re moving on the Great Ocean Road or for a few nights if you’re using Port Campbell as a base for exploring.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamAndCrakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 29 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2009

We stayed here for 5 days in november, 2009 and booked 2 rooms as there were three of us. We found the host to be very hospitable and friendly, the rooms clean and comfortable and good value for money. The location was excellent and the town is a great place to stay. We would stay there again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geebs_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Had a very nice large double-bed room with en suite for $70 per night & included breakfast. Very clean and homey atmosphere! Mark, the owner, was very friendly & even shared his beer as we visited out on the porch that night! He was working on 3 new units at the front of the property that should be open shortly. Really a great place to stay while touring the Great Ocean Road! Thanks Mark!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williampisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

I booked and paid a deposit for an ensuite room at this guest house 2 weeks in advance of my stay. I turned up at 8pm, noone was attending to the house and the owner was 1.5 hours away Apollo Bay. He got a friend to open up the house, he could not find the key to our room (which was not ensuite unlike our booking), although the room was unoccupied and opened. After dinner, we arrived back at the house to find 4 other occupants, and another guest who had also paid for the same room. The owner had double booked the room, and after 5 unanswered phone calls, I called his friend, who was so unfortunate to be caught in the situation. He was lovely and found us a room in another motel, although he did not have to. We were told that we were extremely lucky to find another room so late on a Saturday night. I was appalled at how irresponsible the owner was, he did not even bother to ring me the next day to apologise for the incident. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone for all the potential stress he could cause for his guests.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misheru99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2009

Mark's a freindly local who runs the Port Campbell Guest House. A great location, it's nice and quiet yet very close to the beach and shops.

It's a renovated original cottage with a nice rustic charm. It has one double room with its own private ensuite and 2 other rooms that have a shared bathroom. All up it easily caters for about 8 people depending on arrangments.

The kitchen and lounge are shared by all and it's so much better than that typical sterile motel environment. You'll meet fellow travellers and when we were there for 3 days we had a ball.

Relaxing on the front deck with a cold beer in hand swapping stories with the fellow travellers was a highlight of our trip.

Highly recommended for those not wanting to stay in motel type accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Middo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

This guesthouse was a gem of a find in Port Campbell. Warm, cozy and clean with a woodfire stove, comfortable communal area, tastefully decorated rooms and free breakfast (toast, cereal, juice, eggs, coffee, tea, etc.). All this for an excellent price -practically backpacker rates. The cottage has been recently renovated (by the owner) with plans to expand the premises. Yes, it is a guesthouse, so not the degree of privacy you would get at a hotel, but the owner Mark and his son Darcy are relaxed, friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. Would highly recommend for all tourists, families and backpackers.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank deevee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2008

Room:
Double room with en suite, $88 per night

Positive features:
Newly and completely refurbished, spotlessly clean, homely atmosphere (very generous and hospitable host lives with his son in the cottage), effective heating both in bed and living room (log fire), co-use of TV with Austar, breakfast included, small kitchen and BBQ facilities may be used

Negative features:
Little privacy, cute but somewhat smelly dog

Conclusion:
Worth every penny

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank youngswisscouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Campbell hotels
0.2 mi away
Port Campbell Parkview Apartments
0.1 mi away
Portside Motel
Portside Motel
#1 of 11 in Port Campbell
641 reviews
6.1 mi away
Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Loch Ard Motor Inn
Loch Ard Motor Inn
#2 of 11 in Port Campbell
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Foam Villas
Sea Foam Villas
#8 of 11 in Port Campbell
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Port Campbell Motor Inn
Port Campbell Motor Inn
#3 of 11 in Port Campbell
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Campbell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Campbell Guest House

Address: Lord Street, Port Campbell, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Campbell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Port Campbell
Price Range: $53 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Port Campbell Guest House Great Ocean Road, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing