We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveler rating
202
85
23
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
85
23
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormthe kitchencommon areasone nightthe great ocean roadfree wifishared bathroom facilitiesboard gamesclean placethe ground floorhot waterlounge arearooms are cleanother gueststwelve apostlesexcellent staya great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
258 - 263 of 317 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Port Campbell Hostel. The facilities are all brand new, the hostel manager said it was only finished in October 2009. The great thing about the hostel is the location, 10 mins from the 12 Apostles. From the hostel we were able to see both the sunset and sunrise the next day at the Apostles (just 10 mins drive away). We really enjoyed the double room that we had (nice comfy king bed and good heating). The only negative point I have is the showers & toilets. These are not in separate bathrooms but just in cubicles off the main hallway. So unless you want to hear everyone do their business I suggest you might want to consider taking earplugs. All in all, a very clean, well run place with very friendly managers. We ended up staying 2 nights. There might be a tour group or two there when you stay, but we didn't find this a problem as there was enough space in the communal areas and bathrooms. Would love to stay again :)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelB_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0459-HOSTEL, Manager at Port Campbell Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2010

Thanks for posting your comments! You've highlighted some of the very positive aspects of the Hostel, and its location.

You're on the money about the unique (and, quirky) nature of our upstairs showers and bathrooms... We're currently sifting through the practicable alternatives to help with the (um... how do I say this politely?) 'noice' issues we tend to associate with people tending to their daily business (so to speak).

Finally, we're regularly visited by a couple of touring companies who stay overnight before pushing off along the Great Ocean Road. (In fact, the Hostel's almost become a second home to many of their Guides!). We maintain excellent relationships with them, and find their Guides are always willing to do whatever they can to help all other Hostel guests feel as welcome as possible.

Again, thanks for your comments and, if you're heading back this way, we'd love to host you again!

Tony and Bec

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

I booked this hostel because it looked like good value. Then I read one of the reviews and was worried. On arrival I was very surprised. The place is brand new and in a brilliant location. I will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0459-HOSTEL, Manager at Port Campbell Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2010

Thanks for your comments. We're very happy the (new) Hostel took you by surprise when you visited! (And if the review you talked about that left you feeling worried was written before mid-October 2009, it will be talking about a facility that (literally) no longer exists! The old Hostel was demolished then completely rebuilt in 2009. As you found out, we're brand new)

Cheers

Tony and Bec at the Port Campbell Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2009

It was a nice place to stay, had a lot of fun with guests and staff. For christmas eve we had a celebration and BBQ with staff and guests.
Location is OK, although no bottle shop in town. Don't buy take away beers in the pubs, it will cost you a lot of money. The best is to go to the next town, but you'll need a car. Otherwise it's to hard to get there.
Doms, kitchen and living room are very clean. Staff at the reception was very friendly.
It's right next to the beach, and 2 minutes away from the great ocean road.
Showers and toilets are very clean, although there are no lavatories. These are build in into the toilets.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdsmaele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0459-HOSTEL, Manager at Port Campbell Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2010

G'day kdsmaele! And thanks for taking the time to post a comment.

Depending on what it is you want to purchase, some items can appear a little expensive to buy. Port Campbell's a very small village (around 350 people), so none of the major food stores (e.g. Woolworths, Coles etc) are represented.

There are two places you can buy take-away beer in the village. Firstly, try the Port Campbell Hotel (it's got a small side-entrance take-away bottle store. If that's not open, just ask Thomo or any one of his bar-staff and they'll happily serve you take-away beer - until 11.00pm). Or, try the general store - it has a very well stocked bottle-shop (though while they stock a larger range of product than the Hotel, their operating hours are a little more limited).

I think your comment about the lack of lavatories meant there are no hand-basins??? (They're located at the end of the upstairs hallway, in 'The Powder Room').

Finally, it seems everybody makes a comment about our eco-friendly toilets... with built-in hand-basins!

Cheers


Tony and Bec, Port Campbell Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

I stayed here a few weeks ago while traveling on the Great Ocean Road, and was not at all impressed. The entire place has the feeling of a 1970's gym locker - lots of concrete block and fluorescent lighting. No atmosphere at all.

The dorm room I stayed in was clean enough, but the beds were of the old, metal, hideously creaky kind that will keep both you and your bunkmates awake all night.

There is a 'lounge' of sorts, with a tiny old TV tucked onto a shelf, and an overpriced internet terminal. There is a notice asking guests not to watch TV past 11pm, but the hostel staff was unconcerned when a large group of drunk backpackers stayed up half the night in the kitchen being generally loud and inconsiderate. The rooms are situated adjacent to the lounge and kitchen, so there is no respite from noise coming from those rooms.

Showers were missing door handles, cold water taps, etc. It seems like they are just letting the place fall apart without any effort to keep the place in good shape.

I would not have minded staying here so much, if I didn't feel as if I was being overcharged for what was basically an ancient mattress and a shower.

The only other hostel in town was closed for the season, so there is little choice but to pay the inflated fees for Port Campbell Hostel at the moment.

Next time I would stay in the little town of Princetown (just east of the 12 Apostles on the Great Ocean Road), and try the 13th Apostle Hostel, which I read was nice and new. Otherwise, if you are not dead set on seeing the 12 Apostles at sunset, I might press on to Warnambool, which is about another hour heading west past Port Campbell.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crickett28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0459-HOSTEL, Manager at Port Campbell Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2010

Hi! I'm Tony who, along with my wife Bec, manages the Port Campbell Hostel.

Firstly, I thank everybody who's posted a comment about the Hostel. Gaining (free!) feedback from our guests is very, very valuable to, and valued by, us. So, thanks.

But you're probably wondering why I'm taking the time now (over 12 months after you posted your comment) to respond. Simple answer is that the Hostel facility you refered to no longer exists! The Hostel's buildings were demolished during 2009, then completely rebuilt for a re-opening in October 2009. So, we're brand new... more beds, more space, more of everything we feel matches the needs of the budget conscious backpacker.

In accordance with TripAdvisor's requirements, I'm not going to use this response to advertise the Hostel, but feel that it's fair that those within the TripAdvisor community know that any comment (posted on any forum... not just TripAdvisor) about the Port Campbell Hostel POSTED PRIOR TO OCT 2009 will be refering to a facility that is literally no longer standing. (And, of course, any comment posted about the Port Campbell Hostel lodged from October 12th 2009 onwards will be a comment relating to the new Port Campbell Hostel facility).

Cheers

Tony and Bec

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews