We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Port Campbell Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The best and cleanest hostel I've ever been in my life! Everything is brand new, nice common area full of sofas and books, equipped kitchen, friendly owners, great location and a great price! You won't be disappointed

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motty90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Port Campbell Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Hi Motty90... your review is the kind that accommodators (in particular those - like us - who offer budget accommodation) dream about getting on TripAdvisor! (And I know, I know... that sounds a little soppy and gushy.)

Cheers for your sentiments!

Tony, Bec and the crew
Port Campbell Hostel
12km from the 12 Apostles, on the Great Ocean Road
Victoria - 3269
AUSTRALIA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 293 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

Port Campbell is a lovely small town
And this hostel is way better than what I'd thought. Clean and tidy, good service, and friendly. Good memory and my final stop during my Christmas vacation, perfect ending.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank su6431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Port Campbell Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

G'day SU6431! We're real happy you enjoyed your stay in our humble establishment (and, on behalf of our townsfolk, thank you for the great comments about our small town!) Glad that we could leave this sort of positive impression!

Regards
Tony, Bec and the crew from the Port Campbell Hostel
12km from the 12 Apostles
Great Ocean Road
Victoria - Australia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Tony welcomed us very well on the first day and made us feel at home. Facilities are clean, new and very efficient. We even forgot a small package that Tony mailed to us at our next hostel. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cd13jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Port Campbell Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Hi cd13jones!

Happy to see, through your comments, that you liked your stay in our hostel. (Also, it was no drama at all getting the package posted off to you. You were certainly not the first who’s left something behind!)
Cheers

Tony, Bec and the rest of the crew... from the Port Campbell Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Absolutely loved our stay in Port Campbell. Tony the hostel manager was really lovely and helpful and always took the time to chat to you. I felt as though a lot of thought and care has gone into the hostel, which shows. It's clean, friendly, big and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Port Campbell Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Cheers for the review, B24. (BTW, I've no idea who "B24" is behind the online identity, in case readers are wondering.) Real glad to have made this sort of impact!

Cheers again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Port Campbell is a very small town (400 habitants) they live from tourism, therefore there is a lot of hostels around, when me and my friends where looking for a place to stay we picked this place randomly. Turned out to be way better than what I was expecting, we had a hard day hiking and driving in the great ocean road, and it was very nice to arrive to clean place with nice showers and hot water. Nice staff and a lot of other backpacker to meet. I Totally recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Port Campbell Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Hi Paolo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about the hostel... in particular that we were way better than what you were expecting! (And, it’s really, really pleasing any time I get to read that our guests are happy to recommend our hostel to other potential guests!)
Cheers

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed here one night but very clean place with great facilities & friendly staff. The bathrooms are in an interesting place & had a lot of fun with those toilets ! But a great vibe with a really good location. You can walk to the beach & to the pub- perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Port Campbell Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Hi Erin20,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the vibe of the place...even though it is only 3 years old, it is starting to gain some character, especially in the common areas on the ground floor...

We get lots of comments in regards to the showers and toilets on our first floor. They can be a little confusing, with people panicking about the eco-toilets not turning off (it does take a long time to refill a cistern – a gentle reminder of our water use). We are hoping in the future to install privacy walls along the corridor to offer more sound proofing and privacy to the toilets and showers...however, in the mean time we do suggest to our guests that the toilets on the ground floor offer more privacy.

Cheers,
Rebecca (responding on behalf of Tony.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A excellent place to stay if you're doing the great ocean road. Large kitchen with several sinks and cooking plates, comfortable living room with coaches and a TV.

There are quite a few restrictions regarding alcohol consumption on the premises and showering between certain times and cooking food at set times of the day but that didn't bother me much, but some might be a bit annoyed with that I guess. It was nice not having to cope with drunk backpackers in the halls at night though... or people partying all night long in the room next door (alcohol not permitted in the rooms, but OK in the common area until 11pm).

The hostel is close to everything, there's a shop, a beach, a pub and restaurants just 2 minutes walk away. Oh and you get 2 hours of complimentary WiFi-access which is very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spinloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Port Campbell Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Hi Spinloop,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We feel that we have a great facility here which as you mentioned does have a large fully equipped kitchen with plenty of space to whip a storm. We get plenty of positive comments regarding the large warehouse style dining and lounge area as well! With regards to the restrictions that we have in place, we feel that after operating here for almost 3 years we feel we have a pretty good idea of what the majority of people want for a majority of the time...so it is with people’s comfort and safety in mind that we established the restrictions in place. The positive side is as you mention, we don’t have as many drunken guests making excessive noise in what is an acoustically challenged environment...and yes since prohibiting alcohol consumption in rooms have found we don’t have the all night dorm parties to contend with or the corresponding spills on floors or vomit in toilets and bunks the following morning.

We respectfully ask guests not to shower between the hours of 11pm and 5am as the showers are so close to the dorms and private rooms that they used to disturb those people trying to sleep. People would take showers at 2 or 3am in the morning and yell up and down the corridor to each other...not much fun for those trying to sleep.

We are located in a great spot – really central and only a short walk to the mighty Southern Ocean, great for freshening up after a long drive!

Cheers,
Rebecca (responding on behalf of Tony.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Campbell hotels
0.3 mi away
Port Campbell Motor Inn
Port Campbell Motor Inn
#3 of 11 in Port Campbell
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Port Campbell Parkview Apartments
0.1 mi away
Loch Ard Motor Inn
Loch Ard Motor Inn
#2 of 11 in Port Campbell
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Port Campbell Flash Packers and Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Southern Ocean Motor Inn
Southern Ocean Motor Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Campbell
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portside Motel
Portside Motel
#1 of 11 in Port Campbell
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Campbell Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Campbell Hostel

Address: 18 Tregea St, Port Campbell, Victoria 3269, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Campbell
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Port Campbell
Price Range: $54 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Port Campbell Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is located at the heart of the idyllic coastal village of Port Campbell, on Victoria’s famous Great Ocean Road. Set in a picturesque horseshoe shaped bay in the pristine Port Campbell National Park on the aptly named Shipwreck Coast, some of Australia’s most iconic tourist attractions are less than 10 minutes away; including the world renowned 12 Apostles, Loch Ard Gorge, London Bridge and the stunning Bay of Islands. Our hostel enjoys superior ratings and reviews on key backpacker booking sites, has sustained an excellent rating on TripAdvisor and enjoys ratings that place us among the top Victorian hostels. Plus, we are regularly ranked as one of the cleanest facilities in Australia. Our hostel is a modern, custom designed facility that provides travellers with all the mod-cons to provide the very best budget accommodation for people seeking an affordable Great Ocean Road experience. It was meticulously designed and purpose built to cater to the needs of backpacker guests on over-night or short-stay visits. Its design provides a contemporary and vibrant accommodation experience, with 15 rooms offering a range of bedding types. While we are located close the heart of Port Campbell (with all the conveniences a traveller needs, along with a great range of shopping and dining venues) the hostel feels wonderfully remote. With breathtaking views across the Port Campbell National Park and northwards, up the Newfield Valley, natural light fills the hostel and provides both a unique and welcoming atmosphere. Being located less than a two minute stroll to the pristine Port Campbell beach, many guests can enjoy slipping off to sleep to the dull roar of the mighty Southern Ocean, pounding the cliffs of Port Campbell Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA and HostelWorld so you can book your Port Campbell Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Campbell Hostel Great Ocean Road, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing