We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveler rating
202
85
23
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
85
23
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormthe kitchencommon areasone nightthe great ocean roadfree wifishared bathroom facilitiesboard gamesclean placerecommend staying herethe ground floorhot waterlounge arearooms are cleanother gueststwelve apostlesexcellent stay
Filter
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 317 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed here one night but very clean place with great facilities & friendly staff. The bathrooms are in an interesting place & had a lot of fun with those toilets ! But a great vibe with a really good location. You can walk to the beach & to the pub- perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Port Campbell Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Hi Erin20,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the vibe of the place...even though it is only 3 years old, it is starting to gain some character, especially in the common areas on the ground floor...

We get lots of comments in regards to the showers and toilets on our first floor. They can be a little confusing, with people panicking about the eco-toilets not turning off (it does take a long time to refill a cistern – a gentle reminder of our water use). We are hoping in the future to install privacy walls along the corridor to offer more sound proofing and privacy to the toilets and showers...however, in the mean time we do suggest to our guests that the toilets on the ground floor offer more privacy.

Cheers,
Rebecca (responding on behalf of Tony.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A excellent place to stay if you're doing the great ocean road. Large kitchen with several sinks and cooking plates, comfortable living room with coaches and a TV.

There are quite a few restrictions regarding alcohol consumption on the premises and showering between certain times and cooking food at set times of the day but that didn't bother me much, but some might be a bit annoyed with that I guess. It was nice not having to cope with drunk backpackers in the halls at night though... or people partying all night long in the room next door (alcohol not permitted in the rooms, but OK in the common area until 11pm).

The hostel is close to everything, there's a shop, a beach, a pub and restaurants just 2 minutes walk away. Oh and you get 2 hours of complimentary WiFi-access which is very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spinloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Port Campbell Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Hi Spinloop,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We feel that we have a great facility here which as you mentioned does have a large fully equipped kitchen with plenty of space to whip a storm. We get plenty of positive comments regarding the large warehouse style dining and lounge area as well! With regards to the restrictions that we have in place, we feel that after operating here for almost 3 years we feel we have a pretty good idea of what the majority of people want for a majority of the time...so it is with people’s comfort and safety in mind that we established the restrictions in place. The positive side is as you mention, we don’t have as many drunken guests making excessive noise in what is an acoustically challenged environment...and yes since prohibiting alcohol consumption in rooms have found we don’t have the all night dorm parties to contend with or the corresponding spills on floors or vomit in toilets and bunks the following morning.

We respectfully ask guests not to shower between the hours of 11pm and 5am as the showers are so close to the dorms and private rooms that they used to disturb those people trying to sleep. People would take showers at 2 or 3am in the morning and yell up and down the corridor to each other...not much fun for those trying to sleep.

We are located in a great spot – really central and only a short walk to the mighty Southern Ocean, great for freshening up after a long drive!

Cheers,
Rebecca (responding on behalf of Tony.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Great facilities, sleeping, bathroom and kitchen, clean, great open space for eating and just relaxing. Short walk to all the town has to offer, shops, restaurants, local hotel, beach. We had two nights there and were very happy with the friendly helpful staff. We were a large group and no-one had any complaints.

Room Tip: All rooms were great. 6 bed room with own toilet shower was great for our group. Others in our group that had room upstairs with shared shower/toilet facilities said were great as well.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Port Campbell Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Hi Karen S,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We were thoroughly entertained by your group of Netball ladies – who really made the most of the Hostel’s facilities and “got” the way things worked...You were all very well behaved, even when the group of aesthetically pleasing surfers arrived!!

We are very happy to welcome you back anytime ladies – keep an eye out on the facebook page for the next Port Campbell Hotel Karaoke night...the locals need some competition!

Cheers,
Rebecca (responding on behalf of Tony.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I came into town late afternoon and was directed to this hostel by one of its competitors. I was given a single private room. Crisp white linen is included and there is a warm comforter on the bed. The room consisted of a bed, a small table with reading light, bin, heater, and window. It was nice to have my own space. The walls seemed to be quite thin as I could hear everything, surprisingly I didn't hear anything at night and slept very soundly.
Yes, the bathrooms are odd how they are slightly out in the open, but there are more private bathrooms off the common area. It would be nice to have some soap in with the eco toilets so one could properly wash their hands. I didn't have to wait for a shower in the morning and the water was hot and had good pressure. Everything was very very clean.
Upon check in I was given a code for 2 hours free wifi which was nice to be able to get on Skype and call home.
I didn't get to meet Rebecca, but I chatted with Tony in length and their adorable daughter kept giving me cute little smiles and waves. A very lovely family!
I would recommend this hostel to anyone stopping in Port Campbell for the night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenbeanjean26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Port Campbell Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Hi GreenBeanJean26 – thanks for taking the time to leave a great review.

Your words reflect well on what can happen when the experience of the guest equals or exceeds their original expectations. Too often we see people who perhaps would be better suited to Motel or Hotel accommodation but wish to travel on a shoestring budget, hence seek us out only to leave bad reviews and complain. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and yes our cleaner has legendary status in our eyes!

With respect to the toilets upstairs – we are hoping in the future to install privacy walls along the corridor to offer more sound proofing and privacy...however, in the mean time we do suggest to our guests as you mention, that the toilets on the ground floor offer more privacy. We have also had quite a few people suggest soap for the eco toilets – however we find that the soap can clog the cistern inlets. In the future we may look to placing sanitizing gel in the cubicles. Hopefully you discovered the wash room with the 5 basins and hand soap provided in there.

Great to hear that you found the free wi-fi nice – as again, many of our guests expect so much more!

Cheers,
Rebecca (responding on behalf of Tony.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had not made any reservations for our Great Ocean Road trip not knowing where we'd end up on our first day. This hostel was recommended in the Lonely Planet so we gave it a go. We showed up somewhat late (at least for hostel check in standards) and were greated by friendly staff. We got a double room with shared bathroom at a more than reasonable rate. The place is brand new, spotless clean (cleanest bathroom facilities ever) and very well run. They also offered towels for a very small fee.
I absolutely recommend staying there on your Great Ocean Road trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Port Campbell Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Hi Marion V – thanks for taking the time to leave a great review.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for recommending us to other travellers. We are thrilled to again be listed in the Lonely Planet and work hard on maintaining the reputation of being one of the cleanest hostel’s in Victoria. We hold our cleaners in very high regard as they do a fantastic job! Having travelled the world ourselves, we understand and appreciate how important clean facilities (especially bathing facilities) are to people. We hope that you are continuing to enjoy your travels and if you are ever back in Port Campbell that you might visit us again.

Cheers,
Rebecca (responding on behalf of Tony)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews