We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveler rating
202
85
23
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
85
23
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormthe kitchencommon areasone nightthe great ocean roadfree wifishared bathroom facilitiesboard gamesclean placethe ground floorhot waterlounge arearooms are cleanother gueststwelve apostlesexcellent staya great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 317 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had not made any reservations for our Great Ocean Road trip not knowing where we'd end up on our first day. This hostel was recommended in the Lonely Planet so we gave it a go. We showed up somewhat late (at least for hostel check in standards) and were greated by friendly staff. We got a double room with shared bathroom at a more than reasonable rate. The place is brand new, spotless clean (cleanest bathroom facilities ever) and very well run. They also offered towels for a very small fee.
I absolutely recommend staying there on your Great Ocean Road trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Port Campbell Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Hi Marion V – thanks for taking the time to leave a great review.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for recommending us to other travellers. We are thrilled to again be listed in the Lonely Planet and work hard on maintaining the reputation of being one of the cleanest hostel’s in Victoria. We hold our cleaners in very high regard as they do a fantastic job! Having travelled the world ourselves, we understand and appreciate how important clean facilities (especially bathing facilities) are to people. We hope that you are continuing to enjoy your travels and if you are ever back in Port Campbell that you might visit us again.

Cheers,
Rebecca (responding on behalf of Tony)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

It's nice to be greeted by friendly staff that are happy you are there. The place is remarkablely clean and the sheets and pillows are actually clean and well taken care of. The toilets and showers are clean. The best thing of all it's not a loud noisy hostel full of rowdy drunken backpackers! I am a backpacker, but prefer to be loud and rowdy at the pub which is a few hundred meters away and then come back to a nice clean bed afterwards. It also seems to be family oriented as well which is good for families. This by far is one of the best hostels in Australia if not in the world!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kherrin1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Port Campbell Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Hi Kherrin1981 - and thank you for an absolutely cracking review!

From what you wrote, it looks like the things we’ve quietly been working on, behind the scenes, are helping to make sure the vast bulk of our guests get to enjoy their stay without it being wrecked by a small proportion of guests who seem hell bent on... getting wrecked. (I reckon you’ll understand what I mean).

My facility can sleep almost 90 backpackers under its roof when we're full to the brim and, admittedly, sometimes things got a “little” rowdy on more than a few nights back when my wife and I started the business a few years ago. In fact, some of our very early reviews mention that. Fair to say that some wild times were experienced (indeed - some nights there were some very, VERY wild times!). However, we quickly learnt that the rowdy, unruly, drunken (but ‘fun’) antics of what was always a very small minority of guests was, patently and very, very clearly, NOT considered fun by the vast bulk of people trying to grab some shut-eye. (And copping some serious flack from sleep-deprived guests as they checked out? That grew old really, really quickly!)

So, you soak up what you can from life’s lessons, and Bec and I reckon we’ve now got things pretty well sorted out, as it seems you discovered.

Thanks again for what you’ve had to say, and we hope you had a great tour of what some locals refer to as the Wild Side of the Great Ocean Road!

Cheers, Tony and Bec

(PS: You make a great point about getting loud and rowdy. For those who wanna’ do that, our villages only Pub is only half a block walk (literally about 2 minutes) from my hostel. So, get up there and blow the froth off one, or two coldies!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Have stayed in many hostel's throughout New Zealand and Australia. Very modern and purpose built hostel. Large double bedroom, shared facilities were extremely clean. 30mins free Internet per person. Very spacious.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloke_from_Broad_Bay, General Manager at Port Campbell Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Hi Ben B, and thanks for your words! Only thing I'll add is this: we've bumped up the amount of free WiFi we offer guests, from 30 minutes to 2 hours, for in-house guests. Simply ask at the counter for the passwords and codes (for security reasons we offer unique codes for every guest.)

Cheers

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed for three nights in a private room, decent king bed, very clean throughout and designed well. Bonus was the great hot water and good area to sit downstairs with plenty of channels on the TV. Hallway lined with showers and toilets was different but works fine and is very clean. Priced fair, staff were very helpful and friendly and gave good advice, also had a really good quality fully equipped clean kitchen area. Stonesthrow from shops and a great piece of beach and only a short drive to Apostles. Pencil this one in for the hotwater alone and use the kitchen to save money for activities.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloke_from_Broad_Bay, General Manager at Port Campbell Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

G’day Ted J; cheers for your review. Balanced, and well worded. You’ve hit on plenty of the highlights of our hostel, and offered up a simple travellers tip to help folks save loot... bring your own food, and unleash your Master Chef skills in the hostel’s kitchen. (We’ve also got a couple of huge outdoor BBQs if anyone wants to sizzle a steak, al fresco style).

Thanks again for your comments, and we hope you enjoyed your time down our way, at the western end of the Great Ocean Road.

Bec and Tone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here even if it was for only one night. The whole place was very clean and modern and the staff were very friendly. It does have a slight prison feel with the open bathrooms but the rooms and downstairs is very comfortable and the kitchen area was very well equipped, probably the best we had seen. Wish we could of had a couple of more nights here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregmorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Port Campbell Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

G'day Greg... here's 'Cheers' for your review. (And my response is loooonnnnngggg overdue - apologies for that!). Like many folks on this site - with a couple of notable exceptions {'specially this year ;-) } - you've hit on some of the highlights of our business: we are clean; we are friendly (and there are (literally) only three of us here, so we pretty much know who's who in the zoo and what's going on, and normally get the chance to at least say 'g'day to our guests, and we have some pretty good amenities. (For instance, heaps of people LOVE our kitchen.)

We hope you enjoyed a great trip down the Great Ocean Road, and had a safe and happy journey around the rest of this wide and far flung land!

Cheers, Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews